George&Bert
Member Since 2009
Hi everyone, I clearly don't belong with the TR group as testing for me and my guy is going to be hit or miss and off and on. I don't wnat it that way, but it is the way it is. He is a good boy, but hates that ear thing.
I'll have to rewrite some stuff so you can see where I am.
Andre, a five year old former feral who I have had now for two years took ill at the end of December with a sever URI. He was totally congested with green coming from his nose and chest. He could not breath so he was not eating or drinking. ( there is a long story in here which I will avoid to keep it short )
Doc (vet 1) checking him said BG 360...may have DM then his partner(vet 2) a week later after a urine test for sugar said..no sugar and absolutely no DM
Still very ill sees other Doc (vet 3 ) who says...BG 375..he has DM... give Lantus...I started it
Two days later his partner ( vet 4 ) did a urine test and said..no sugar BG 149..not DM stop lantus
Two days later ( vet 4 ) called and said Fructosamine came in very hi..put him back on Lantus... I was reluctant and waited two days for test strips to come.
This past Wednesday got strips did test..meter failed..crap!! went to vet ( 1 ) techs brutalize Andre's ear..I yelled stop
On the way home bought local strips..meter passed..had bad new strips. tested Andre' with much difficulty and fighting. I got blood after forth go around.
Reading of 488. I knew it was going to be high (er) because of all the stress.
See next post please.
I'll have to rewrite some stuff so you can see where I am.
Andre, a five year old former feral who I have had now for two years took ill at the end of December with a sever URI. He was totally congested with green coming from his nose and chest. He could not breath so he was not eating or drinking. ( there is a long story in here which I will avoid to keep it short )
Doc (vet 1) checking him said BG 360...may have DM then his partner(vet 2) a week later after a urine test for sugar said..no sugar and absolutely no DM
Still very ill sees other Doc (vet 3 ) who says...BG 375..he has DM... give Lantus...I started it
Two days later his partner ( vet 4 ) did a urine test and said..no sugar BG 149..not DM stop lantus
Two days later ( vet 4 ) called and said Fructosamine came in very hi..put him back on Lantus... I was reluctant and waited two days for test strips to come.
This past Wednesday got strips did test..meter failed..crap!! went to vet ( 1 ) techs brutalize Andre's ear..I yelled stop
On the way home bought local strips..meter passed..had bad new strips. tested Andre' with much difficulty and fighting. I got blood after forth go around.
Reading of 488. I knew it was going to be high (er) because of all the stress.
See next post please.