Moving from TR- Rosy PMPS437 dosage advice! please!

Status
Not open for further replies.

tortie58

Member Since 2012
Previous
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=66330

Ive moved from TR as I have 21 cats to attend at home. Having test every 2, 3 hrs is over my capacity. As much as I want to keep Rosy safe, I know I just cannot fulfill the protocal.


Background
Rosy DX in Dec 2011 bg 450
put on Lantus 1u once a day
Rosy was having free fed of dry food then plus a canned meal each day
Condition turned worse - eating nonstop & excessive drinking , peeing
raised dose to 1u twice a day, then 2u twice a day (was using Lantus pen with fixed increment at 1u)
Condition worse off when eating W/D dry; rear leg lost power
Dose increased to 3u twice a day
Feb28th, found the forum - start hometesting
switched to all all canned food ( dont know if its LC because we dont have much choice in HK) with fixed 3 meal a day plus steamed chicken for dinner and a PM+5 supper
Condition improved- drinking less
Doseage reduced gradually to current 1.25u twice a day(using a syringe to draw insulin from pen)

Today Ive luckily caught Rosy at a bg of 31 I panicked at her twitching eye & gave her a plate of gravy canned food to raise her bg. She is kinda settled for now.
Ive called my vet when Rosy was having that slight hypo & she told me to stop the Lantus for PM & tomorrow. Can somebody give me advice on that? I am at stay at home mummy for my furry babies. I believe I can monitor her the best I can.

Tks

helen
 
Re: Moving from TR- Rosy - dosage advice please!

Hi Helen!

Wanted to say welcome to you and Rosy!!!! What a great catch to get that 31 yesterday! Rosy earned a dose decrease with that one! I'm going to allow others to give the dosage advice.....personally I don't agree with no insulin for 1.5 days though.

21 kitties? That's amazing! I have one fuzzball (Kitten, Maine Coon) and a husband and I feel like I barely can juggle those lol. I would love to add to my furballs though, always grew up in a house with multiple kitties.

Hope someone will come around shortly with dosage advice :)
 
Re: Moving from TR- Rosy - dosage advice please!

LILandKIT said:
Hi Helen!

Wanted to say welcome to you and Rosy!!!! What a great catch to get that 31 yesterday! Rosy earned a dose decrease with that one! I'm going to allow others to give the dosage advice.....personally I don't agree with no insulin for 1.5 days though.

21 kitties? That's amazing! I have one fuzzball (Kitten, Maine Coon) and a husband and I feel like I barely can juggle those lol. I would love to add to my furballs though, always grew up in a house with multiple kitties.

Hope someone will come around shortly with dosage advice :)


Tks for the welcome LILandKIT! Luckily I caught Rosy at that slight hypo today. Thanks to the U-Tube video I was watching yesterday.

PMPS 437 1.25u given with steamed chicken I might need to watch her a bit after this PM shot.
 
One thing Helen did not mention in her post is that the 1.25 shot given before the 31 :shock: was a decreased dose from the previous cycle and also a missed shot the cycle before that - you can see on her ss.

Because you have just decreased I'm not sure I would decrease any further just yet. Because of the shed effect of the lantus the 31 may have been influenced by what was already there - others may have different views.

I am glad you did not miss the shot. With the PMPS of 437 it looks like Rosy is having a bounce but her bounces only seem to last one or two cycles. I would try to get a test somewhere between +4 and +6 but if you see it is still very high I wouldn't worry too much about more tests tonight, it is in the next cycle or two following that I would expect to see more action from Rosy.

If she goes very low again then I would reduce the dose to 1U
 
I took a peek at your SS and I agree with Serryn....lets see were the 1.25 takes you once its settled.
.see if we get another low number and then go from there.

Its definitely much quieter here compared to TR. But we are a lovely bunch lol :)
 
Thanks! I've gave Rosy the 1.25u
Will take more test in this cycle to see if it's a bounce from the AM cycle
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top