Mottyl's bg +7 56 - too low?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I am fairly new at this, but it is good you have the HC ready to go....

can you get like a +7.25 or +7.5 to see where she is heading? (back up or back down?)
 
56 is low, but not too low. No need to be concerned about a hypo just yet. Over 50 is safe, even those 6 points over 50 is still safe. Don't intervene with karo or honey yet - there's no need.

I would see if she dips in an hour and if she dips below 50, give her a little HC food to bring her back up over that number. And if she dips below 50, then you can discuss reducing her dose a smidge.
 
56 is in the normal range so it is no problem, but we don't like to let them go much lower. there should be no hypo symptoms in the 50s, so56 at this point of the cycle is great. You'll want to keep monitoring until numbers start to go up without food. this should be around her nadir so numbers should start coming up. For now keep testing every 30 to 60 minutes without feeding. If numbers go below 50 give just a little gravy food to boost things up or a drop of honey or syrup.

Thanks for putting the link in, but in the future just edit the subject in you first post and keep everything all together. you'll get the hang of it soon! ;-)
 
See if somebody can give you a hand with the daily posting protocol on this forum. Today is your first day, so you're doing great. But there's a lot of "insider knowledge" about how to set up your subject line, and add the readings, and change the subject line if you need help NOW or just have a question :-)

Mottyl looks like she's doing great, and don't immediately rush to honey or high carbs if she's not seriously low, because then you risk making her bounce really high. Hopefully one of the caregivers here will point you to information about what bounces are, how long they last, how not to let them worry you, and how they're "liver training school".

You know that information I sent you a couple of days ago that I gave to my petsitter, explaining low carb (LC), med carb (MC) and high carb (HC) food? Refer to that, and if you want to nudge her up, see how she responds to just plain old food, before you reach for something MC or HC. You have to see how sensitive she is to food, because maybe just regular food will push her BG a bit higher, without overdoing it. That way she can spend more time in the healing zone.

Great first day on Lantus, so well done, Mottyl!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top