Morris2

Status
Not open for further replies.
It looks like Morris can qualify for membership in our bouncy kitties club. We have a number of members. The good news is that he had a nice amps and slowly dropped. But yes, he bounced up at +8. It is also possible that the insulin is not lasting past +8, but a bounce seems more likely. The other good news is that he flattened out for the next two hours, only coming up 38 points.
 
<I think you might consider a lower dose like 3.2 on a low yellow, 3.4 on a higher yellow and the higher dose on a
pink?>

Stick with your suggestion - so 3.5u tonight?
 
1/3/16
AMPS 281 3.4u fur shot?
+6 217
PMPS 328 3.5u

1/4/16
AMPS 294 3.4u
+6.5 86 fed

IMG_1767.JPG

Pretty cool huh? :)
 
AMPS 333 3.5u
So either yesterday's PM 3.2u isn't enough or he went low in the night and bounced?
 
So I was being envious today of others' no shootable numbers.
AMPS 333 3.5u
+4.45 219
+7 154
Eats at +8 (usual)
Insisted he had to have one of the dogs' just baked eggs at +10 (not usually fed then)
PMPS 165 fed
I should have stalled I guess but he really likes to eat on time. Ok he's training us but he is really cute.
Suggestions how to proceed?
 
So I was being envious today of others' no shootable numbers.
AMPS 333 3.5u
+4.45 219
+7 154
Eats at +8 (usual)
Insisted he had to have one of the dogs' just baked eggs at +10 (not usually fed then)
PMPS 165 fed
I should have stalled I guess but he really likes to eat on time. Ok he's training us but he is really cute.
Suggestions how to proceed?
He's been fed so I think the simplest thing for you to do is call this a no shot for tonight (pretend it was a fur shot) and resume the program tomorrow. Sound like a plan?
 
Ok. Thank you Kris. So you're just kindly saying I should have the done the stall 20 min, etc guidelines. :)
 
Ok. Thank you Kris. So you're just kindly saying I should have the done the stall 20 min, etc guidelines. :)
Unless I missed seeing something, Pati, this is your first blue PS so you don't have enough data to be confident giving a dose at this number. As time goes on, you'll be able to decide more confidently how much to lower the dose for this level of PS if you don't want to stall. For now, stall and retest is the way to go. It's nice to see that blue PS for sure! :)
 
AMPS 401 gave 3.4u instead of 3.5u because 3.5u gave me a non shootable number. Although 3.4 and fat 3.4 were not getting him low enough previously. Maybe it was the magic egg (with turmeric, ginger, oregano, basil, and pepper) at +10 yesterday. :)
 
AMPS 401 gave 3.4u instead of 3.5u because 3.5u gave me a non shootable number. Although 3.4 and fat 3.4 were not getting him low enough previously. Maybe it was the magic egg (with turmeric, ginger, oregano, basil, and pepper) at +10 yesterday. :)
Welcome to the dance, Pati! :) These tense situations get easier to cope with over time and they give us good data. That magic egg sounds tasty BTW ...
 
I'm just channeling my inner Kris. Always calm and positive. You get lots of practice with Teasel.
20 dozen every other week. :)
 
AMPS 401 (no shot previous PM) gave 3.4u
+3 374
+6 259
PMPS 291 gave 3.4u

Probably could have given him 3.5u this am.
 
Just keep telling yourself that you are collecting data. He dropped over 100 points on 3.4. Let's see what it does to your 291.

Some cats do well with a sliding scale - a different dose depending on the preshot. Some do better holding a consistent dose for several cycles (unless the number is too low). More data will help you see which approach Morris prefers.
 
Yes. I am still going by what you told me. I just wasn't sure about this am after the no shot last night. I think we're making progress.

<I think you might consider a lower dose like 3.2 on a low yellow, 3.4 on a higher yellow and the higher dose on a pink?>

Thank you Sue.
 
He is really looking pretty good. Not dropping super low but staying in lower ranges and dropping some overall. A nice steady, slow approach. I think you are both doing great!
 
AMPS 379 gave 3.5u
I have a bad feeling I should be getting up in the night to check how low he is going.
 
That would give you good info. If you are a woman of a certain age, you might be up anyway? If not, you may have to set the alarm. Even one night should give you an idea.
 
He is still a little higher than he could be. The blues and yellows are nice but they could be lower. What do you think about increasing the dose on the higher pinks - maybe a fat 3.5. (To do a fat dose, pull up more than 3.5 and then let out a few drops until you are just above 3.5.). I would do it on a cycle I could monitor.
 
Ok. Would that be a 3.6 using U100 (conversion chart 9u) or less than that?
+4 193
+6 122
 
1/10 AMPS 383 gave 3.6u
+4 180
+6 88 1 spoonful 2pm food
+8 127 rest of usual 2pm food
PMPS 330 gave 3.6u
+5 290
1/11 AMPS 237 gave 3.2u
 
That was a drop! Interesting that the same dose on a similar number gave you a much higher nadir. I'd assume a bit of a bounce overnight. I like the am dose.

One thing you might consider during the day is to use food to slow that initial drop, hopefully flattening out the cycle a little. So feed maybe 2/3 or 3/4 of the food at amps and then give him the rest around +2.5/3. Might be worth a try to avoid the faster drop and then bounce.
 
Ok. Thank you. Will move to +2.5/3 in future.

+3.25 276 Fed 1/3 equivalent of AM meal
 
That'll work most effectively if he drops early. Course you don't know if he is going to until it happens. Maybe if you see a consistent pattern of an early drop?
 
AMPS 237 fed gave 3.2u
+3.25 276 fed
+5 licked mixing bowls (his regular diet)
+6 267 fed
+8 255
PMPS 357 gave 3.6u
 
Sorry, didn't get one last night.
AMPS 357 gave 3.6u
Almost at the end of the bottle. Thinking of using the bottle before this one that got accidentally shook one time. I was thinking at the time it had lost it's effectiveness because I got better numbers on the new bottle the next day. Now I wonder if that was coincidence since I get different numbers all the time now. I'm hesitant to have the sitter use the new bottle.
 
Sorry, didn't get one last night.
AMPS 357 gave 3.6u
Almost at the end of the bottle. Thinking of using the bottle before this one that got accidentally shook one time. I was thinking at the time it had lost it's effectiveness because I got better numbers on the new bottle the next day. Now I wonder if that was coincidence since I get different numbers all the time now. I'm hesitant to have the sitter use the new bottle.
I only start a new bottle when I can monitor just in case it's more potent. I'm not sure what to say about the bottle that was shaken.
 
I agree to be around the first cycle when you switch bottles. With some cats it seems to make little difference, but with others, it can mean an unexpected drop.
 
Thank you Sue.
Today is a bust BG wise I think.
AMPS 357. Gave 3.6u
+3 330 so I didn't feed him
Took him to the vet and they fed him way too many Pet Tabs. He was a very good boy. No one got bit or scratched. :) He has come such a long way in 3 months. I was so proud of him. We are going to try one more medicine to try to treat his eye. We all agree he appears to have no discomfort. New med $$$$ but still worth a try. He of course doesn't feel sorry for himself that he has very limited vision if any in that eye. (Why I need animals in my life. To remind me to not feel sorry for myself. :) His ears he thinks is allergy. Jinx for talking about food allergies to someone on FDMB. Could be something besides food of course. Going to increase Lysine to 500mg BID to see if that helps with his herpes.
 
PMPS 59 FS strip 331 AT strip gave 3.6u
That would have been some magic Pet Tabs.
 
How's the new mad for his eye? I agree that would have been some magic...good job getting that second test when you knew something was up!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top