Morlei 2/8

Status
Not open for further replies.

Becky & Morlei

Member Since 2012
Hello everyone,

Morlei's AMPS was 319...sad to see a pink but I know it was from some stress this morning, had to take the cats out of the apartment for carpet cleaning and she's not too fond of car rides. But her +2 was 248 so it looks like she settled down. I want to get a little more aggressive with my treatment of Morlei but I'm not entirely sure what I should do...let's hope that my 2nd bottle of ProZinc will last a little longer than the previous one! I'm going to hold the 0.75u until the weekend and then I'm thinking of bumping up to 1.0u. It looks like her best cycle was 1/16 with an AMPS of 261, +6 of 175, and PMPS of 212. I'd like to try and get her a little lower before we move at the end of the month...she gets stressed and scared very easily so I know her numbers will be out of whack for a week or so.
She's eating low carb sophisticat, about the same time and same amount every day.
Freeze-dried chicken for treats, is unable to get ahold of dry we give to the other cats.
Started her on 1/8 teaspoon psyllium powder per meal for loose stools Monday afternoon, didn't see anything worrysome in the litter box this morning but now I have to try and watch her to see if she is able to go and isn't constipated.
I really have no other variables I can control except for the insulin.
What does everyone think?

Becky
 
Hmmmm. I wonder if he went down low enough last night that he bounced into that pink amps this morning. He has been so steady in the yellows before today.

If there is any way to get a few nadirs at night, that would help complete the picture. The other question is whether there is any way he could sneaking any dry food? It looks like the insulin just isn't doing much, but you got a new vial, right?

I don't know anything about the sugar content of the physillium powder. You might ask on Health. I think most people here use Miralax for constipation.
 
Yep, got a new vial and started her on 0.50u like you told me to. There is no way she is sneaking the dry food, I only give a little to the other three when I'm watching them and throw out whatever they don't eat. She can't access it in the cupboard. I can try to get a few tests at night, it's just really hard to do because I'm one of those people that once I'm up, I'm not going back to bed. I can try to get a few tests in Friday night because I don't work the next day.
 
Well, as far as the nadirs are concerned, you certainly have room to raise. But you don't want preshots much under 200 or you won't be able to shoot.

Maybe you could raise .25, but I would do it when I was going to be around. I feel like we aren't seeing what is going on yet......
 
Ok, I'll get in a few tests Friday night and see what her numbers are. If they are the same as her daytime numbers I'm going to go up to 1.0u Saturday. If her numbers are weird or drop a lot lower/higher I'll try to determine the cause. Hmm...the only thing I can think of is that the only food I leave out at night is what is leftover from their nighttime snack. I tried freezing some wet food with some water and leaving it out overnight...no one touched it, not even her, and she'll eat almost anything. Guess they don't like it cold...could that somehow cause her AMPS to be higher? That's the number I'd really like to see come down at least 40 points. So maybe it's the timing of the food?
Here are the approximate times I feed her:
10 am: Meal 1 (1/2 can sophisticat)
5:30 pm: Snack 1 (1/4 can sophisticat)
10 pm: Meal 2: (1/2 can sophisticat)
2 am: Snack 2: (1/4 can sophisticat)
There is usually food left over after snack 2 because of their meal at 10, so that's the food that is left out for the night. I also leave out the boys' plates (they get the same food she does) so whoever wants the leftovers can have them. I will invest in an automatic feeder if the meal timing seems to be the issue, but how would I keep it from going dry? They won't eat it if it's been in the freezer.
 
I think you could increase this weekend if you plan on being around to see what kind of numbers you get. That assumes there isn't a good improvement in the next couple of days. This dose might work better by then and you'll get lower preshots between now and Saturday.

I think your feeding schedule is fine. That 1/4 can of food isn't going to push up her AMPS unless she's eating a good bit of it an hour or so before you test her in the morning.

Carl
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top