Morgraine AMPS 189 more questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

skybar22

Member Since 2010
Previously:
Morgaine's Numbers are rising

So we got through the night and Morgaine's number didn't come down so I got some sleep. I got up, checked her and she was 134. My question, do I dose her again with the same dose.50. I have the protocol but her situation is so atypical. We started with numbers in the blue and a very first dose brought her down to a number I hadn't seen in a couple of weeks. I really do fear hypos at this point and am not quite sure what to do. I have fed her but am holding off a bit to get some input, PLEASE!
Apparently that first dose took some time but it did kick in.
 
Re: Morgaine at 134 after 1st shot NEED ADVICE

Hi, and Welcome :-D
From my experience from being on this board for a long time, I believe you will be told not to shoot, since the number is relatively low, and you don't have much data yet on Morgaine.
Also, just for your information in the future; if you hadn't of fed, then you could have stalled (delayed the shot) and tested again to see if he was going up in BG or going down. But now that you have fed him, the next test will reflect the rise in BG because of the food.
Sorry if I don't explain things ultra clearly.
I'm sure some others will be along shortly, but for now this will bump you up.
 
Re: Morgaine at 134 after 1st shot NEED ADVICE

Thanks! You are very clear except SHE is a female, lol.

I am learning and know I may not get it right but better safe than sorry so I am not shooting until I see where she is after 2 hours and how high she goes after eating. I appreciate your sharing very much.
 
Re: Morgaine at 134 after 1st shot NEED ADVICE

Well, keep in mind that if you do shoot in two hours (about the time it takes for food to not affect the BG) that you will then have to adjust your schedule by two hours, as the next shot and the following shots must be 12 hours apart.
Can't wait to see a picture of your girl :-D
 
Re: Morgaine at 134 after 1st shot NEED ADVICE

Dyana said:
Well, keep in mind that if you do shoot in two hours (about the time it takes for food to not affect the BG) that you will then have to adjust your schedule by two hours, as the next shot and the following shots must be 12 hours apart.
Can't wait to see a picture of your girl :-D

Yes, I know this and that is fine. I am a night owl so we can work with any time that we need for adjustments.

I will try to resize a picture so it will upload. Not too savvy with the computer stuff.
 
Re: Morgaine at 134 after 1st shot NEED ADVICE

I just checked her BG and it was 189 +2 after feeding so I did give her the dose of .50. I hope i am doing this correctly. This is a little scary right now and hard. Fortunately, Morgaine is cooperating. If anyone can advise asap, please help. I need some support and need to know if I am on the right track here.
 
Re: Morgaine at 134 after 1st shot NEED ADVICE

you're absolutely on the right track. you did fine. just plan on her shot tonight at the same time as you ended up shooting this morning, and on morgaine's spreadsheet make a note that you waited, just for future reference.

as you get more data you will feel more comfortable. 134 is a super number to shoot, and what you discover is that when they are high a dose can bring them down steeply and quickly, but when they are low it flattens out. i didn't realize that at first. that said, you never shoot a lower than usual number and just leave them - you always get lots of tests, especially +1, +2 and +3 (at least i like the +3) because they will tell you where she's going next. you also always want the supplies to deal with a hypo - lots of test strips & high carb foods - so you are prepared.

what you'll see is that the more experienced people shoot green even, but they've learned how their own cat responds to the insulin and they're going to be around just in case. if you haven't done so yet, it's really educational to look at other condos. you might look at some that had a similar amps and see how they handled it. it's all in practice and experience - you'll get there too.

in the meantime, you did just fine today!!! pat yourself on the back!
 
Re: Morgaine at 134 after 1st shot NEED ADVICE

I don't remember if I've had a chance to welcome you or not. Welcome to LL!!! There's usually always someone around to help you so I'm glad you asked.

A couple things:
1. If you shot the 189, then your subject line should now say 6/27 Morgraine AMPS 189

2. On your SS, just show in the last column (+11) from yesterday her 134 as +12. Did you take any other tests in between +12 and what you shot (189)? If you did, just show them: 134 @ 12; 150 @ 13 etc. on your SS. Then anyone who looks at it will know you stalled. Your AMPS will be 189.

3. Since you stalled two hours, then you adjust your time by either 15 mins each 12 hours or 30 mins once a day. Here is an example:
Normal shot time is 9 am, you shot at 11 am
You can shoot at 10:45 tonight, 10:30 Tues morning, 10:15 Tues night, 10 Wed morning, 9:45 Wed night, 9:30 Thurs morning, 9:15 Thurs night, 9 Friday morning
OR 30 mins a day:
Shoot at 10:30 Tues morning/evening, 10 Wed morning/evening, 9:30 Thurs morning/evening, 9 Fri morning and so on...you are back on schedule.

Please be sure and get a +1 and +2 and post them. We'll see where she is going from there. Pls let us know if you have any questions on the above. Good job :-D :-D ...glad Dyana was here to tell you not to shoot.

eta: look at Gracie's SS in my signature block and on the evening of 4/14/11, you'll see how I show my stalling.
 
Re: Morgaine at 134 after 1st shot NEED ADVICE

Thanks and I am a little overwhelmed right now. Really tired as i only slept 3 hours.

I will try to figure it all out later.

My current problem is that I only have some sugar water if a hypo occurs. I can no longer drive and I have to wait until tomorrow for some Karo to get here. I can get sugar water into her if need be but I do need some supplies and may ask a friend to pick some things up. That is why I truly fear the hypos. Can't even get her to an ER if need be.

Fortunately Morgaine is cooperating with me which kind of surprises me. Do they know????
 
Re: Morgaine at 134 after 1st shot NEED ADVICE

Hello and WELCOME ! :smile:

I just caught up on yesterdays condo for Morgaine. You are doing great.

I saw your concern over not getting the shot into your cat. When we aren't sure that all (or any) of the insulin went into the cat, we chalk that up to a "Fur Shot" and just carry on until the next shot time. We have all had our share of fur shots!

For your peace of mind you'll want to keep several cans of high carb (HC) food on hand, for times when you need or want to control a drop in BG. Hopefully there are some that will comply with her low fat needs. Some Karo syrup should be on hand as well. My bottle of Karo just collected dust (I think I used it once in a panic) but it was reassuring to have it on hand.
 
Re: Morgaine at 134 after 1st shot NEED ADVICE

It's ok.....we are all very overwhelmed at the beginning...and exhausted. I have finally learned how to get by on sleeping an hour or so/testing/sleeping/testing as Gracie likes to keep me up at night.

So...just if you could take only a second...is it possible to fix the subject line and take the question out? Only reason is because when people see that, they jump to help you only to find you've already been helped. Then it's zzzzzzz time for you and you can deal with the SS and the other stuff later.....as long as you get a +1 and +2 :-D :-D :-D
 
Re: Morgraine AMPS 189

I'm sorry....I think I missed your name and beans are important here, too :-D

My current problem is that I only have some sugar water if a hypo occurs. I can no longer drive and I have to wait until tomorrow for some Karo to get here. I can get sugar water into her if need be but I do need some supplies and may ask a friend to pick some things up. That is why I truly fear the hypos. Can't even get her to an ER if need be.

You can use sugar water but the problem is that "if" she refuses it and we need to get HC into her right away, it's a little harder to rub on the gums than the karo. Yes....it is wise to be cautious esp when you shoot numbers like you have been without any data. You need to have the karo on hand so I hope your friend can get it for you today. As well as some HC food. In a pinch, VANILLA ice cream will also bring numbers up but if she isn't eating, you really have to have the karo, honey, syrup, etc.....do you have any of those at all? They are all the same and can be rubbed on the gums esp in an emergency.
 
Re: Morgraine AMPS 189

eta: look at Gracie's SS in my signature block and on the evening of 4/14/11, you'll see how I show my stalling.

I had to put the info in my remarks. The SS will not let me post anything but a one line number. If there is a trick to this, please advise.
 
Re: Morgraine AMPS 189

I am pretty sure I have some old honey in the cupboard. I know a friend used it in the winter so that will work! I also have vanilla ice cream.

My name is Rosalie and I will try to remember to sign my posts.
 
Re: Morgraine AMPS 189

Hmmmm......I use the same template. I just type it in and then change the font so the number is small....I use "8" when I have more than one number. Not sure why it won't let you edit...you just click on the box and type right?

Do you have a +1? Thanks!!! And thanks for fixing SS so far....I hope we can figure out how to get those numbers in the +11 box...

eta: cross posted; good on the honey. Could you check it please and make sure it isn't all glummed up :lol: :lol: You can microwave it a little to get it liquidy again. The ice cream (only vanilla) will work in place of the HC food but only if it is full up ice cream and not sugar free or ice milk.

I hope you will have a chance to go out tomorrow and get a hypo kit together. It's very important esp seeing her numbers after just a few shots.
 
Re: Morgraine AMPS 189

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Hmmmm......I use the same template. I just type it in and then change the font so the number is small....I use "8" when I have more than one number. Not sure why it won't let you edit...you just click on the box and type right?

Do you have a +1? Thanks!!! And thanks for fixing SS so far....I hope we can figure out how to get those numbers in the +11 box...
She is not letting me near her right now. She is just tired too and seems fine but I will keep trying to get a reading. I will worry about the rest of this, SS, later. Thanks!
 
Re: Morgraine AMPS 189

I'm sorry she is tired but you really need to get a +1 please. It will help us learn if she is going to get a food spike or not. If she's already headed down at +1, then you are going to be busy.
 
Re: Morgraine AMPS 189

She is 214 and not too happy but she got a piece of freeze dried chicken. I think she gets it.

I got the 134+12 in the box but had to make it tiny at font 6. Hope you can read it. It won't let me type in a second line for some reason. I find the SS hard to work with and maybe I just do not understand how to do it correctly.

Question: I had fed her when I checked her earlier and she was 134. She went to 189 2 hrs later and I dosede her .5. Should I have fed her again after dosing her? This is very confusing. My instincts would say no because she was 214 and I will be feeding her again in a couple of hours as I only feed a small amount of food per meal x4. Is this a cardinal rule to always feed after a dose, no matter what? Just wondering because you mentioned a food spike and the food spike came after the 134 with no shot.
 
Re: Morgraine AMPS 189

Good...that is a nice food spike. I know she won't be happy about a +2 but that also gives you alot of info.

Good on the SS..thank you!!! You may just have to work with it a bit to feel comfy with it.

Thanks very much....I know this is a pain but she's in pretty decent numbers for newly diagnosed and you have no data to know what she'll do so it pays to be extra cautious.
 
Re: Morgraine AMPS 189

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Good...that is a nice food spike. I know she won't be happy about a +2 but that also gives you alot of info.

Good on the SS..thank you!!! You may just have to work with it a bit to feel comfy with it.

Thanks very much....I know this is a pain but she's in pretty decent numbers for newly diagnosed and you have no data to know what she'll do so it pays to be extra cautious.
She is not newly doagnosed. She has been diet controlled for over a year. Please read my last post above yours because I am confused about the food spike. The 214 is a good 3 hours after food. The 189 was a food spike 2 hours after I fed her and didn't shoot.
 
Re: Morgraine AMPS 189

eta: cross posted; good on the honey. Could you check it please and make sure it isn't all glummed up You can microwave it a little to get it liquidy again. The ice cream (only vanilla) will work in place of the HC food but only if it is full up ice cream and not sugar free or ice milk.

I hope you will have a chance to go out tomorrow and get a hypo kit together. It's very important esp seeing her numbers after just a few shots.

I will call a friend later and see if he can help me out. Ice cream is reduiced fat but not ice milk and not sugar free.

Morgaine's numbers have never been higher than 200. She was diet controlled and has lately begun to creep up. She has become symptomatic and I believe, as does the vet, that she has had some higher numbers that I never catch. That 214 is the highest i have ever recorded with home testing though she was 365 at the vet's but she was highly stressed.

Do their ears get red and sore because hers seem to be going in that direction. I have been alternating but with all these tests, I am concerned. Please advise.
 
Re: Morgraine AMPS 189

I'm glad you changed the AMPS.

If you are planning on stalling because of a low pre-shot number, please do not feed. If you stall, typically, you are starting your food cycle (mini-meals) at that point.

Please read this post on managing low pre-shots.

Before you do anything else, you need to get prepared. Given your limitations with driving, you MUST:
  • have a supply and back-up supply of strips
  • have a back-up meter and batteries
  • have appropriate high carb food for Morgaine (i.e., a gravy based food)
  • have Karo or some other simple sugar syrup (honey, maple syrup, dextrose, etc.) in the house
  • have a hypo kit prepared
  • have a friend you know you can call any time, day or night, who will get you to a vet
  • know where the nearest 24 hour emergency vet is located and how to get there
IMHO, these are non-negotiables. We can walk you through how to deal with low numbers but if you don't have the supplies, there's very little we can do to help.

Companies like PetFood Direct will deliver any flavor of food (by the case) that you want.

Her ears may get red and sore. Some people here will use Neosporin ointment with pain relief to help.

Numbers in the 100 - 200 range are very safe. Seeing a 134 doesn't upset me in the least. If you saw a 34, I'd be concerned and we would walk you through the process of how to bring Morgaine's numbers back up. In case there is no one immediately available, this post on managing low numbers outlines what to do.

As I said last night, you can shoot less than 0.5u if that makes you more comfortable. You do, however, need to pick a dose and stick with it for 5 - 7 days unless Morgaine earns a dose reduction by falling below 50.
 
Re: Morgraine AMPS 189

Thank you. I have honey and ice cream and will get some high carb food tonight. I do know how to treat a low in myself but have never done so in a cat. I am pretty sure I can handle it and i am testing quite often at this point and checking in with her constantly. she is always either by my side or in the bedroom. she does not hide. I can call a friend of mine at any time. He drives a cab and is always available. It's hard though to rely on people and because i am disabled i do it a lot to get my own needs met. This is a tough one for me but I would call him in an emergency. I hope to avoid those however.

I feel very comfy with the .50. as i mentione last night I spoke with Dr. Lisa about all of this and she felt that .5 was the right starting dose as well. she did want me to test her at +3 and +6 and if she didn't seem to be dropping to test again at +12. As I said, I did keep an eye on her all night and the 134 was the AM number +12.

So, my error was that I fed her and didn't dose her when she was 134. Just want to be sure I get this straight. At that 134 I should have waited +2 and then checked her again to see where her numbers were. Hypothetically, if she were still on the low side at 125 or so, then what would be the next step? By now she would be famished and crying for food. Would i hold the dose longer and not feed or hold the dose and feed? I followed the Queensland protocol but becauyse she has never been on insulin before I went with the feed and test in 1-2 hours step. It's so tricky with them all but because she is so borderline at times it is hard to know exactly how to deal with it all.

I see now that she probably would have been better off if I had checked her again without feeding to see where the numbers were. Bear with me. As much as I know about human diabetes, treating a cat is totally different. If i am really high I give insulin to myself and wait until my numbers come down before I eat but i am a human and I know what i am doing for myself. I need to get there with Morgaine, know how her body responds to the Lantus. This is my learning curve. I appreciate all of the help.

So, as far as I can tell, I should do another test and give her a 2nd feeding of the day. Correct?

Keep it coming.
 
Re: Morgraine AMPS 189

+2 and she is 182. It is time to feed her again so do i go ahead and follow our regular routine of feeding every 5 hours? She is ready to eat!!
 
Re: Morgraine AMPS 189

I would read the post I linked on low pre-shots. We test more frequently than 2 hours. If you're stalling, test in 30 min. If numbers have started to rise (i.e., more than 20%), you should be good to shoot. Waiting for 2 hours probably means you have a cat that's ready to start gnawing on your ankle.

Most of us feed more often than every 5 hours. It's better to feed before the nadir because there will be insulin more actively able to offset the effect of food. If you're feeding at pre-shot and at +5, depending on where Morgaine's nadir is, the +5 meal will be around the nadir when the action of insulin is waning. Likewise, if you're feeding at +10, you run the risk of inflating your pre-shot value.

I'm a big fan of a +2 test. The +2 value should be close to your pre-shot. If it's much lower, you have advance warning of an active cycle. Depending on your cat, the +3 could be well into a drop that you could have started to soften the hour before. (Understand that I have a cat that likes early, fast drops and every cat is different.)
 
Re: Morgraine AMPS 189

Her +2 is close to the preshot and I can feed at any interval. How often are you feeding and how much. I have been feeding her 4x a day but can change that. so, is there a better interval or do i need to figure that out. I am beginning to get overwhelmed with all of this as i am operating on little sleep and need to pay attention to my health too but I am doing my best.

A feeding guideline would be helpful. Right now she gets 1.5 oz at each feeding and that may have to increase to 5x aday as her food is low fat and she needs more of it to get her calories in. I also give her freeze dried chicken treat after I test her. She is beginning to assume the position and she is purring!! Another treat I give her is the FF appetizers which have just meat in broth. but basically i will be feeding 7.5 oz a day of canned food or cooked food, low fat.

ETA: What % carb do you consider high. She is a picky eater as well so there is no guarnatee she will eat a food that is foreign to her.

Also, I am a type 1 and have more supplies than you can imagine here. Pumpers test 8-10 times a day and i have at least 4 meters and hundreds of strips so that is not going to be an issue for me.
 
Re: Morgraine AMPS 189

For now, I would feed based on what's convenient for you and so it's not totally overwhelming. Once you've gotten a couple of curves and have a good feel for where Morgaine's nadir is, you'll be better able to sort out the food. Frankly, how you feed is largely trial and error. If you want to split the food into 2 meals per cycle that's fine. I'd probably feed at pre-shot and at +3 or +4. If you want to give a snack/treat a little later on, that's fine.

Because Gabby is prone to dropping early, I divide her food into 4 portions each cycle. She gets fed at pre-shot, +1, +2, and +3. I front-load the cycle. That may not be an ideal plan for Morgaine. If you look in people's signature lines or on their SS, you'll see how people feed.
 
Re: Morgraine AMPS 189

I'm so sorry....had a minor crisis here and had to deal with it. I'm glad Sienne jumped in.

Sorry I missed that part of your post. I do remember reading she was diet controlled but because her BGs went high enough for her to have insulin, she is considered to be newly diagnosed unless she has received insulin at some time in the past, was off, and now needs it again.

A couple of rules of thumb:
1. we don't feed between +10 and the PS as it can give you a false elevation on your PS number. So, now understanding the sequence of events, the 189 probably was your food spike :-D
2. we don't feed if we're stalling so that you aren't feeding an food influenced number. If she falls below 50 and you are stalling, we ask you to retest in 15 minutes and if she isn't up, THEN we would have you feed her. If you are stalling, please always post and someone will walk you through it. Please don't feed unless she has a super low number...like in the 30s.

Alot of us feed on a set schedule early in the cycle to control drops caused by the onset of the insulin. Those of us who feed on that schedule feed AFTER the tests (if we are doing a test) at PS, +1, +2, +3. You'll need to experiment with Morgraine as you get more data to find out when the best time to feed is but in general, it's good to have a schedule and give them consistency on feeding times and amounts and %carbs.

You do want to feed when you give her her shot at the very least. Test, feed, shoot all within about 10 mins. Some folks test and then shoot WHILE they feed to distract the cat. Whatever works in that regard since lantus takes about two hours to onset. But those three things need to happen at your preshot times.

Depending on what you fed her and how she handles the carbs, the 214 could still be some residual on carbs OR she could just be going up.
 
Re: Morgraine AMPS 189

What % carb do you consider high carb. She is a picky eater as well so there is no guarnatee she will eat a food that is foreign to her.

Also, I am a type 1 and have more supplies than you can imagine here. Pumpers test 8-10 times a day and i have at least 4 meters and hundreds of strips so that is not going to be an issue for me.

Thanks for the feeding suggestions. she is hungry and I am going to feed her now. Maybe I need to see how it goes with her before determining this.
 
Re: Morgraine AMPS 189

I'm sure everyone and every kitty has a slightly different feeding schedule to fit their own particular needs.
This is what works for me... because I like to keep it simple....

  • My kitty needs 3 cans of Fancy Feast per day (about 260 calories).
  • Each meal is half a can: 1.5 oz. (the calories from carbs are between 2% - 5%)

  • I put the food in his bowl after he's had his BG test and his shot.
  • He gets more food when the bowl is empty.
  • I pick up the food bowls 3 hours before AMPS and PMPS, so food will not influence the test number.

That's my plan.
I consider anything about 12% calories from carbs to be High carb ... for my kitty.
Sometimes I use 10% as a medium carb if he's not scary low but needs to come up a bit.
 
Re: Morgraine AMPS 189

We consider low carb to be under 10% but most of us feed much lower than that....probably in the 0-4/5% range on a normal basis. MC would be probably up to 15% or so and HC above that.

Since you are diabetic, you realize meters vary so I would pick one for her and stick with it. I have two meters that are the same brand; they have a tiny bit of variance between each other but not nearly as much as my third meter which is a totally different kind.

Again...sorry I didn't get right back to you. I knew she was at a safe number and the +2 would just give us her trend. One of my elder civvies just had a dental the other day..three extractions....and I needed to attend to one of her needs RIGHT THEN!! :lol: :lol: :lol: At least, that is what she said. :lol: :lol:
 
Re: Morgraine AMPS 189

Don't apologize. You are all wonderfully helpful and i know I need to adjust all to Morgaine who has some other issues like a tendency to eat everything in front of her. she is on a diet now and needs to take off 1-2 lbs and she needs to eat low fat and low carb. I will try to get her some of the Science diet high carbs because she will not eat FF anymore and she does not like other brands like friskies. The gravies do not seem to entice her either. Have had a horrible time finding food for her that shewill eat and she settled on Pro Plan so I need to check them out for a higher carb but I do not see anything up past the teens.

CD, except for puttin the food in the bowl when it is empty, thansk or the simplicity. so, no food 3 hours before shots and then spread the feedings out as appropriate for Morgaine.

I am generally a late riser so I think the schedule we are now on will work well for us. I am not a morning person and Morgaine has adapted to that.

She just chowed down and I am going to do the same and take a nap. I can't get all of this at once and I will test her +2 after eating to see where her numbers are which will be +5 since her last shot.
 
Re: Morgraine AMPS 189

Morgaine is at 172 +5.

I have been looking at some of your SS's. I have some very practical questions I would like to ask. Considering my own health, there is no way I can test Morgaine 8-12 times a day every day. I do understand the need for data at first and can keep this up for a few days but is their a modified schedule that anyone uses for testing and feeding so that the kitty will be safe?

I am using Lantus, that is a given because I have it here and could never afford to purchase insulin. I live on a fixed income and have so many medical expenses myself so I do need to use what have for me for Morgaine. With the protocol I am reading from Queensland, there seems to be a less intensive approach once she is stable. I also am wondering if people get up in the middle of their sleep to feed their cats? I need to sleep 6-7 hours a night for my own health and well being. Of course, right now I am good with the more intensive testing but I need to get her on a feeding schedule so we can get some rest.

I am really not well and my cat is really important to me so I have to find a balance for us both.

I guess I am asking if this is going to get easier, less testing and more stable or will I be worrying constantly about her numbers. Once I see how she reacts to Lantus, can she go 7 hours without food? Suppose her nadir turns out to be later in the cycle, will i have to get up from sleep, check her and feed her? Just trying to grasp the reality of what I have to do here.

What do people who work do? Do you just leave food out and how about picking it up 3 hours before PS? Am I making any sense with these questions? I hope you all understand where i am coming from. I have seen mention of a modified curve for 12 hours 3-4 hours apart. Does that work?
 
Hello, rosalie!

just stopping in to say Welcome...as you are getting lots of good info from our wise ones.
And I LOVE your cat's name!

i will speak to one thing you asked..."Do they know?"

my boy couldn't have been more helpful and agreeable through his experience...and i firmly believe YES! i think they know we're
doing our best to help them.

Hang in there...and take care of your health as well...
the caregiver needs to be looked after just as much as the patient!

Celi & Binks
 
Thanks Celi! Morgaine is being incredible with this and she does know I am doing it to help her.

Just wanted to say thanks for the welcome.
 
Rosalie:

There's not an easy answer to some of your questions.

One way to deal with some of the feeding is with a timed feeder. I don't get up in the middle of the night to feed nor can I run home in the middle of the day. I do have a 2-compartment timed feeder that I set.

Once a cat is tightly regulated, things are more on autopilot. However, there are never guarantees. If Morgaine decides to go OTJ, you will need to be aggressively testing. Cats can come down the dose ladder quickly. There are also cats like Gabby. She is not easy to manage. She will throw low numbers just to say, "Surprise!!!" We've been at this for 2 years. That said, I know her patterns -- most of the time. You've always got to remember, we're dealing with cats. It's their job to keep us on our toes.
 
Thanks Sienne. I think I am just overwhelmed with it all, my own issues included in that feeling of not being able to do it all perfectly and not knowing what is happening with her if I do not get it done.

I am going to ease up on myself and just do my best without putting her in danger. She is doing fine right now and I will get a test done shortly and then give her a snack and klet that be until the next PS.

I'll get the hang of it but in my own way. If anyone feels I am not testing enough, please advise me and I'll try but when I look at some of these SS and see 10-12 BG tests I just don't know how you all do it. I have to test myself 7-10 times a day and doing that for Morgaine, as well, would become totally overwhelming and cost prohibitive. I will do my best now to get her egulated and then keep a close eye on things, using my judgment and asking questions here when I am stuck, which is often at this point.

What kind of feeder do you have and where do I get one online. Do they feed wet food?
 
The bare minimum of tests is pre-shot and one test each cycle. If you can, it would be great if you could get a few additional tests in during the AM cycle. You will need to test more as numbers dictate. I test the first 4 hours because that's when Gabby's numbers will drop.

This is the feeder I use. If you do decide to purchase it through Amazon, use the link in the "Shop" box at the top of the Board. That way, FDMB will get a commission. It works fine for canned food. (I mix water in with my guys food so it doesn't dry out.)
 
Thanks! I will check that out and probably buy one so i can leave food out at night and some sleep, even 1 meal would work. I order from Amazon a lot so I will use the link here from now on.

Just did a test +9 and she is 166 so she is pretty flat throughout the day and went down before the PSAM on day 1. See my SS.

I know one day is never enough to determine patterns and I will do my best to get as many tests as possible in but I know the critical ones. I would never shoot insulin into myself without testing and then I test again 2 and 4 hr after meals so yes, I really do know how important it all is. sorry I have been such a pain. I want so much to do this for her as I do it for myself, ALWAYS and I have normal blood work HbA1c always. If I can get the feeder and get sleep without worrying, then I may have the energy to get it done right.

Why is the AM cycle testing more important than the PM? Just wondering about the rationale behind that and is it best to feed equal amounts of meals in both cycles?

Thanks again and please bear with me. you are all great!
 
Hi Rosalie: the AM cycle isn't more important but if you need to sleep at night, if you can see what her AM cycles are, that may give you some insight as to what she does at night. Maybe....but they are cats and don't come with an owner's manual :lol: I think Sienne was just trying to be realistic about what tests you would need considering your own health.

Ideally, you would feed the same amount and number of meals in both cycles. I usually do 4 minimeals and a snack in each cycle but if Gracie is dropping fast, I have to add a small meal in between to control her more.

I hope that helps. HOpe you get some rest. Lovely day for your girl!
 
Lovely day for your girl!

I know it looks good but she is still quite symptomatic and that concerns me. She is drinking a lot of water and peeing quite a bit. I'm hoping this will settle down but it is curious to me and has been for quite a while because her numbers have been consistently in the 130-150 range on my spot checks yet she was PD/PU. Kidneys were fine according to blood work but her USG is low. Vet thinks it may be very early kidney issues or the diabetes. She has been spilling glucose all day in her urine but no keytones. I wonder if her renal threshold is pretty low, like 180. In some ways I have to lol and here is why:

I developed diabetes at age 12. so did Morgaine.

I was diagnosed and put on insulin at age 13, same as Morgaine. I was always spilling glucose in my urine despite my mom's best attempts at getting things under control. Yeah, things have changed and now we can control this much better so I am game. Just have to take care of me too and that has to come first or no one will be here for my girl.

I did order the feeder from Amazon so I will be able to split her meals and snacks across the 24 hour period.
 
hi rosalie - i'm just getting home tonight and saw your subject line about more questions. i just want to reassure you that we've all been where you are - wondering how in the world to manage the cat's diabetes and still have any kind of our own life, including sleeping! it gets so much easier! it really does. they still need attention but as you gather data with all the testing you've been doing, patterns will start to emerge on her spreadsheet and you'll have little :idea: moments when things become clear. you'll learn how morgraine's body responds to insulin throughout the day, how she responds to food, that kind of thing, and then you'll be able to tinker with the combination and get her as stable and healthy as possible.

with her numbers mostly below 200 already you will probably be seeing her symptoms improving as well. hang in there - this is a game of patience and you will get LOTS of practice at it! :lol:

also, don't worry about asking too many questions! sometimes others will miss a post - just ask again. no one will be bothered by it. we're all working on our lifeskills of Being Patient! :lol: ;-)

night - i'm off to bed. you're doing great. you gathered lots of data today and are learning a lot. it's a steep learning curve but you'll get there quickly.

hope you sleep well tonight! julie
 
Thanks to all of you lovely people. We are through our first day on insulin and entered day 2 with a PMPS of 166. Fed and dosed her and she is content. I actually made myself a big salad and feel like I CAN do this thanks to all of the support and encouragement here. I hope that I will be able to reciprocate to others one day soon.

I will be back tomorrow.

Rosalie and Morgaine
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top