More steady numbers for Nico— good? what’s next?

Emily Tuomey

Member Since 2020
Okay, so. Since we bumped Nico up to 4.0u he seems to be holding fairly steady (in the minimal data I have because we just changed it..) in the 300s (PURPLE!!). I’m assuming it’s good to see less huge jumps throughout the day, while also hoping to get him down a little further— maybe steady in the 150-250 range?— does that sound correct? Can someone talk to me about what I should or could expect to see now as we get closer to having a more correct dose? Just curious. I feel like right now I’m so thankful for 300s, but also have zero idea what to expect next, or what to hope for. Hoping someone knows the answer(s)!

Nico’s previous thread here: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/le-sigh-nico-the-rollercoaster-cat.238924/#post-2688240
 
Yes we definitely want to get down into the blues, but I want to see what this dose does tomorrow.
Great. Thank you for this. Would you like more frequent testing for him tomorrow? I always do AMPS, mid (+5 or +6), and PMPS. Usually a +3 or +4 after his evening dose as well, just depending on our sleep schedule. I’ll look for your response.
 
YOU DID, YOU DID!!!!! 293, HIS VERY FIRST YELLOW PRESHOT!!!!!!

upload_2020-11-28_7-51-29.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2020-11-28_7-51-29.png
    upload_2020-11-28_7-51-29.png
    218.8 KB · Views: 714
Yes I'd keep it another day.
So.... ROUGH BLIP.... PMPS 600+HI. :arghh: +2 455. :nailbiting: Nearly +4 276. :confused: Is he possibly bouncing from the 203 mid this afternoon? Will see what the morning brings.

(Not sure I’ll ever get used to seeing the 600+HI to be honest...)
 
Last edited:
When a cat isn't used to be 'down there' in the good numbers, their bodies sometimes shoot them right back up. So yes, the first many good numbers often follows with a bounce. Annoying as ****, but hopefully it will get better :bighug:
 
Yes I'm sure it was a bounce
Some pretty significant movement in the last 12-16 hours. We shot back up to 600+HI at our AMPS this morning. Can you advise on BG testing today? My gut says to monitor a little more closely with such drastic jumps, but I’m far from having any idea really (maybe it’s more for my peace of mind than for his actual health??)... scary stuff. How does one handle bounces like these? Just patience and holding the dose at 4.0u until he evens out a bit more? He’s acting totally, 100% fine— really, really energetic, has a great appetite, his water intake and urine output seem to have decreased (YAY!!) in the past two days. Honestly, I was surprised he read so high this morning, I thought he was gonna read much, much lower just based on his demeanor & energy alone. :cat: I’m hopeful these large jumps will pass soon. I’ll update as soon as there is new news. :blackeye:
 
Some pretty significant movement in the last 12-16 hours. We shot back up to 600+HI at our AMPS this morning. Can you advise on BG testing today? My gut says to monitor a little more closely with such drastic jumps, but I’m far from having any idea really (maybe it’s more for my peace of mind than for his actual health??)... scary stuff. How does one handle bounces like these? Just patience and holding the dose at 4.0u until he evens out a bit more? He’s acting totally, 100% fine— really, really energetic, has a great appetite, his water intake and urine output seem to have decreased (YAY!!) in the past two days. Honestly, I was surprised he read so high this morning, I thought he was gonna read much, much lower just based on his demeanor & energy alone. :cat: I’m hopeful these large jumps will pass soon. I’ll update as soon as there is new news. :blackeye:
You can test whenever you want. Let's see what happens today.
 
4.5u after AMPS. Can’t kick the 400s. Seems flat for some reason— (pm)+3 421. Any thoughts on why he hasn’t budged? I’ll update in the morning. Thanks.
 
So he read identical numbers at his (am cycle) +7 and his PMPS: 441. I shot 4.0u because I wasn’t sure if him staying out of the upper red & all black brackets would change anything. Please let me know.
No, Nico staying out of those upper red and black BG ranges would not change anything. You would have been fine to shoot the dose increase to 4.5U.

Hey, hey, hey! Nico dropped over 130 basis points, from the AMPS to that +8! Not too shabby! That's a good 30% drop for Nico. You don't want to see too much of a drop, no more than 50% if you get there. Hard to control the drop percentage, but "the bigger the drop, the greater the bounce" so you try to moderate those steep drops. I don't think you need to worry about "feeding the curve" at this point, to prop up the BG numbers. Lets' wait until Nico gets into some better BG ranges before you try that.

Yes he could have dropped more earlier in the cycle, but you can't test every hour. You'll get a better picture of what is going on if you vary the testing a bit from cycle to cycle, to fill in the blank spots on the SS. Plus, you are not likely to see a lot of difference if you tested every hour. No need to do that much testing.
 
No, Nico staying out of those upper red and black BG ranges would not change anything. You would have been fine to shoot the dose increase to 4.5U.


Hey, hey, hey! Nico dropped over 130 basis points, from the AMPS to that +8! Not too shabby! That's a good 30% drop for Nico. You don't want to see too much of a drop, no more than 50% if you get there. Hard to control the drop percentage, but "the bigger the drop, the greater the bounce" so you try to moderate those steep drops. I don't think you need to worry about "feeding the curve" at this point, to prop up the BG numbers. Lets' wait until Nico gets into some better BG ranges before you try that.

Yes he could have dropped more earlier in the cycle, but you can't test every hour. You'll get a better picture of what is going on if you vary the testing a bit from cycle to cycle, to fill in the blank spots on the SS. Plus, you are not likely to see a lot of difference if you tested every hour. No need to do that much testing.
PMPS 416. Still nothing from his vet about his curve last week. I’ve left a bazillion messages.. if I can’t get her tomorrow then she’s gone until Friday. UGHHHH
 
Yes he could have dropped more earlier in the cycle, but you can't test every hour. You'll get a better picture of what is going on if you vary the testing a bit from cycle to cycle, to fill in the blank spots on the SS. Plus, you are not likely to see a lot of difference if you tested every hour. No need to do that much testing.

Couldn’t sleep and was up at +5 so decided to give a random test and mighty glad I did too... (pm) +5 66. :eek: Scrambled to see at what level to give high carb treats (<50?) and fed some anyway. What’s next? I think at AMPS if he’s under 200 no insulin, right? But read he might also test super high.. PLEASE ADVISE.
 

Attachments

  • upload_2020-12-1_1-8-24.png
    upload_2020-12-1_1-8-24.png
    369.6 KB · Views: 313
Wo
Couldn’t sleep and was up at +5 so decided to give a random test and mighty glad I did too... (pm) +5 66. :eek: Scrambled to see at what level to give high carb treats (<50?) and fed some anyway. What’s next? I think at AMPS if he’s under 200 no insulin, right? But read he might also test super high.. PLEASE ADVISE.
wow good catch! You didn't by any chance test twice to make sure it was correct, did you? Either way is an amazing number. BUT we have finally found his breakthrough dose!!! You have several hours before the amps, so I would bet it will go back up.
 
Last edited:
+5 156, but I think I may have only shot 4.0u this morning.. I can’t be sure. I think I may have been on autopilot because it was so early and I didn’t get much sleep. Right after I shot I thought, “oh my god, did I just shoot 4.0u or 4.5u??!” “Now, I don’t know and there’s no way to check..” Has this ever happened to you guys? Should I just assume it was 4.0u? 4.5u?
 
Back
Top