More poke questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

Helene and Santino

Member Since 2017
Due to my uncouth initial forays into getting blood samples from Santino's ears, one ear looks like it has little hemorrhages near the "sweet spot" and the other has them a bit farther in. These might be from the times when I accidentally hit a vein. I know humans with diabetes are not very good at healing if they get an injury on their extremities, and are more prone to infection. Is it possible for cats to get an infection from unskilled pokes, or to have a harder time healing from said pokes? Should I give Santino's ears a break? I tend to be more busy during the week anyway, so I might welcome a break.
 
Probably won’t get any infections, but you can use some neosporin with pain relief ointment (not cream) also hold a little pressure on the poke after collecting the blood.
 
Probably won’t get any infections, but you can use some neosporin with pain relief ointment (not cream) also hold a little pressure on the poke after collecting the blood.
I do put neosporin on and hold pressure after every shot. The downside is now Santino's ears are greasy as heck because I might be overdoing it with the ointment. :) I may need to take some soap and water to them later.
 
Hello Helene,

I found that Boiron Ledum paulstre 30C is the most effective for healing hematoma - inner tissue hemorrhage you mentioned above.

Crush 1 or 2 pills and dilute in 4 tsp of distilled water. Apply several drops on to the ear several times a day. I use cotton ball for my pokes and afterward soak it in this solution and hold firmly to the ear for a minute or so. Works very well! This product is SOLD HERE.


Neosporin is good to heal and to prevent infections #the poke site.

Another product popular here for healing pokes and scratches is Cloud 9 by Halo - SOLD HERE.

Should I give Santino's ears a break?
I wanted to give my cat pokey break last night but at the last moment decided against it, tested her and she was BG 28 :nailbiting:. It is Hypo number. Should I have not tested she'd might be not here right now:nailbiting:.

Apologies for being so dramatic :rolleyes: :), it is not to scare :bighug: you but to stress how important it is to test regularly, esp prior to injections. It is the only way to avoid Hypo.

 
Hello Helene,

I found that Boiron Ledum paulstre 30C is the most effective for healing hematoma - inner tissue hemorrhage you mentioned above.

Crush 1 or 2 pills and dilute in 4 tsp of distilled water. Apply several drops on to the ear several times a day. I use cotton ball for my pokes and afterward soak it in this solution and hold firmly to the ear for a minute or so. Works very well! This product is SOLD HERE.


Neosporin is good to heal and to prevent infections #the poke site.

Another product popular here for healing pokes and scratches is Cloud 9 by Halo - SOLD HERE.


I wanted to give my cat pokey break last night but at the last moment decided against it, tested her and she was BG 28 :nailbiting:. It is Hypo number. Should I have not tested she'd might be not here right now:nailbiting:.

Apologies for being so dramatic :rolleyes: :), it is not to scare :bighug: you but to stress how important it is to test regularly, esp prior to injections. It is the only way to avoid Hypo.
Lol, my cat is so far away from hypo it might as well be the moon. But I hear what you're saying :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top