More data collected,could use some input!

Status
Not open for further replies.

JoyceOlive

Member Since 2014
Hi all, here in Prozinc land,LOL! I have had lots of things going on lately,but have managed to get some numbers here and there and have completed a couple more curves.since I can't rely on showing them to the vet for feedback ,I have once again come to all of you .I was concerned with Whitey' s numbers yesterday,even his midcycle number was high for him at 179.I was suspecting teeth issues and sure enough this morning he had a bloody mouth and inflamed gums ,rushed him to the vet and a tooth was falling out.He is scheduled next week for a dental. So I increased his dose by .25 last nights shot,and was happy to see him have a morning preshot below 200, after yesterday's 305. I was shocked to see his midcycle at 43 today! Did I do a bad thing upping his dose slightly? Anyway,I hurried and fed him a higher carb food,waited half hour,retested and he was 62.I wondered if he dropped so low after getting a shot of Convenia which I was against after reading bad things about it,or just all the stress from the morning with his tooth and being scared to death to go to the vet!Any feedback is welcome,I am so scared for him to go under next week as he has a strong heart murmur,aids,and of course the diabetes doesn't help the situation,and he is no spring chicken!
 
The Convenia may be taking out any infection.
Infection is notorious for raising glucose levels.
Reducing infection logically suggests there may be a reduction in glucose and a need to monitor and adjust the insulin dose.

Might need to come back down 0.25 units.
 
Hi Joyce,

Great job getting numbers. And they are lovely numbers too! I'm with BJ. Not only can an antibiotic make the numbers a little less predictable in the downward direction, any infection with his teeth could skew the numbers upward. So, for a while, maybe just be a little conservative and keep up with your testing. I think the higher dose seems to work well for pinks. Maybe stick with a little lower dose for the yellows?
 
Hi Sue,Thanks for feedback.Yeah i think i did a boo boo,giving a 1.25 dose yesterday morning,which really brought him too low at midcycle.I am easing back now to a "stingy 1.00 unit".I guess i was freaking when he jumped back in the 300 range.It will be interesting to see how his numbers are after his teeth get cleaned,pulled,etc.and no infection present.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top