MooCAT AMPS 340 not eating enough-constipated-delay reduced dose?

Moocat

Member Since 2018
SO after yesterday's excitement, Moomoo doesn't want to eat very much- he is constipated but just got fluids this morning. Unless he eats enough by 9 or 9:15 this morning, I'm going to wait until tonight to start the .01 reduced dose. Just wanted to throw that out there to see if you experienced people agree with the plan.
 
I'm sicker than yesterday- and I can monitor but not to the degree as yesterday if things go sideways.
 
It would be nice to get some insulin in, even a drop. Moo is pretty high today, constipation can also raise the numbers. However, you have to take care of you first. :bighug: See how much he eats, then decide. Also keep in mind that insulin does more than counter carbs in food.
 
He just ate about .5 -1 oz of food. Looks like he knows we are talking about him he just started powering through his food. I'm gonna give him the .01
 
You could always do another test and see how he is trending if you are considering shooting. It will be somewhat influenced by food.
 
You could always do another test and see how he is trending if you are considering shooting. It will be somewhat influenced by food.
just retested after food 369. do you think I should go for it? I do- I just gave him .01 at 9:30 am
 
Last edited:
MooMoo looks like he'll have a much quieter day today which hopefully will give you a bit of a rest. Those "fire drills" like yesterday are exhausting by themselves never mind when you are under the weather. Wishes for a speedy recovery! :)
 
I hope Moomoo surfs safely and you feel better soon. Sending prayers.
Thank you! I managed to stay home today again. Tested @ +2 189. Hopefully this doesn't drop excessively. I am thinking to test at +4. He is grouchy because he hasn't pooped yet.
 
MooMoo looks like he'll have a much quieter day today which hopefully will give you a bit of a rest. Those "fire drills" like yesterday are exhausting by themselves never mind when you are under the weather. Wishes for a speedy recovery! :)
Hopefully he doesn't drop too much +2 189
 
Testing at +4 sounds good. Hopefully he will poop before then and be less grouchy! :rolleyes:
ETA He may drop a bit more but he's got lots of room to drop today.
Glad you could stay home!
 
Looking good. Much better/calmer cycle than yesterday and it looks like MooMoo clears bounces pretty quickly which is a blessing. :D
Is that big ole drop in the beginning of the cycle a normal thing? Or is there a normal? I guess I'm anxious if his pmps is lower and then he drops into the craziness like yesterday. P.S. he's still grouchy:mad:.
 
It looks to me like MooMoo may have bounced to some degree from the lows yesterday and then of course there was the skipped shot last night. There is no way to tell how much of his AMPS would be attributed to normal BG elevation from the missed shot vs. bounce. The fact that he came down that fast by +2 would often suggest that it was going to be an active cycle meaning monitoring would be in order however he was high enough to have a good bit of room to drop. While the drops have been substantial, he may just be clearing the bounce. He usually nadirs around +5 or so (yesterday may have been an anomaly or a change to an earlier nadir) and today at +4 he is still well within safe range.

Every cat and every cycle is different but with time you learn to read your own cat and their unique reactions.

Check MooMoo again now at +5 to see what he's doing. If his PMPS should happen to be low, then you make a decision as to whether or not to shoot but it's hard to guess right now because we don't have enough data with so called "normal" cycles to make an educated guess. I wish I could be more specific but until you get more data, it's really just a shot in the dark.
 
It would be nice to get some insulin in, even a drop. Moo is pretty high today, constipation can also raise the numbers. However, you have to take care of you first. :bighug: See how much he eats, then decide. Also keep in mind that insulin does more than counter carbs in food.
Thanks for the reply on this- it encouraged me to go for it- here's the update
PMPS 340 - fed then 369 @+2 189 +4 104 +5 108:)
 
It looks to me like MooMoo may have bounced to some degree from the lows yesterday and then of course there was the skipped shot last night. There is no way to tell how much of his AMPS would be attributed to normal BG elevation from the missed shot vs. bounce. The fact that he came down that fast by +2 would often suggest that it was going to be an active cycle meaning monitoring would be in order however he was high enough to have a good bit of room to drop. While the drops have been substantial, he may just be clearing the bounce. He usually nadirs around +5 or so (yesterday may have been an anomaly or a change to an earlier nadir) and today at +4 he is still well within safe range.

Every cat and every cycle is different but with time you learn to read your own cat and their unique reactions.

Check MooMoo again now at +5 to see what he's doing. If his PMPS should happen to be low, then you make a decision as to whether or not to shoot but it's hard to guess right now because we don't have enough data with so called "normal" cycles to make an educated guess. I wish I could be more specific but until you get more data, it's really just a shot in the dark.
update- +5 108
 
As I suspected, he is just holding steady now and that's a nice number given the events of the last couple of days. He's looking good. :D
 
Back
Top