Moo 4/3, PMPS 304, +2=312. +5-215 Dosing advice??

Status
Not open for further replies.

Moosmommy

Member Since 2012
Well we haven't seen any greens in over a week now.
I probably should have done this sooner, but we traveled this weekend and I knew that would cause some stress and higher numbers so after 3 days back at home now and no lower numbers... do we increase? I won't be home ALL weekend, but I will be gone midday from Moos +4 to+9 times on Saturday and Sunday.
He is at 1 unit now, if I increase can I wait until Saturday? Do I start tomorrow?
I start a new part time job tomorrow... I am doing Moo's shooting now at 5am/5pm I work from 630am until 345pm and then turn around and work 5pm-9pm tomorrow night... and the same thing on Friday. So I wont be home after both shots both days... Is going up on the dose risky if I am not home to see how he handles it?

OR am I doing this all wrong and maybe it's time for a new bottle of insulin?
We opened this one on Dec 2.

Sorry for all the jibber jabber.
And sorry I haven't been on/updating lately, I have been busy/sick/traveling.
 
Re: Moo 4/3, PMPS 304, +2=312. Dosing advice??

Annie:

I think you've held on to the 1.0u dose for too long. Holding a dose that isn't putting Moo in good numbers can cause glucose toxicity to occur. The term actually sounds worse than it is. Basically, what this means is that Moo's body gets used to being in high numbers and treats those higher ranges as the "new" normal. This is the rationale behind evaluating your dose every 3 days. You want enough time to let the dose settle but not so much time that it's harder to get the numbers to come down.

I think you need to decide what will work best for your schedule and your peace of mind when it comes to an increase. It is also possible that your insulin is getting toasty.
 
Re: Moo 4/3, PMPS 304, +2=312. Dosing advice??

If I try an increase do I go to 1.5 or 1.25. Those .25's are so hard to gauge on the syringes
 
Re: Moo 4/3, PMPS 304, +2=312. Dosing advice??

I would suggest increasing to 1.25u. I know the quarter units are hard to eyeball. You may want to get a pair of magnifying/reading glasses. As long as you are consistent with what you're measuring, it will be fine.
 
Re: Moo 4/3, PMPS 304, +2=312. Dosing advice??

Ok I will try the 1.25 tomorrow morning.
My break should be early so I can check him about +5
 
Well he was below 200 this am so since I'm leaving soon and I have no time wiggle room with my schedule today to stall and see where he's going in stuck with 1 unit. Depending on his spot check and pmps today I will try the 1.5 at pmps tonight.
Thank you for the help.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top