Monkey's transition from Caninsulin to Lantus

Status
Not open for further replies.
@Nan & Amber (GA)
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
@jt and trouble (GA)

Monkey BG went to 40 ml/dl today!! I give him a lot of can food and chicken breast immediately. I did not want to give him dry food for the worry that dry food triggers his diabetes. And he looked fine. After that I give him two BG test as shown in the spreadsheet. I do not know if I make the right decision. Also, please advise if I need to adjust his dose?
 
:eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek:!!!!!

Monkey has earned a 0.25U reduction!

When he goes that low, what you want to give him is food with carbs. The chicken breast is low-carb, so you don't want to fill him up with that. You should keep some canned food with higher carbs around for this situation. If you don't have any, another option is to add a few drops of honey or syrup to a low-carb canned food to make it medium carb.

Aren't you glad you didn't increase the dose the other day????
 
Nan is right. And Peter? A few kibbles when he is that low should be ok to feed. Although I HATE dry food.
Nans suggestion for a higher carb food is best!
Get a can that has gravy. Keep a couple of cans in the pantry just in case.
The same goes in case Pen Pen goes too low.
You've come a long way in such a short time.;)
You are doing a GREAT job for Monkey and Pen Pen. KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK!:bighug:
 
@Nan & Amber (GA) Yes you are right. Glad that I do not increase the dose. I thought his BG would keep to be 300 to 400 at all time. Is there any explanation for his sudden decrease?
The idea or honey or syrup is good, I hope they are not allergic to them. I think Hill's have very high carb can, maybe I will buy that. Or gravy can food.

Yes Jeanne, I hate dry food too, especially after knowing more about the unethical practice in pet food industry.
I was thinking today, are Monkey and PenPen recovering with a speed that is higher than most diabetic cats? In this 14 days, they were improving everyday.
Yes I will keep up the good work:cat:. I am thinking if I should give Monkey supplements to enhance his general health and diabetes healing, as Monkey is always the least healthy cat in my home. He has history of diarrhea and vomiting. Has some sort of inflammatory problem. Someone suggest that supplements such as fish old omega-3 for anti-inflammatory. Antioxidants for immune support. Digestive enzyme and probiotics etc. What is your opinion on that one? Like do supplement really help? Thanks:D
 
Hi Peter!

Since this thread is getting kind of long anyway, why not start a new post for the supplements question? That will help draw some new eyes (I don't know the answers to your questions, but others will!).

Some cats really turn around quickly once their diet gets cleaned up and they start on insulin. Monkey really is doing so much better on Lantus, it seems to agree with him much more than the Caninsulin did. He's doing great!
 
@Nan & Amber (GA) Yes you are right. Glad that I do not increase the dose. I thought his BG would keep to be 300 to 400 at all time. Is there any explanation for his sudden decrease?
The idea or honey or syrup is good, I hope they are not allergic to them. I think Hill's have very high carb can, maybe I will buy that. Or gravy can food.

Yes Jeanne, I hate dry food too, especially after knowing more about the unethical practice in pet food industry.
I was thinking today, are Monkey and PenPen recovering with a speed that is higher than most diabetic cats? In this 14 days, they were improving everyday.
Yes I will keep up the good work:cat:. I am thinking if I should give Monkey supplements to enhance his general health and diabetes healing, as Monkey is always the least healthy cat in my home. He has history of diarrhea and vomiting. Has some sort of inflammatory problem. Someone suggest that supplements such as fish old omega-3 for anti-inflammatory. Antioxidants for immune support. Digestive enzyme and probiotics etc. What is your opinion on that one? Like do supplement really help? Thanks:D

Hi Peter!
"are Monkey and PenPen recovering with a speed that is higher than most diabetic cats? In this 14 days, they were improving everyday."
I will learn with you on this one. I've never given supplements to my cats. I have always wondered if I should. So this we will both learn!
cat is different. ECID. I dont think theres a graph for that. But should you find one please share :p
 
Monkey is looking very good today!

Peter, when you get a chance, do you think you can change the conditional formatting on your spreadsheet for the "human meter" portion? The only difference between the pet meter and human meter formatting is the cutoff between lime green and dark green, it should be 50 for the human meter tests. Right now, you have a bunch of lime greens (yikes!) for both Monkey and PenPen that should be dark green (safe).
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top