Monkey

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kimmy & Ginny

Member Since 2022
Hi guys, re. another of my cats

I woke up to a puddle of pee in my bed. This only happened once before; when Ginny was in DKA before being rushed to the vet. I have 5 cats but immediately assumed something was wrong with Ginny (my diagnosed diabetic) and realising I forgot to put the other cats' food away, I immediately tested Ginny's BG. It's normal for her at 13.1 (236) and she was acting otherwise normal, no lethargy, no thirst, just her usual keen for breakfast (in half an hour).

So I began testing my other cats.

Monkey has a BG of 2.2 mmol/L (40mg/dl) on a human meter (should be 2.8+). I immediately put him in front of a bowl of kibble. Just confirming that this is a very bad number for an undiagnosed kitty? I plan on getting him checked by the vet. Is this an emergency though? Because I'll pay that emergency consult fee and get him in right now if needed.

Thank you ~Kim
 
I've been informed on the FB group that cats not on insulin can't have a hypo event, and additionally that 2.2 is considered normal for a non-diabetic, so I'm off to work, but I do still wonder about the pee... o_O
 
I've had cats test in the 40's before. We just don't want cats getting insulin that low as it leaves no margin for error. Are you sure about which cat peed there? Any other symptoms?
 
@Kimmy & Ginny
Have you decided what dosing method you want to follow for Lantus/Glargine for Ginny?
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/

They will tell you when an increase or decrease is needed
Ginny has been on 1 unit for quite some time now

I would start a new post and ask for someone to take a look at your spreadsheet
Previous post
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/ginnys-nadir.266300/
I see on your previous post you were advised to increase to 1.25 units
So I would definitely post and ask someone to look at your spreadsheet

I would also recommend you start posting over on the Lantus forum each day and you will make quicker progress.


If you don't have U-100 syringes with half unit markings I found this for Aussie members
Buying ½ unit syringes. We do not have ½ unit marked syringes available here in Australia. However, they can be ordered through a company in the UK which will deliver to you in about a week. The company website is Hyperdrug.co.uk. Here is the direct link to the page to order the 1/2 unit (Demi) U100 0.3ml syringes:https://www.hyperdrug.co.uk/BD-Micr...03ml-pack-of-100/productinfo/BDMICROFINE03ML/.

Here is a link for Aussie Caregivers
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...for-aussie-feline-diabetic-caregivers.217781/

If you decide to post on the Lantus forum

when you post on the lantus forum tomorrow morning
You would post like this
7-27 Ginny AMPS # and any additional tests after that , the PMPS# and additional tests after that
To go back and add the additional tests look to the right you will see it says Thread Tools tap that the tap Edit Title ,add you tests and tap Save
And always link your previous days post to each new day

Just say you came over from the Feline Health forum
 
Last edited:
@Kimmy & Ginny
Have you decided what dosing method you want to follow for Lantus/Glargine for Ginny?
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/

They will tell you when an increase or decrease is needed
Ginny has been on 1 unit for quite some time now

I would also recommend you start posting over on the Lantus forum each day and you will make quicker progress.

Hi :)

Incredibly, even though Its been a month, I still feel like I'm wading through all the protocols, so I've just been reading the information on the link you sent me regarding dosing methods. Thank you for that. I will need to order a few things over the weekend so that I can more fully follow the directions and advice given by yourself, and @Bron and Sheba (Ketone blood meter and half unit syringes). I don't feel comfortable trying to eyeball the 1.25 u on the current syringes -- I'm nervous enough just measuring out a 1u lol.
I'm also going to get Ginny in to the vet for a follow up in a few days, and I'll have them check her urine for ketones. I'll have a go at posting in the Lantus forum tomorrow morning, if just to get acquainted with the room. Thank you, I appreciate you guys taking good care of me and Ginny <3

Have a good night,
~Kim
 
I understand you're nervous , it's not that hard at all with half unit syringes , when you are ready here is a pic
30-unit-insulin-syringe-markings.jpg



You don't want to keep Ginny in those yellow numbers
If you shoot 1.25 units when you do get the syringes with half unit markings that would be between the 1 unit mark and the 1.5 mark. I have always eyeballed doses
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top