Monitoring her "bounce" today

Wirtz Family

Member Since 2026
AMPS decreasing last 3 mornings - 320, 291, 234 this morning. Started feeding snacks yesterday so BG doesnt drop as fast in the morning. Symptoms improved, more alert during day yesterday.

This morning BG 234 preshot.

She just ate and puked.

We can wait and try to feed her again in 10 min. Its 7:21am, shot is usually at 7:10am....

She keeps trying to eat the flowers on the table. So i know she is hungry. We introduced Weruva last night at 7pm which she did find on. She ate throughout the night too. Took food away at 5:10am. This morning she puked up the Wellness/Weruva.

UPDATE: She ate about a tablespoon at 7:40. Shot 1.5 units at 7:45am and will monitor. She is acting manic about food. Will feed again at 8:10 am and get BG at 9am.

**I couldn't delete this thread. Anyone know how to delete a thread you started if help is no longer needed?**

Sugar sheet link in signature...
 
Last edited:
AMPS decreasing last 3 mornings - 320, 291, 234 this morning. Started feeding snacks yesterday so BG doesnt drop as fast in the morning. Symptoms improved, more alert during day yesterday.

This morning BG 234 preshot.

She just ate and puked.

We can wait and try to feed her again in 10 min. Its 7:21am, shot is usually at 7:10am....

She keeps trying to eat the flowers on the table. So i know she is hungry. We introduced Weruva last night at 7pm which she did find on. She ate throughout the night too. Took food away at 5:10am. This morning she puked up the Wellness/Weruva.

UPDATE: She ate about a tablespoon at 7:40. Shot 1.5 units at 7:45am and will monitor. She is acting manic about food. Will feed again at 8:10 am and get BG at 9am.

**I couldn't delete this thread. Anyone know how to delete a thread you started if help is no longer needed?**

Sugar sheet link in signature...
No need to delete. I would like to know how it’s going today. Let me look at the spreadsheet.
 
Wow she dropped a lot today by +3. When did she get the mini meals — or was she vomiting them back up. Did you try something with more carbs than the Weruva. It’s pretty low carb.
 
Wow she dropped a lot today by +3. When did she get the mini meals — or was she vomiting them back up. Did you try something with more carbs than the Weruva. It’s pretty low carb.
Yea, a huge drop, fast.

We mixed Weruva and Sheba. She ate a few bites about 15 min prior to this last BG (+4). I just tried to feed her again and she turned her nose up at it, though she is getting a teaspoon of Churu with each of her BG tests.

As for this morning, she kept food down after the initial vomit. Then we shot her about 30 min later than normal, but right after eating. Took BG at +2.75 and at +4 (a few minutes ago). Hasn't dropped - remains steady. We will do a BG at +5 if she remains alert (sooner if she becomes lethargic). (I worry depending on where she sleeps; right now she moved to a good spot near the window and seems alert to what is going on around her.)

We have the Hills MD dry we can give her, but its relatively high carb. Maybe too high - 15%. 🫤 i know you mentioned 7%.
Sheba perfect portion chicken pate: This food contains 9.0% Protein, 5.0% Fat, 1.5% Carbohydrates per 100kcal.
💡I can get the Hills kibble wet and mix it in with one of the wet foods.
 
Last edited:
Wow she dropped a lot today by +3. When did she get the mini meals — or was she vomiting them back up. Did you try something with more carbs than the Weruva. It’s pretty low carb.
BG is going up. BG 92 at +5. She had about 10 of those kibbles (Hills MD) with a couple bites of wet food about 5-10 minutes before her last glucose test. She has been alert and walking around. She went to her "I am worried" chair but she is cleaning herself so she is good 👍 😊

What do you suggest going forward? If she's still in the mid-to-low 200s tonight, should we lower the dose by quarter unit? Cuz we're not going to be initiating feeding her overnight. She'll have food out but it doesn't mean she's going to eat.

And then just generally, should her food be in the 7-8% carb range? And since there are multiple ways to present carbs, I assume its on a per 100kcal basis or dry weight basis?
 
Last edited:
She had a fantastic cycle in the “healing greens” today. What a nice surf in green.

She did drop too quickly early on and hopefully that can be managed with a few more carbs without resorting to the dry food which tends to affect BG differently even if it’s one of the lower carb dry foods. There’s a lot of trial and error at first with the various foods and timing. After today, I do think I would like to see her eating a breakfast that has maybe 8 or 9 percent carbs (if you can find it.) she did really great though and I only hope she won’t bounce.
 
405 PMPS. Ugh. Maybe it is because of the few kibble we gave her? That is literally the highest BG reading we got with the ReliOn since we started testing. :confused: I know it's not exact, and trends are more important, but what a bummer.

We just fed her and she puked. Ugh.

Ok, we will have to buy new food. For tomorrow morning I will figure out the highest carb food we have, which will be less than 8-9%. But we will get new food going on Thursday morning... or Wednesday night after the shot??? Should we feed that 8-9% carb wet food after BOTH shots? I would assume so, but I have to ask in case I am missing something.

We won't use the kibble at all from now on.

If you see this, for tonight, as soon as we can get her to keep her food down, should we still reduce the dose from 1.5 to 1.25, even though her BG is high?
 
I am going to post the foods we have already to keep track (for myself and my own notes):

Tiki After Dark
Duck & Chicken is 5.13% carb on DMB (1.16% Carbs on as-fed basis).*
Tiki After Dark Chicken, Chicken Liver, & Quail is 0.74% carb on DMB (0.17% Carbs on as-fed basis).*

Sheba Perfect Portions Pate
Savory Chicken Entree is 4.27% Carb on a dry matter basis (0.91% Carbohydrate content on an as fed basis; 7.88 grams per 1000 kilcalories).*
Roasted Turkey Entree is 3.71% Carb on a dry matter basis (0.71% Carbohydrate content on an as fed basis; 5.64 grams per 1000 kilocalories).*
Tender Beef Entree is 3.28% on a dry matter basis (0.76% Carbohydrate content on an as fed basis; 6.55 grams per 1000 kilocalories).*

Weruva
Press Your Dinner Chicken Breast Dinner is carbohydrate content of 6.10% on a dry matter basis (1.29% as fed).*
Press Your Lunch Chicken Pate is carbohydrate content is 7.90% on a dry matter basis (1.3% on an as fed basis ).*
Tic Tac Whoa Tuna & Salmon is 9.0% on a dry matter basis (1.25% Carbohydrate content on as fed basis).*
Jolly Good Fares Chicken & Salmon is carbohydrate content of 9.50% on a dry matter basis (1.62% as fed).*

*Per Chewy
**calculated from as-fed values
 
Last edited:
If you see this, for tonight, as soon as we can get her to keep her food down, should we still reduce the dose from 1.5 to 1.25, even though her BG is high?
If you are following the SLGS dosing method then you would reduce the dose by .25 units because she dropped below 90 today. If you are following the Modified ProZinc Method, you would continue to hold the dose since she didn’t drop below 50 on your ReliOn meter. If you are not feeding dry food, you can follow MPM as long as you can get at least one mid cycle test each cycle you can follow MPM.
 
Whenever you are transitioning from one food to another, you need to do it very slowly— gradually adding in a small amount of food to her existing food and increasing a little more each day. This helps prevent GI upset. Cats can be very sensitive to food changes.
 
How is everything going? I see you got a 90 yesterday which is good. Try to test at a few different hours to fill in the gaps on the checkerboard that is her spreadsheet. Also, we are only getting half the picture with no nighttime tests. At least a before bed test will clue you in as to how the cycle is going to go. Many cats do drop lower at night than during the day - not all, but many do.
 
Ok, thanks. Doing a curve today. (Can only do midday BG on days my hubby is home, so pretty much weekends.)

Today BG dropped btwn +5 to +7. 🤔 Gonna take BG in 40 min (+8).

(We will try to get a BG before bed, hopefully at +1 and/or +2, but since I am up at 4:30-5am to pull her food, I have to go to sleep an hour after her PM insulin. My hubby stays up to give her the PM snacks, and he can't take BG solo.)
 
Well she had a pretty good cycle today although not as good as previous cycles. Any clue why she started the day so high?

For now we should hold this dose to see if she returns to greens mid-cycle. Can you explain how you have been feeding her? She dropped a lot early on but then she stabilized very nicely today.

Have you considered using an automated feeder to dispense the p.m. snacks? Neither of you would have to stay up. As for pulling the food two hours prior to the morning shot, if the autofeeder closes up at a certain time (or of you are certain the snacks will be eaten) then don’t wake up early to take up all the food.
 
Well she had a pretty good cycle today although not as good as previous cycles. Any clue why she started the day so high?

For now we should hold this dose to see if she returns to greens mid-cycle. Can you explain how you have been feeding her? She dropped a lot early on but then she stabilized very nicely today.

Have you considered using an automated feeder to dispense the p.m. snacks? Neither of you would have to stay up. As for pulling the food two hours prior to the morning shot, if the autofeeder closes up at a certain time (or of you are certain the snacks will be eaten) then don’t wake up early to take up all the food.
No idea about the high AMBG reading. Everything has been on time. Same ol' same ol'. EXCEPT, when I went in to pull the food at 5am, she had just been walking away from it. Most other mornings she eats earlier I think. That's the only thing I can think of.

Generally, the last 3 days has been 7-8% carb snacks til noon (approx 0, +1, +2, maybe +3.5), then switch to <5% carb for the +6 to +12 time. We have had some hiccups cuz two of us are feeding her, mixing food, leftovers, getting confused what is what. But generally, that's the schedule. Specifics are in the Remarks column on the Sugar Sheet..

She doesnt eat unless we lock her in the mudroom with food or we bring her to the food. She just meows at us when she is hungry, it can be noon or 2am or whenever. If we aren't home, she basically doesn't eat. But one of us is usually home. We haven't been away from the house for more than a few hours since the diagnosis.

An autofeeder might work if we lock her in the mudroom all night, but we dont want to do that cuz it stresses her out every so often, we just dont know when she will flip out. It's still on the table but we are holding out, trying different schedules and sleep times.

So at this point BG is <200 so no shot. We will test again in 20 min. It was 153. (It was 125 at 1.75 hrs prior to the PMPS.)

Edit: It went from BG 153 to 237 in 40 min. We gave her the 1.25 units of PZ 30 min after her normal shot time. She ate again preshot. We will test again and enter it in the spreadsheet.

Btw, how does one enter BG values that are taken within the same hour? I deleted the 153 and entered the 237 for the PMPS. where do i record the BG of 153, taken 40 minutes prior to the PMPS reading?

PS Thanks for checking in.
 
Last edited:
The don’t shoot under 200 rule is for new people. The thing to do is to post for help and guidance when you first start getting AMPS and PMPS under 200. Gradually we will lower the threshold for skipping the shot.

You are on Pacific time and I am on Eastern time, I believe. What is your shot time?
 
I need to look carefully at her spreadsheet and try to give some guidance to help you. Got to go out and feed some feral colonies now.
 
An autofeeder might work if we lock her in the mudroom all night, but we dont want to do that cuz it stresses her out
No. I certainly don’t want poor Skippy locked away all night. 😢 I was just trying to think of something that would help you out and make it less onerous on all of you.


then switch to <5% carb for the +6 to +12 time.
Does she need to eat anything between +6 and +10. Food should be gone by +10 anyway, but I really don’t recommend feeding after nadir because it will just raise BG when the action of the insulin is waning. The exception to this is a small lowest carb treat if you are testing her BG.
 
No. I certainly don’t want poor Skippy locked away all night. 😢 I was just trying to think of something that would help you out and make it less onerous on all of you.



Does she need to eat anything between +6 and +10. Food should be gone by +10 anyway, but I really don’t recommend feeding after nadir because it will just raise BG when the action of the insulin is waning. The exception to this is a small lowest carb treat if you are testing her BG.
She sometimes needs to eat after nadir... But this is based on the 2 weeks we have been testing. I feel with a more regulated BG, she is not as manic. Unfortunately she is used to 1T dry food at a time; we did this for years to prevent her from puking. In the past she would have 2-3 days where she could not keep anything down. Labs came back normal according to the vets. So we just dealt with it. We thought with the hyperthyroid diagnosis that would be the answer, but the methadazole (sp?) didn't fix the puking. Now with insulin, the random bouts of puking are gone. She still pukes, but it's when she is manic and prolly ate too fast.

So to answer your question, we will not feed after +6 and see how she deals with it. If we need to feed her (cuz manic cat = hard to get BG reading), it will be 1T of the Tiki 0.75% carb pate.
 
Last edited:
How is everything going?
Ugh, i dunno. The numbers stay high during one cycle, then dip the next. She has been having more manic food episodes. My gut says that maybe the thyroid isnt being controlled. ??? The last lab had it as within normal range but higher than "they" would like for a medicated cat.

We tried to get readings thru out the night but when she is acting like a strung out meth addict, we can't get blood. She threw up last night between 12:30 and 1am, so i re-fed her at 1:30am and she kept it down, then relaxed and fell asleep til 5am.
 
Last edited:
@Suzanne & Darcy - Good Sunday. I was wondering if you can look at Skippy's sheet. We did a curve last night, and it was a little unexpected. Her numbers mid-cycle stayed higher than I thought, which might be good ?? One thing we changed two weeks ago is adding a 1/4 tab to her morning methimazole ("meth") (exact day in comments on sugar sheet). So now she is getting 3/4 in the AM one hour after her insulin, and 1/2 tab in the PM after her insulin (1 whole tab is 5mg). We thought we saw a change initially due to the added meth, but it's like any positive change reverted back to what we have been seeing previous to the meth dose change (300+ PS dipping down to the 50-100 range for nadir). We performed the curve last night for 2 reasons - 1) we needed more data overall, and 2) to make sure that if we increased the meth in the evening that she wouldn't go hypo. Her last labs showed her thyroid was higher than what we want to see for a diabetic cat, but still in the "normal" range for a cat. As for her behavior with the added meth, not much change; she is not sleeping more or anything.

Would you say she is still bouncing?

Do you think we should change anything? I was *hoping* we could increase the meth so the morning and evening doses are the same (3/4 tab), and then redo a curve in a couple weeks. At that point, decide what do to about the insulin dose. What do you think?
 
It’s good to hear from you! I have been wondering how Skippy was doing.

About hyperthyroidism, I highly recommend the groups.io group called Feline Thyroid Management. The owner of that group is extremely knowledgeable on feline hyperthyroidism.
 
Last edited:
It is very hard to interpret the spreadsheet because there are so many days and nights where there are no tests, but I can see that she is already seeing low greens on the 1.25 unit dose so you don’t have any room to increase right now.
 
I was actually wondering if we decreased the dose to 1U, if we would get rid of the huge variation (300+ down to 50)... Would it be better to have a flatter curve even if the lows only dip to 100-150? And would decreasing the dose do that?

We aren't making any changes now since we just increased the Meth by a 1/4 tab at night (last night was the first night). We will do another curve in 10-14 days.

Thanks for the hyperthryroidism group info.
 
@Suzanne & Darcy Hi again- Do you have any advice on dosing? We continued the 1.25U, but we are seeing the effects of the PZ last past 12 hours pretty regularly now, at least more than we are comfortable with. The <200 AMPS readings are especially problematic in the mornings when my hubbie has to get to work.

We shot Skippy with 1U a couple days ago, but she just stayed in the yellows all day. Prior to that, we shot her with 1U when she was <200 PS, and then her nadir was around +3 and her BG shot up to 400+ before the next shot. 🤷

We are currently waiting a half hour to see what her BG gets up to. Is there any hope of her numbers being more consistent? Is 1.25U too much if she isnt getting up to 200 BG after 12 hours? But 1U seems too low since she doesnt seem to respond to it much. Thoughts?
 
Hi. Her dosing is kind of inconsistent. I don’t understand a 1.1 unit dose either. I’m not sure how you are measuring that. Let me look again at her spreadsheet and see if I can notice anything else. OBTW, sorry for the delay in replying. I was out of town.
 
I don’t understand why she received a reduced dose this morning. She was in the mid-300s. Clearly that was not enough insulin for her. I am just trying to make sense of what I am seeing on the spreadsheet.
 
She’s been having some really good cycles that you’ve documented periodically. Fortunately, I do not see any dangerous drops or low greens below 50. Many times, if you jockey the dose around too frequently you het very unpredictable numbers. Generally it’s best to shoot a consistent dose unless her pre-shot number is quite low.
 
Her 1.25U doses have not been clearing before the next cycle. (We adjusted her meth for hyperthyroid on Mar 29, and that's when we started seeing the BG stay lower towards the end of the cycle. Looking back at the data prior to Apr 2 or 3 is pre-dose-adjustment and may not predict what her body will do now.)

She has been <200 preshot a few times since Apr 2. We typically cant wait an hour+ to shoot, esp in the morning with my hubby working. And at night we stayed up with her one night when the PS was <200 and we gave her 0.5U. But then it happened the next night, so we just didnt dose her.

Look at Apr 3; she was at 66 at +3.5 in the PM; her nadir is typically later than that so that got us thinking about the dosage.

The 1.1U on Apr 8 was a screw up on my part. We were both exhausted from being up multiple times with her the night before so we weren't thinking straight. We should have skipped the dose. That was another cycle she didnt get over 200 preshot. We ended up testing her every hour and giving her high carb wet food til we saw her numbers going up for a few hours. It was a stressful night.

1.0U might be too low, but we haven't tried it for a week. Is there any chance she will get in the blues with 1.0? So far it seems unlikely. 1.25U gets her in the greens but it just lasts too long. So where do we go from here?

Just a few days ago we are finally seeing fewer urine clumps in her cat box since starting ProZinc (5-6 small clumps instead of 9-10 huge one).

So what do we do about her <200 BG preshot cycles? We want to be consistent, but doing 1.25U one cycle, then having to skip a dose the next doesnt seem great either. But if that's preferable to trying 1.0U for one week, then thats what we'll do.
 
Skippy was 130 this morning AMPS. That was with 1U last night :( (And of course we are all supposed to leave in a half hour.)

130@12
145@12.5
My hubby will test her again in a half hour. He will be staying home.
 
Last edited:
tested again after a half hour. 154@13
BG has gone up 24 points in an hour. not sure if that rise is enough to justify a token dose or if we should skip altogether. thoughts?
 
Sorry I was out of town all day Saturday. Catching up.

Looking back on Saturday… she could have received the 1 unit dose when she was at 154. She was on her way up in BG, which you documented, and it would have been a good opportunity to shoot a mid-blue and get some testing done to see how she did. You would use that information to make dosing decisions the next time she’s in mid-blue. As it was, waiting until she was in yellow was waiting too long to give the insulin and her numbers were not as good as they could have been. I see y’all were supposed to be going out on Saturday though, so I would not have recommended shooting your first blue unless someone was going to be around for at least the first half of the cycle. Eventually, our goal is to shoot blues and even (eventually greens if she does really well.) I posted on your other thread as well. I hope Skippy will be feeling well today!
 
If her body dumps glucagon (or whatever her pancreas does) to keep her from going too low, how long does it take to bring her numbers up? I was thinking that when she got into the 60's that it might be too low for her and her body might be compensating with glucagon, thinking she is going too low.

I don't have many data points for when she has been in the greens, esp 60. But like on Apr 7 after the AM shot, BG didn't increase dramatically after her greens, which is great. So I wonder what is going on overnight that BG often (it seems) gets >300 by AMPS. Thoughts?
 
A bounce is where the cat's body reacts to lower numbers that she is not used to being in anymore... since becoming diabetic. It's a protective mechanism where the cat's central nervous system perceives either a steep drop in blood glucose or simply the cat being in lower numbers - and releases adrenaline, cortisol, glucagons and growth hormone, all of which create insulin resistance and can keep numbers high for up to six cycles (the bounce). Bounces don't have to last that long, but in some cats they will. Over time, many cats will start to clear the bounces more quickly. When the bounce does clear, the BG numbers will come back down and give us an accurate picture of what a dose is doing for the cat.
 
don't have many data points for when she has been in the greens, esp 60. But like on Apr 7 after the AM shot, BG didn't increase dramatically after her greens, which is great. So I wonder what is going on overnight that BG often (it seems) gets >300 by AMPS. Thoughts?
A lot of the time when this happens it is just the insulin has worn off and her numbers go higher. If the numbers stay high for a cycle or more then it’s most likely a bounce. Bounces can take a while after the low numbers to begin — it really depends upon the cat — some cats shoot up in BG very quickly after a lower number and some take a cycle to go higher after a lower number— and the bounce does not have to last very long (although in some cats they can last for six cycles!)
 
Back
Top