Money help

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lizzey and Errol

Member Since 2017
Does anyone know if there is any organization or charity programs that will help donate to a very low income cat mom that needs help paying for her furbaby? They are keeping Errol at the vet until his levels regulate and it's going on day 5 now and it's getting expensive He is worth every penny to me.
 
It sometimes takes literally months to regulate a cat. Took my cat three months. Bring him home.
 
Last edited:
My vet is wonderful but they aren't always there keeping a watch on him and I think that's why his levels keep going up. I think if he came home I could take care of him and get him to where he needs to be but every time I call my vet they never give me more information. I've been waiting all day to hear from my vet and they haven't called me back. I just want my baby to come home.
 
My vet is wonderful but they aren't always there keeping a watch on him and I think that's why his levels keep going up. I think if he came home I could take care of him and get him to where he needs to be but every time I call my vet they never give me more information. I've been waiting all day to hear from my vet and they haven't called me back. I just want my baby to come home.
Yeah I think id go and get him.
 
How long are they going to keep him and keep racking up charges. So not necessary. They aren't doing anything for her you can't do. Did you get a meter.
 
I'm going to go in tomorrow and see what is going on. Calling them isn't doing the trick. I have not gotten a meter yet. Can I go to Walmart or a drug store and pick one up? My vet hasn't given me enough information on what I need to get before bringing him home.
 
Can I go to Walmart or a drug store and pick one up?

YES!!

The Relion Confirm or Micro are favorites here....they take the tiniest sample size and the strips are affordable ($35.88/100)

Also, pick up some "Alternate site testing" lancets...usually 25-28 gauge.....the ones that come with the kits and devices are 33 gauge which are too small for new ears. You want the ones that poke a little bigger "hole" at first and the lower the gauge, the bigger the "hole"

Some cotton cosmetic pads are also great....you can put it against the ear to protect your finger from getting poked, and then fold it over after the poke to apply pressure and prevent bruising to the ear.

Neosporin with pain relief ointment (not cream) is also good to have around to help heal the little pokes on the ear

While you're there, get some Urine Ketone strips....it will be important to keep testing him for ketones at home . Here are some Urine Testing Tips
 
Agree! You can go get your kitty and start treating him at home. There's no need to leave him there. As was said above, getting a kitty properly regulated can take months. While you're waiting why not go do some reading about the type of insulin you'll be using, how to test blood glucose and how to set up the spreadsheet we use here. It's an excellent tracking tool viewable by all members and is the first thing we look at when you have question. :)
 
Definitely don't let them keep him to get him regulated. It's probably not happening in a week and he's probably stressed out there and wants to come home too :bighug:. Use that money for his testing supplies. As for lack of desire to update you while they're keeping your baby, I'd push to find out if they're not telling you something. Might just be my suspicious demeanor but if it really is just for his diabetes, no ketones or hypo event, he doesn't need to stay there. Let us know what dose and insulin he's on when you pick him up.

Actually, you can setup your Signature with that information :smuggrin:: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/editing-your-signature-profile-and-preferences.130340/
And here is the Spreadsheet template for home testing, just need a Google account and we can help if you need: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/fdmb-spreadsheet-instructions.130337/
Understanding the SS and how to use it: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/understanding-the-spreadsheet-grid.156606/
And lastly, I like to give this to new members because it's better to be prepared but I hope you never need it: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-treat-hypos-they-can-kill-print-this-out.15887/
 
My Smokey was long term diabetic 6+ yrs. He was never regulated, but got him to stay under 350 most of the time.

I'd go in and ask (maybe demand) they discharge kitty. Make sure you get copies of all the records. Someone here should be able to interpret what they have been doing. If it's not a 24/7 vet then no one is monitoring at night. If home, you can.
 
Thank you all for your advice. I took Errol in on Friday morning for his normal kidney check up and that was when I found out he had diabetes and pancreatitis. His glucose level was 680 and with the shock I thought it would be best to have him hospitalized because I had hopes that come Monday he would be all better and able to come home. Friday afternoon the vet called to let me know that they did an ultrasound and found nothing and that his glucose was down to 180 and had told me to give them a call over the weekend to check in on him. When I called Saturday morning he was back in the 600s. Called Sunday morning and it was the same thing. When I called this morning he was in the 500s and when I called back this afternoon they were still trying to get him regulated. Now I'm still very new to all of this but it seems to me that if he was being watched like he should have been at the vets his level shouldn't have gone back up that much, right? That is what has been frustrating me so much. I will be going in tomorrow and demanding to know everything they have been doing to him while he has been there and demanding to know why he is still there and why I can't take him home where he will be monitored and loved 24/7. I am really trying hard to not get upset at my vet because they are absolutely wonderful and the best vet I have ever had but this whole situation is stressing me out and I just want to have my furbaby back home where he belongs.
 
his glucose was down to 180 and had told me to give them a call over the weekend to check in on him. When I called Saturday morning he was back in the 600s.

This isn't unusual for a newly diagnosed cat.....we call it "bouncing"....Errol's body has gotten used to living in those higher numbers, so when you give insulin and he drops down into lower ones, his body thinks there's something wrong and his liver releases stored sugars and hormones to bring him back up. The only thing that you can do is keep getting him into better numbers and hope his body re-learns that it's OK to be there!

Bounces are also caused by dropping too low (like below 50 on a human meter) or dropping quickly (like dropping 150 points in 2-3 hours)

Your vet may be more familiar with the phrase "Somogyi effect" (which has never really been proven, but that's another story)

Bring him home....We can teach you what you need to know and by getting enough tests in, we'll be able to tell you if he's bouncing or what's going on

Do you know what kind of insulin they're going to send him home on?
 
Lizzey, that's make more sense. The 180 they got probably caused the higher number on Saturday, it's what is called a bounce. Errol is use to high numbers and a lower number will kick his system to release glycogen to keep him safe because it was perceived as a threat. My Smokey would bounce if he had a number in the 300's. It takes time to get his body use to lower numbers. Most kitties do bounce. One caution is that vets don't seem to understand this and start giving more insulin because they only understand the number is to high. You need to give a dose consistently for a few days to see how it does before raising. Vets also raise doses to fast and by whole units in which you could by pass the optimal dose you really need. I strongly urge you pick up a meter and begin testing the day he comes home. You might want to mention dose here to see if it's to high or not.
 
Thank you all for your advice. I took Errol in on Friday morning for his normal kidney check up and that was when I found out he had diabetes and pancreatitis. His glucose level was 680 and with the shock I thought it would be best to have him hospitalized because I had hopes that come Monday he would be all better and able to come home. Friday afternoon the vet called to let me know that they did an ultrasound and found nothing and that his glucose was down to 180 and had told me to give them a call over the weekend to check in on him. When I called Saturday morning he was back in the 600s. Called Sunday morning and it was the same thing. When I called this morning he was in the 500s and when I called back this afternoon they were still trying to get him regulated. Now I'm still very new to all of this but it seems to me that if he was being watched like he should have been at the vets his level shouldn't have gone back up that much, right? That is what has been frustrating me so much. I will be going in tomorrow and demanding to know everything they have been doing to him while he has been there and demanding to know why he is still there and why I can't take him home where he will be monitored and loved 24/7. I am really trying hard to not get upset at my vet because they are absolutely wonderful and the best vet I have ever had but this whole situation is stressing me out and I just want to have my furbaby back home where he belongs.
If he also had pancratitis they may have wanted him on fluids... But the bg levels can be treated at home. As the others said, the fluctuations are from bouncing. They just need to pull back on the dose and let the numbers settle.
 
We can help you with dosing at home. Is his attack of pancreatitis settling down? There are many here who are very knowledgeable about that too.
 
Even his pancreatitis can be cared for at home. I just went through a mild flare with my boy. You'll want to have Cerenia, Buprenorphine, and possibly an appetite stimulant. I was given Mirtazapine but there have been a few kitties who act "funny" on it. Managing nausea and pain are the big things in treating pancreatitis. If he needs some extra SubQ fluids, those can be done at home too. :bighug:
 
Like I said, my vet has only been telling me about his levels and nothing else. I will be going into today and talking directly to my vet to find out everything and hopefully bring him home. I have no idea what kind of insulin he will be sent home with but as soon as I find out I will let you all know. What is the best way to care for his bouncing?
 
Like I said, my vet has only been telling me about his levels and nothing else. I will be going into today and talking directly to my vet to find out everything and hopefully bring him home. I have no idea what kind of insulin he will be sent home with but as soon as I find out I will let you all know. What is the best way to care for his bouncing?
If a cat is bouncy we say to reduce the dose a little. Bounces usually happen if the drop is more than 50% of the preshot.

Here's a hypothetical :

So say the preshot is 300, you give 2 units, and he goes down to 100... Then bounces back up to 400 for the pmps... We know that while 100 is not hypo and is safe, it's causing him to bounce higher in the pm. The cats pancreas panicked because it's not used to the low numbers and released its own stored insulin over compensating.

But if you lower the dose to 1.5 and the preshot is 300, and it takes him down to 180, then back up to 280.... That dose is working and you could hold it for a while to see if we can keep getting the preshot to lower. Once the preshots are lower we can work toward a lower nadir (lowest point in the cycle). As long as a cat is bouncing it's hard to get those preshots to lower. They tend to bounce less once they are used to being in those lower ranges Make sense?
 
Is there a chart that will help me determine the difference between the numbers on a human meter and the numbers on a pet meter?
 
Is there a chart that will help me determine the difference between the numbers on a human meter and the numbers on a pet meter?
There's no conversion chart. Basically the human meter will read lower than the pet meter but that difference will be quite small at low BGs (where it's more important) and larger at high BGs.
 
Lizzey, don't worry about numbers between pet or human meters. You will make your self crazy. I've used both. Started with the pet but after a year and amount I used, the cost for strips won out so switched to human meter.

One thing that helped me, and I can only say this for myself. I looked at the color range of the spreadsheet that is used here. Once filled in, I printed it out in color every 2 weeks. Seeing it in color in front of me really gave me the picture of what was going on over a months time.

Once you get your baby home, help is here 24/7. Use us.
 
Thank you everyone! I went in and spoke with my vet today. His levels are down to 300's and I get to bring him home tomorrow! They have been giving him 9 units at morning and night and he is on lantus insulin. My vet also gave me a meter to check him on, some needles and extra testing strips. Where is the cheapest place to buy needles? They only gave me 10 needles and I know I'm going to need a lot more but I'm in desperate need for cheaper options!
 
Holy cow that's a lot of insulin. Being lantus, it hasn't had time to build the depot yet. I'm so worried about you giving that much.

@Kris & Teasel, @Chris & China, @MrWorfMen's Mom, @Tuxedo Mom can you chime in here.

What kind of meter did they give you? What kind of needles are you asking about, syringes or lancets?

Make sure you have your hypo kit stocked: plenty of strips, karo or pure maple syrup in the house. Pick up cat food that has gravy. A small bag of hard kibble treats (not best thing but sometimes you need it.

Am I missing anything?
 
Thank you everyone! I went in and spoke with my vet today. His levels are down to 300's and I get to bring him home tomorrow! They have been giving him 9 units at morning and night and he is on lantus insulin. My vet also gave me a meter to check him on, some needles and extra testing strips. Where is the cheapest place to buy needles? They only gave me 10 needles and I know I'm going to need a lot more but I'm in desperate need for cheaper options!


The only point I am going to cover is the dose amount. That is WAY too high for a kitty only diagnosed less than a week ago. The usual starting dose for Lantus is 1 unit twice a day. From there regular monitoring both preshot and mid cycle will show ..over time...whether dose increases are needed. Lantus increases are done in 1/4 unit increments. Did the vet give you U100 syringes with the orange cap?


ETA PLEASE DO NOT GIVE THAT DOSE...IT IS FAR TOO HIGH AND COULD CAUSE A SERIOUS OR EVEN FATAL HYPO

ETA Was your kitty ever diagnosed with DKA (diabetic ketoacidosis)??
 
Last edited:
The only point I am going to cover is the dose amount. That is WAY to high for a kitty only diagnosed less than a week ago. The usual starting dose for Lantus is 1 unit twice a day. From there regular monitoring both preshot and mid cycle will show ..over time...whether dose increases are needed. Lantus increases are done in 1/4 unit increments. Did the vet give you U100 syringes with the orange cap?


ETA PLEASE DO NOT GIVE THAT DOSE...IT IS FAR TOO HIGH AND COULD CAUSE A SERIOUS OR EVEN FATAL HYPO

ETA Was your kitty ever diagnosed with DKA (diabetic ketoacidosis)??
What the duck is with the vets this week and their crazy doses.
 
The only point I am going to cover is the dose amount. That is WAY too high for a kitty only diagnosed less than a week ago. The usual starting dose for Lantus is 1 unit twice a day. From there regular monitoring both preshot and mid cycle will show ..over time...whether dose increases are needed. Lantus increases are done in 1/4 unit increments. Did the vet give you U100 syringes with the orange cap?


ETA PLEASE DO NOT GIVE THAT DOSE...IT IS FAR TOO HIGH AND COULD CAUSE A SERIOUS OR EVEN FATAL HYPO

ETA Was your kitty ever diagnosed with DKA (diabetic ketoacidosis)??

What about tonight, the vet will be giving it. Depot has filled now. ???????????? :nailbiting:
 
What about tonight, the vet will be giving it. Depot has filled now. ???????????? :nailbiting:


DAMN!! You're right. I would call the vet and inquire WHY the dose is so high and whether someone will be there all night to watch her in case she goes into a hypo. Ideally I would request that they not give that high a dose, but for someone new to FD that can be overwhelming to argue with the vet.

Some basic info:

"• Rx Glargine = “Lantus”: This acid pH insulin precipitates in the neutral pH of the body and is absorbed slowly. The initial dose is 1 to 2 IU/cat twice a day. It lasts 12 to 18 hours. The bottles are 10 ml and fairly expensive."

http://ivcjournal.com/feline-diabetes-mellitus/
 
Testing supplies are ready to go for when he gets home. I'm assuming they were giving him that much to bring his levels down? I'm not sure but if that's how much they want me to give him I will be disputing it because it seems like way too much. And yes they are the U100 syringes with the orange caps. I would like to know where i can buy them for cheap.
 
Testing supplies are ready to go for when he gets home. I'm assuming they were giving him that much to bring his levels down? I'm not sure but if that's how much they want me to give him I will be disputing it because it seems like way too much. And yes they are the U100 syringes with the orange caps. I would like to know where i can buy them for cheap.


With very high levels they use a different sort of insulin...a rapid acting insulin...to bring levels down and then use an insulin like Lantus to keep the levels flatter. Lantus is NOT used with emergency situations or very high numbers since it is a long acting insulin and is not appropriate for fast responses to high numbers.

The U100 syringes with the orange cap are the correct ones for Lantus. I can't remember if you are in the US. In the US many states require a prescription for syringes. Your vet can give you the prescription and you can buy them at your local pharmacy. In Canada there is no prescription required
 
I agree with what's been said. A dose of 9 units is FAR TOO HIGH. It doesn't matter if BG is 1000 you wouldn't start at that dose. I sure hope he hasn't been given that dose at the vet clinic.

There's very little relationship between the BG number and what dose is needed to bring it down. That's not the way insulin works. It depends on a cat's sensitivity to insulin, other health issues that might be part of the picture, how long the cat has been on insulin, etc.
 
Last edited:
@Tuxedo Mom i believe they were giving him fast acting insulin because his levels were so high. I don't think they would tell me to give him 9 units with lantus.

Rapid acting insulin is given in much smaller doses than long acting insulin. Glucose levels are monitored and if the kitty goes too low, then IV glucose is given. If the levels don't drop enough then more rapid acting insulin is given a few hours later. 9 units of "R" insulin would be an unheard of amount to give, since it can drop glucose levels very rapidly.


ETA For anyone following this DO NOT ATTEMPT TO USE "R" INSULIN AT HOME without the advice and support of very experienced users.
 
I would like to know where i can buy them for cheap.

If you're in the US, WalMart has their Relion brand 3/10ml, 30 or 31 gauge, 8mm insulin syringes for $12.58/100....and they have half unit markings which really helps when you're giving smaller doses (although a lot of them don't seem to know that they have half unit markings, so don't worry if they say they don't....ALL their 3/10ml Relion syringes come with them)
 
Regardless of which insulin it is, unless there is a confirmed high dose condition, it's to much.

So for syringes, you can pick them up in Wal-Mart. Get the U100 syringes with half mark. Here is a site for the size to ask for in Wal-Mart. I couldn't pull up the Wal-Mart brand. Make sure you check the box and it states 1/2 u marks. A lot of the people behind counter don't know they even have them. This will get you started, then you have time to shop around.

https://www.adwdiabetes.com/product/18547/ultiguard-u100-pet-31g-3-10cc-8mm-half-unit
 
Just in case, these are the syringes you want from WalMart....and it doesn't really matter if they're 30 or 31 gauge

relion insulin syringes.PNG
 
You've got the best advice from everyone already so all I can say is ditto! 9 units of Lantus is way too high! I too wonder what is up with all the vets overdosing these days! :nailbiting:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top