Mona Amps-189, +1-223, +6-75, +6.5-113, PMPS-178 STALLING!

Status
Not open for further replies.

atajev

Member Since 2014
Stalling, but I'm out of test strips because my husband needed to use a ton to test her mid-cycle today (which was worth it since she was hypo!!). We won't have more strips until Friday (order got delayed in the mail and we have an Alphatrak), and she just tested low before her pm shot. What should I do? Partial dose (she got .75 this am)? No shot until we get more test strips in 36+ hours?
 
Re: Mona Amps-189, +1-223, +6-75, +6.5-113, PMPS-178 STALLIN

I waited a little over an hour and gave her .5u. Based on what her pattern has been this week, that seemed Ike the best call to me. I'll just have to watch her closely for the next couple days until we can test again. :(

It's so weird to think that I was shooting blind just over a week ago and thought nothing of it! Now the thought of not testing before a shot freaks me out.
 
Re: Mona Amps-189, +1-223, +6-75, +6.5-113, PMPS-178 STALLIN

I like that you went to .5. I would stay with that dose and watch closely, since you have no test strips. Alternately, will the vet sell you a few?
 
Re: Mona Amps-189, +1-223, +6-75, +6.5-113, PMPS-178 STALLIN

I see you have a Relion meter coming but a back up is usually a good idea. What other human meters are available locally? While it won't help right nowif you can get strips for a Bayer Contour or a One Touch Mini I can send you either I have 7 meters here and only use 2

If you have a Walmart close then picking up a cheapy Relion Prime and strips to go with it is a good option for a back up meter as well.

Agreeing with Linda hold her at .5 Just an fyi my OTJ boy went off insulin in two weeks with just a diet change. He's been insulin free for nearly 4 years.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: Mona Amps-189, +1-223, +6-75, +6.5-113, PMPS-178 STALLIN

Thank you so much, ladies! And it's so great to hear about someone who went OTJ so quickly. I know it's too soon to really know/hope, but she's dipping back into hypo territory again so quickly with each decrease I'm really hopeful!

I think I'm going to need to wait for the mailman for the strips. They're scheduled to arrive tomorrow mid-day, plus I just found 2, so I'll try to get an amps and nadir one today, but then they'll be gone.

I live way out in the boonies (it's 30 minutes to the closest store of ANY kind!), and we don't have a Walmart closer than 2 hours or so. I'm home with the toddler and infant today, too (I was hoping to do a full curve, argh!), so no shopping for me.

After the new meter arrives I'll have that for my daily testing and the Alphatrak as my back-up.
 
Re: Mona Amps-189, +1-223, +6-75, +6.5-113, PMPS-178 STALLIN

Waving hello to another boonie liver. Lol. Not quite in the middle of nowhere but you can see it from here lol. But when you've chased cattle out of your garden and returned a couple stray horses or had a possum in the dryer vent you know your in the sticks lol.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: Mona Amps-189, +1-223, +6-75, +6.5-113, PMPS-178 STALLIN

Ha, too funny. My toddler likes to tell visitors where the skunks and bobcats live when we go near their dens, and which plants are okay to eat and which ones will hurt you (cacti and poison oak). She's also especially fond of finding animal poop and asking what kind of animal made it (usually deer or skunk/fox/raccoon - I can't tell the difference between the carnivore ones). People think that's crazy, but it's just everyday life around here!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top