MOM-MOM IS HIGH. HOW MUCH ??????

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mom-Mom

Member Since 2014
Yesterday was a nightmare for me because mom-mom's BG was all over the map. Things are back to being "hi" again.(Well in the morning anyway). I usually test right before she eats in the a.m, is that right? I have never shot AFTER she ate. I haven't shot yet because I am on 8-8 schedule. Should I test again AFTER she eats too?????? She got in her shot a 1 last night. What should I give her this morning?
 
Hi Laura.

After getting the test of 25 (which is very scary and dangerous), it was advised to cut the dose to 0.25.
Don't worry about the high numbers, she is just bouncing from that very low reading. Her liver has put out stored glucose that is meant to save her when she goes too low. Her liver just did it's job. The bounce will clear eventually, and you do not want her going into the 20s again.

I will try to find a picture of a 0.25 dose for you.
 
025unit-1.jpg
 
That seems like hardly nothing, are you sure? If you are right then, I was giving her wayyyyyy to much. This one guy on another feline diabetes site (Ken S) told me to give her 2.5 when she was only at 113. I told him "NO WAY". He told me to never email or call him again because I didn't take his advice. He never even asked me how much the cat weighed, or any questions at all about the cat. So for about a week and a half she was at 2. He referred me to this site and said "these people have no clue, there you van do whatever you want cause no-one knows anything". I am SOOOOOO glad I listened to him that time. He was probably an animal hater. She was really acting bizarre too SO HE TOLD ME TO RAISE IT. This is why I am all confused. I am so happy to meet soooo many people all on one site who all genuinely care about, even a total stranger. I was truly blessed. I finally have hope to beat this thing
 
Laura

There are other diabetes forums out there and you do have to be careful. I know it's hard to know which one has people who know what they are doing. I can only tell you that the Lantus Tight Regulation Insulin Support Group within this forum follows the only protocol for Lantus based on scientific research published in a recognized feline scientific journal. Are there other approaches to managing insulin? yes. But the TR protocol is the sole one based on scientific research.

And this forum has helped hundreds of members get their cats into remission. Sadly, some kitties have crossed the bridge due to hypoglycemia because their caregivers either had not been hometesting and they found us too late or they didn't listen to the advice given. It is always safer to lower the dose when you don't have supplies and also if you need the time to figure out what is going on.

I hope you dropped her dose way back this morning. Once the effects of the liver releasing the extra glucose clear, we can see where she is but that could take up to six (or possibly more) cycles.
 
Laura

You have a private message from me to help get you some test strips. Look in the upper left side of the screen, next to control panel.
 
She started out hi, went to 285 at 11:30, then 374 at 3:00, now shes 436 at 6pm. She doesn't get her shot until 8pm. Should I still go down to 0.25????
 
YES.

Lantus has a cumulative effect. It builds up over time. You have to be cautious and patient.
 
I was looking really close at the syringe and I use 3/10cc,1/2", 30 Gauge needles. Am I using the wrong ones?
 
Those are the correct needles for use with the tiny doses our diabetic cats need. Some of the 3/10 cc syringes have 1/2 unit markings on the barrel. It makes it easier to measure the 0.5U and 0.25U doses.
 
I am so happy to have all of you supporters. I took the advice and shot 0.25 and she went from hi to 426 at 7:30 to 126 at 9:45/ Thanks to all of you I have some hope
 
Mom-mom has been lowered to 0.25 and she is dropping fast. she went from 129 to 75 in an hour.
 
Absolultely positively LISTEN TO THESE GUYS! I am SO thankful that I found this board in time for my Tinker Boy. My vet did not have a good understanding of feline diabetes OR of insulin dosing. He didn't want me home testing either. I'M SO GLAD I FOUND THIS BOARD! Everyone here is knowledgable because they're LIVING IT right along with us. The rules of the board make it hard to get bad info - we're not supposed to give dosing advice and such in a private message - only on the forum, so it can be scrutinized by others. Everyone gives their opinion (which generally leads you to the same answer), but I doubt if anyone here would ever put you down like that for doubting them, like that other guy did. They would more likely back up their opinion with some facts and explain WHY they're telling you to do that. Not just say to never ask them anything again. That in itself is a red flag that this guy doesn't know what he's talking about.

Anyway... when I came here, my Tink was in the hospital. Once he came home, we were still seeing numbers in the 400's and 300's. But within weeks it was more under control. The .25u dose is REDICULOUSLY TINY... but it WORKS. I felt like I wasn't even giving him anything when I'd shoot that dose... but I was. Sometimes we even have to shoot a DROP. The good folks here will explain that well, if it becomes needed.

Luckily for us, changing to low carb wet food (which my vet also disagreed with) got him under control and we aren't currently using insulin. We still test every couple days, just to keep an eye on things. But I just wanted you to feel confident that you came to the right place. These guys know their stuff!
 
Thank you so much for that I needed that. I am just concerned she was dropping too fast. She is eating right now and I will recheck in 2 hours. Thanks again. And your right, that guy really didnt know what he was talking about. For all I know he was probably a cat hater. I got into a fight with him because he told me to give her 2.5 and I said no. He directed me to this site and said "ask these people, they havent got a clue" I am sooo glad I listened to him about that. LOL
 
Cant advise you but you might want to edit your post subject line to something like..mom mom 56 now need advice. Just hit the edit button and erase the subject then write whatever you want. Good luck
 
See the Lantus forum post and respond there.

How many hours has it been since the shoot? Lantus hits its nadir - the lowest glucose between shots - between +5 to +7 hours after the shot.

ETA this is at +2

Our routine for monitoring numbers around 50 mg/dL during or before the likely nadir is to steer with food.
This means to use either high or medium carb food, feed 1 to 2 teaspoons, wait 20-30 minutes and re-test. Then if needed, repeat the process.

Note: I just texted you this, too, since this is urgent.
 
For some reason I could not connect to Lantus group.Mom-mom's dose was regulated to 0.25. I have to shoot right now abd she is 416. should I still stay at 0.25? Please let me know, otherwise I will assume to do the 0.25
 
It did post over there. Looks like the site is having some issues. I'm having trouble too.

Stick with the .25u. She's bouncing. Totally normal.
 
I'm glad its not just me then, or my computer. Lord knows I can NOT handle any more or, afford a new computer. So I have a Dr. appt today at 2:30 because I'm having surgery in May. Hope her numbers get better and stay that way. I guess that's EVERYONE'S wish on this site huh.?
 
Mom-Mom said:
So I have a Dr. appt today at 2:30 because I'm having surgery in May. Hope her numbers get better and stay that way. I guess that's EVERYONE'S wish on this site huh.?

I think Mom-Mom's numbers have every chance of getting much better, Laura. :smile:

Good luck at the Dr's this afternoon.

Eliz
 
Its all in God's hands now. I am more worried about her than myself and I am probably gonna find out at the surgery in May if I have ovarian cancer. I don't even care. I just want her to be better and if something happens to me what happens to her?? My husband says he can handle it in case I have to stay overnight but Im checkin myself out if they do. I have 2 go in because my GYN placed an IUD in 4 1/2 years ago and she did an ultrasound to locate it and saw more than she bargained for.
 
I was never so happpy to be up at 2:30am. I woke up because mom-mom was eating the food I left out for her and then she drank water for 15 minutes. That was about 1:30. Now she has a levels went down from 449. Now I just have to hope I can go back to sleep again. So excited I just had to tel someone.
 
If its not one thing its another. So mom-moms levels are fine and now, her tooth is falling out. She is slobbering from that side. The only thing she will do is drink WARM water. She is no stranger to this, her two top fangs fell out about 3 years ago. Any suggestions ????? Need help with this one too
 
The tooth problem could be what is causing the large swings in BG. I would get the to removed.
Also, the candle icon is reserved for when a kitty passes. Since that has not happened I recommend that you edit the post to remove the candle.
 
Mom-Mom said:
So mom-moms levels are fine and now, her tooth is falling out.

Does she still have the tooth, or has she lost it?
She definitely needs to see a vet.

Bertie lost two teeth. Both broke off.
One had broken just above the gum line and he needed anesthesia to remove the rest of the tooth so it didn't become infected.
The other broke cleanly below the gumline and he just had antibiotics and a painkiller for that. The vet said the gum would grow over it and 'absorb' it.

Really hoping Mom-Mom's tooth problem can be resolved simply.
Keeping fingers crossed.
 
Her first two front fangs (on the top) fell out by themselves but this time I think its a side one. She is slobbering from the side. I called this vet down the street and they want $375.00 and thats just for the vet to looks at her mouth and maybe pull it, then I gotta pay more for the medicane. The vet that she normally goes to is a friend of mine, I think she would have a heart attack if I brang her back there. What am I gonna do? Should I try to wiggle it out for her?
 
What am I gonna do? Mom-mom didnt eat but a TINY bit this morning and she drank ALOT of water. Her bottom teeth in the back hurt her so bad she was slobbering out that side. My pharnacist told me to rub Ambesol on it. I can barely get near her let alone test. Does ANYONE know ANYTHING about a cat's teeth? I need advice like now
I just did a test and she is 125. I think she ate while I was asleep. I cant believe it
 
Mom-mom needs to see a vet! Leaving a broken tooth in can be very painful for her and cause infection. She can also get very sick if she is not eating enough calories. This doesn't sound like something that can be fixed at home.
 
.

DO NOT USE ANBENSOL!!!
I remember asking my vet about it and he said no way= toxic to cats!

If she cannot eat, she absolutely has to go to the vets ASAP.

In addition, anyone who has ever had dental pain knows how horribly painful it is, she needs to get that taken care of.

I had a kitty who had many dental problems and it can do havoc.

I know it''s expensive, but please find a way to get her to a vet. I know you love her and want her to be well. :YMHUG:

.
 
It is very likely that the top port of the tooth is broken off and being retained by the gum. Removal of the root is very likely necessary and that requires a vet and anesthesia.
 
Financial Aid and other Resources

The only humane option is to take her to the vet and have her treated. At a minimum, she needs pain meds and possibly antibiotics while you work out how to pay for the necessary procedures or determine you need to help her pass.

Call around or even visit other vets in your area. Make sure they do dental x-rays pre- and post- procedure, as missing a piece of broken root sets you up for hidden infections and chronic pain, both of which will keep the glucose elevated.
 
Mom - mom has been running high all day. Do you think her dose needs to be adjusted tonight?
 
It may be high due to the dental problems. Getting those bad teeth taken care of will help bring the glucose down.
How have you been doing at arranging for the dental?
 
I dont have any money. And I dont know what to do. I am PRAYING every night that her tooth falls out but I dont think so. She already had her top 2 fangs fall out I mean WTF Its not like the cat eats candy!! I dont know what Im doing wrong? She wont drink water, I have to force it down and she barely is eating.
 
I swear its like she waits for me to post it and then she does the opposite. Now as soon as I posted that she came down off her perch toy where she was sitting and just started drinking water. Maybe I stirred something up this time when I forced some water down. I definitely dot get it
 
If her teeth are falling out, then she has a dental problem that needs to be addressed. If it is, she might come off insulin altogether. Check to see if your vet offers care credit...it can help with the expense.
 
The vet locally told me to look up care credit as well. I didnt complete it though because I didnt have my husbands driver license. That s funny how you said that about her having dental problems and not diabetes because my husband said the exact same thing tonight. Im gonna stay with the then?
 
Mom-Mom said:
I dont have any money. And I dont know what to do. I am PRAYING every night that her tooth falls out but I dont think so. She already had her top 2 fangs fall out I mean WTF Its not like the cat eats candy!! I dont know what Im doing wrong? She wont drink water, I have to force it down and she barely is eating.

Some cats just have dental problems regardless of what they eat or what you do. I have had a few cats like that.

Again, if she is not eating or barely eating, she is going to get very sick, very quickly, and you will have much more wrong than the tooth. This is extremely serious- You can't just hope that tooth falls out. Even if it did, there could still be raging infection.

You HAVE to get her to a vet ASAP. This has already gone on for too long. She is suffering.

Sorry to be so blunt, but she will die if you don't do something. I know you love her, please find a way.


.
 
I posted a link to some financial resources above.

Maybe see if your local humane society can help you out with a referral.

If you can't get anything worked out financially, the only humane option is euthanasia.
 
She is still high. I am going to apply to care credit today. She ate 4 slices of ham and drank a boatload of water. I am hoping this thing fell out last night. I KNOW I still need to get her to the vet. She is playing today and SO FAR it seem ( I pray ) that its gonna be a good day for her despite the numbers, I will let you know how I make out with care credit. Thanks everyone for being "there" again. You guys are great. God Bless. I will stay posted
 
If it has been 3 full days on the same dose and the nadir/nid-cycle numbers are over 150 mg/dL, you may increse 0.25 units.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top