Molly's BG is staying high recently

Status
Not open for further replies.
I really don't like syringes tbh, as my sight isn't great drawing up the dose, even with a magnifying glass , and also have never been shown properly how to use them...
Sue, I can't remember where you live in the UK, but it's possible that someone might live near to you, and may be able to help you to learn to use syringes, if that would help... Just a thought....
.
 
How have you found Caninsulin, have you had good results with it
My own Cat is on vetsulin/canisilun. Since she's been out of remission it's been a little up and down. She showed such promise that first month I thought she would be back into remission quickly.... Then she became a bit insulin resistant, and her arthritis grew worse, and her numbers started climbing. Now what used to take a unit to get her where I want her, it's taking 2-3 units. (For example on 10/14 a preshot of 256 I gave her 1.25 units which got her down to 84. This week she was 229 preshot and needed 3 units to get her into the 80's). But I learned that I can't dose CC based on how he body responded a month ago or two months ago, but only look back the last 5 days or so to know what she needs.

The difference this time around verses Two summers when she went into remission after just 4 months is:

1. Two summers ago she was able to move a bit better. Just like for people who are diabetic, EXERCISE lowers bg. She lays around a lot more since her legs are achy, and I'm not home during the school year to get her moving as much.

2. As a teacher I was home most days so I was able to test constantly and really push her mid cycle down to the 70's and 80's (alphatrak) because I was home to steer if I needed to. She came out of remission just as school was starting

So this week I've been home for Christmas break. I've seen improvement the last 10 days.

1. I've been able to push her lower during the day and tweak the dose... This has helped bring down the preshots. (Knock on wood)

2. I called the vet and got the ok to give her more frequent adequan shots for the arthritis. This means her legs are physically feeling better, and although she's still not running to play (yet) she is in less pain and not limping as much. I even found her in her cat tree 3 times in the last two weeks which she hadn't done since September. I also went back to consistently giving her 1mcg of vitamin b 12 methylcobalamin.... (500mcg twice a day) I don't think she has neuropathy, but it can't hurt, and is supposed to help with energy. I give her one and pop one myself. I could use the energy too. Lol

3. I'm making more time to play with her. Even if she isn't running after the shoelace, laser pointer, or stick, she swats at it and twists to reach it, mini pounces, and it makes her happy and purrs.... Purrs I believe are healing to the mind and body. I'm sad my 10 days home ends after tomorrow.... But I will try continue to make that extra time to play with her and keep her moving. I think people underestimate how effective the exercise component is... Plus it's positive bonding time with your cat.

Cc had made progress this week with extra focused attention.... Hopefully it will continue. But if she backslides I will just adjust my strategy and do the best I can to help her.

So my suggestion to you is don't be afraid to adjust doses as needed. Yes be conservative if you know you won't be able to test, but if a dose isn't getting her where she needs to be, then change what you're doing.

Get your cat moving as much as possible. It will help lower bg, and make her happy. Just like with people, a happy state of mind is very healing.

Take care of any other issues she might have that's making her uncomfortable. Does she need a dental? Arthritis bothering her?

Giving up isn't an option. Well it is, but not a good one.
 
I don't have syringes Janet, also have never been shown how to use them
Then I would either learn how (maybe someone with a vet pen that uses a syringe could make a how to video for her?) or try the dose of 2.5.... When you will be home of course, and Be prepared to steer if needed. But honestly I think she won't get TOO low. Have steering (mid-high carb) on hand just in case.
 
I don't have syringes Janet, also have never been shown how to use them
Don't you have the syringes that have .5 unit increments, Sue..?
Those are fine. All you need to get started is an orange to practice on. :smuggrin:
But if you have difficulty with them then you may find the U100 syringes with a conversion chart easier to use. (They have a narrower barrel than the U40's but more markings to make it easier to measure small doses).
.
 
Don't you have the syringes that have .5 unit increments, Sue..?
Those are fine. All you need to get started is an orange to practice on. :smuggrin:
But if you have difficulty with them then you may find the U100 syringes with a conversion chart easier to use. (They have a narrower barrel than the U40's but more markings to make it easier to measure small doses).
.
Yes I do, but I can't see the in between measurements even with a magnifying glass and good light..
 
I'm in Surrey @Elizabeth and Bertie I don't know of anyone near me in Chertsey, but I can ask my Vet, unless he insists I carry on with the Vetpen
I know you have to draw back once the needle is in in case there's any blood, which I know will be difficult, you see I have weakness in my left hand due to prolapsed discs in my neck, which is why the Vetpen is easier to hold whilst holding Molly so she doesn't try and run off
 
I know you have to draw back once the needle is in in case there's any blood, which I know will be difficult, you see I have weakness in my left hand due to prolapsed discs in my neck, which is why the Vetpen is easier to hold whilst holding Molly so she doesn't try and run off
I have never ever done a draw back in injecting cc. Just pull up a tent of skin stick it in, push the plunger. Easy peasy.
 
My own Cat is on vetsulin/canisilun. Since she's been out of remission it's been a little up and down. She showed such promise that first month I thought she would be back into remission quickly.... Then she became a bit insulin resistant, and her arthritis grew worse, and her numbers started climbing. Now what used to take a unit to get her where I want her, it's taking 2-3 units. (For example on 10/14 a preshot of 256 I gave her 1.25 units which got her down to 84. This week she was 229 preshot and needed 3 units to get her into the 80's). But I learned that I can't dose CC based on how he body responded a month ago or two months ago, but only look back the last 5 days or so to know what she needs.

The difference this time around verses Two summers when she went into remission after just 4 months is:

1. Two summers ago she was able to move a bit better. Just like for people who are diabetic, EXERCISE lowers bg. She lays around a lot more since her legs are achy, and I'm not home during the school year to get her moving as much.

2. As a teacher I was home most days so I was able to test constantly and really push her mid cycle down to the 70's and 80's (alphatrak) because I was home to steer if I needed to. She came out of remission just as school was starting

So this week I've been home for Christmas break. I've seen improvement the last 10 days.

1. I've been able to push her lower during the day and tweak the dose... This has helped bring down the preshots. (Knock on wood)

2. I called the vet and got the ok to give her more frequent adequan shots for the arthritis. This means her legs are physically feeling better, and although she's still not running to play (yet) she is in less pain and not limping as much. I even found her in her cat tree 3 times in the last two weeks which she hadn't done since September. I also went back to consistently giving her 1mcg of vitamin b 12 methylcobalamin.... (500mcg twice a day) I don't think she has neuropathy, but it can't hurt, and is supposed to help with energy. I give her one and pop one myself. I could use the energy too. Lol

3. I'm making more time to play with her. Even if she isn't running after the shoelace, laser pointer, or stick, she swats at it and twists to reach it, mini pounces, and it makes her happy and purrs.... Purrs I believe are healing to the mind and body. I'm sad my 10 days home ends after tomorrow.... But I will try continue to make that extra time to play with her and keep her moving. I think people underestimate how effective the exercise component is... Plus it's positive bonding time with your cat.

Cc had made progress this week with extra focused attention.... Hopefully it will continue. But if she backslides I will just adjust my strategy and do the best I can to help her.

So my suggestion to you is don't be afraid to adjust doses as needed. Yes be conservative if you know you won't be able to test, but if a dose isn't getting her where she needs to be, then change what you're doing.

Get your cat moving as much as possible. It will help lower bg, and make her happy. Just like with people, a happy state of mind is very healing.

Take care of any other issues she might have that's making her uncomfortable. Does she need a dental? Arthritis bothering her?

Giving up isn't an option. Well it is, but not a good one.
I definitely won't give up @JanetNJ ....I'll try and do whatever it takes to help her, providing I can afford it, and able to claim it on her insurance...She had a check up 3 weeks ago, her teeth and gums are fine, no sign of any other problems, apart from the start of cataracts, which may in time need surgery, she's quite active since losing 5lbs excess weight and is now a healthy 4.3 kg ..because of the weight loss and increased activity, I thought it would reflect on her numbers, but it hasn't so far
 
I definitely won't give up @JanetNJ ....I'll try and do whatever it takes to help her, providing I can afford it, and able to claim it on her insurance...She had a check up 3 weeks ago, her teeth and gums are fine, no sign of any other problems, apart from the start of cataracts, which may in time need surgery, she's quite active since losing 5lbs excess weight and is now a healthy 4.3 kg ..because of the weight loss and increased activity, I thought it would reflect on her numbers, but it hasn't so far
Well you control what you can and accept there are things out of your control for which you will just have to go with the flow. All we can do is take our best educated guess and hope it works. Their pancreas sometimes has other ideas.
 
Last edited:
Well you control what you can and accept there are things out of your control for which you will just have to go with the flow. All we can do is take our best educated guess and hope it work. Their pancreas sometimes has other ideas.
Thanks for your advice, much appreciated x
 
I know you have to draw back once the needle is in in case there's any blood
I don't think any of us do this, Sue.... And when (in the early days) I asked my vet about this he said it's not necessary....

I'm in Surrey @Elizabeth and Bertie I don't know of anyone near me in Chertsey
I'm on Cobham/Horsley border, so not very far from you. If you want help figuring out syringes I can visit to try to help you with that.
Or you're welcome to come to my house for a cup of tea and a chat. (I'm 4 mins walk from a train station).
It's entirely up to you. :cat:

Eliz
 
I don't think any of us do this, Sue.... And when (in the early days) I asked my vet about this he said it's not necessary....


I'm on Cobham/Horsley border, so not very far from you. If you want help figuring out syringes I can visit to try to help you with that.
Or you're welcome to come to my house for a cup of tea and a chat. (I'm 4 mins walk from a train station).
It's entirely up to you. :cat:

Eliz
Sorry I've only just seen this, thanks for your kind offer, I'm still using the pen at the moment, but I would take you up on your offer if we end up sing syringes x
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top