Molly

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sheila & Beau GA & Jeddie GA

Very Active Member
Hey, Michele, I read in Vicky's post that you were having trouble with regulating Molly, so I looked over her SS.

One thing that I see is that the 1u after the low of 35 on April 11th was too much of a dose reduction and you lost momentum. Then it looks like the changes afterwards were based on PS numbers and not nadirs.

What I think might have worked better on that next cycle (April 11th PM) was maybe 1.75u - same thing with the morning of the 18th. Giving 50% less insulin was too much of a drop. There are a couple of other times when you finally get a "good" low PS and drop the dose by 50% or more.

I think she is getting too much at 2.25 now, but I remember before you had to sort of break the rebound and then lower - so the next lower PS, try 2u or 1.75 - not 1 or 1.5. I think her best dose is 1.75 or a skinny 2u. If you scan up and down the SS from Feb to now, just looking at colors - the pinks and reds come in at 2.25u and over. The blues and yellow are at 2u and below.

What do others think?

I don't know if this will work to link the SS: http://spreadsheets.google.com/ccc?key= ... 6VWc&hl=en

Here is a link to the post of Vicky's that has Micheles Sig and Molly's SS in it: viewtopic.php?f=10&t=15294
 
Yes, I agree with Sheila. Molly's good dose seems to be 2U and it's difficult to stabilize BGs with that 2U when there are plunges in dose on what I consider to be great preshots on Lev - below 150. Granted when she wasn't eating and had a preshot in the 60s, you were right to skip dose then, but normally if she's eating good I'd prefer waiting to shoot till you got a second BG a half hour later. If she's rising (do not give food first, that causes an automatic rise), then give her usual dose (rise is at least 15-20 points to account for meter discrepancy), if not, then cut dose by maybe .25U.

I know waiting to shoot is contrary to the 12/12 schedule regimen, but a later shot is less disruptive than a 50% decrease in dose.

How is this for unsolicited advice??? We love Molly and you and even though you don't post it 'cause you're such a positive person, we know you're frustrated right now. :YMHUG:
 
Not sure if it's because i'm PMS-ing but man oh man i almost cried reading your two posts!! Thank you so much you guys!

Yes, i am extremely frustrated with the Molly girl right now, thanks for knowing me so well. I agree that the dose was dropped to low when the pre-shot numbers were fabulous. I'd like to blame Will for that but i too was scared of her going lower. Consistently i see that 2 hours after preshot she rises - that should give me the confidence to shoot the lower numbers.

Great preshot tonight - 231 (given the numbers as of late, that is great. pathetic i know).

I think with Molly, if this makes sense, i need to get that breakthrough and then i can lower the dose and get some consistency (is that what you said Sheila? hee hee). Molly doesn't experience 'true' rebound meaning that even if she goes low she does experience sky high numbers aftrwards. In other words, when i come home and find that her pmps is 397 (5/24) it's not because she went low during the day. Does that make sense?

Do you guys think i should lower the dose or hang on and see if i can get that breakthrough she usually needs?

I can't thank you guys enough - thanks for looking out after Molly and I :YMHUG:
 
Yes, that is what I said - wait for breakthrough of higher numbers then drop to 2u AFTER you see some low numbers - like 60, 50 or lower - not before. Then, if you get a lower PS in the low 100s and won't be there to test, or a nadir below 50 you drop the dose by .25u.

I think that you will find that 2u or maybe 1.75u will be her best base dose, but you have to let her work her way to it. I am hoping that the nice PS tonight is a step in that direction.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top