Mo 2/11 AMPS 279, +4 333, +6 306, PMPS 295

katy and mo (GA)

Member Since 2020
Previous post: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/mo-dosing-advice-please.237906/

We started Mo on 3.5 units this morning. He seems to have been pretty steady all day hovering around high 200s, low 300s. Fingers crossed we see some blue numbers in the next couple of days. At least we haven't had any readings in the high 300s since starting him on FF. That's a bonus at least!

I will test him when I get home from work tonight as I usually do.

My partner said he's been more cuddly this afternoon which is nice. When he's feeling off he tends to go sleep under the bed. Poor boy. Here is a pic of cuddly Mo for tax <3

123437235_364678561467630_8555513820583287400_n.png


Have a great day :cat:
 
I'm getting so frustrated. I got a 19.7/355 at PM +4. I know that it's not a sprint, but I so badly want to see his numbers come down. I've been doing some reading on TR protocol and increasing the dose can make the numbers go up briefly so maybe that is it? I don't know.

I got home and realised he hadn't completely finished his dinner. Normally he gobbles it up straight away so it's unusual to still see food in his bowl. He also usually goes crazy about the treat i give him after testing but he was very unexcited about it. He still ate it though. Maybe it's a sign that his appetite is coming down? Who knows, i'll just have to wait and see.

I just desperately don't want to lose him. He's not super unwell or anything. Still goes outside to wander around, still grooms himself, still eating and drinking, and weeing in his litter box as he should (he does number twos outside).

I get so jealous when I see other people's sugar kitties consistently in the yellows, blues and greens. I so badly want that for my baby.

I'm guess I'm just a worried mama.
 
Tested again and +6 he is now 22.3/401 :( That's the highest he's been in a week. I'm hoping it's just temporary with the increase in dose. Someone please reassure me that this is normal....
 
NDW - new dose wobble can happen in the first cycle or two after an increase, nothing to worry about :)

I understand completely how you’re feeling right now, most of us do, we’ve been there. This stage of the sugar dance is very frustrating, but it can’t be rushed. He will find his dose and his numbers will come down, I promise, but in the meantime you’re going to need to be patient :bighug: It also helps to remember that he is more than just his numbers. We also measure a cats well being with the four p’s - peeing, pooping, preening and playing. Seems like Mo’s doing okay on those fronts :cat:
 
Hi! Love the pic of cuddly Mo. What a sweetheart.

Yes, this is normal. :bighug::bighug:When cats are high, their numbers can bobble around. There is a 20% meter variance allowed in high numbers, so the previous 355 isn't all that different a number. Or it could be some New Dose Wonkiness, which is what I believe you were referring to. Cats will sometimes go into higher numbers after an increase.:confused: It can last up to 24 hours. One of the many reasons why it is important to hold an increase for a minimum of six cycles, so our kitties can adjust. Butters often wouldn't respond to an increase until cycle six.

I totally get you on wanting lower numbers and the worry when they are stuck in high numbers. :bighug: Sugar cats are more than just their numbers. It sounds like what we call the five"P"s are all good: playing, peeing, pooping, purring and preening. That's important. Cuddly is a good sign! Also good is if you're noticing the symptoms of FD receding. You're giving Mo insulin now and following TR. The numbers will come. We need to find the magical dose for him.

ECID (Every Cat Is Different), but it took me almost four months to get Butters regulated, then a week's hospital stay for her to fall out of regulation and to go back to high flat numbers. This is the dance. It can be very frustrating.:banghead: Check out the spreadsheets of as many other kitties as you can. Scroll all of the way back to when they were first diagnosed. Most look very much like Mo's SS, with even higher numbers.

Someone on the board, not sure who, started a tradition of sharing "patience pants" with people. I'm going to share my patience pants with you. See attached. :D Keep monitoring his behaviour and habits, the 5 Ps, etc. You're both doing really well!
 

Attachments

  • patience pants.jpg
    patience pants.jpg
    20.2 KB · Views: 60
Last edited:
You are both angels thank you <3

I definitely need to patience pants hahaha.

I need sleep now but I will respond in the morning. Thank you so much for your replies.
 
Back
Top