Mitzelplik update and more questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mitzelplik's Mom

Member Since 2015
Hello again. Posted an intro about 3 weeks ago and wanted give an update. (Sorry, I'm not sure how to link to my original post). Anyway, the suspected UTI was indeed and infection (e coli). Mitz seems to be doing well in that regard. However, her BG numbers have been all over the place lately. They went up right after her vet visit on Jan 22 (no surprise) but stayed a little on the high side for several days. Vet said sometimes antibiotics can raise BG and advised not changing insulin dose. Numbers started looking slightly better after the 14 days were up but in the last few days they're getting pretty erratic. The only thing new is that I started giving her D-Mannose 4 days ago. It's said to be very effective in preventing UTI's and is not supposed to interfere with blood sugar levels. I'll try to get several checks in this weekend to get more mid-cycle and morning data on her chart and also include more info on meal & med timing. Any thoughts?
Joan
 
Is he done with the antibiotic?
If his numbers came down, the nadir, or lowest glucose post shot, is often in the +5 to +7 hour time frame. You need to get some tests then, be it on the weekend, or setting a clock at night, because some of the high pre-shot numbers you are seeing may be from going too low between shots.
To be safe, he should go no lower than 68 mg/dL on an AlphaTrak.
 
Bouncing happens either from a very fast, steep drop from pre-shot to nadir and/or from dropping to an unfamiliar number.
By feeding the curve, that is feeding mini-meals in the 6 hours or so after the shot, you may be able to slow down the rate of drop so it isn't precipitous.
Additionally, if you first aim for a nadir in the 100-150 range rather than the 50-100 range, that may help the cat become more accustomed to lower numbers gradually.
Some cats just bounce until they stop, though, and you need to be patient and remember its the nadir, not the pre-shot number that is important.
 
Thanks BJ. I'm trying to learn as much as possible and this forum is a god-send. It feels like no matter how consistent I try to be the numbers are unpredictable.
 
Glucose levels are multifactorial, ie many things go into them - food, timing, dose, insulin, activity stress, illness, just to name a few. And you can't control it all, much as you might like to do so! Been there, tried that, got exhausted.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top