Mittens' 9-21-13 AMPS=48, PMPS=176

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lyndsey & Mittens

Member Since 2013
Yup, that's right 48 (took it again to make sure the meter wasn't acting up and I got 46). I wonder how low he went last night?!?!

Skipping the AM shot.

Should I back down on the dosage tonight (again)? His PMPS was 345 last night, so he had a pretty big drop on 1u.

Goodness, there is no rhyme or reason with this cat...
 
Re: Mittens' 9-21-13 AMPS=48

Whoa! i am officially confused! I wonder what happened the last few days that changed his numbers and moved him up in the pinks, and then drastically down.......all I can think of is that his pancreas is sputtering.

New ball game. Since it's the weekend can you test today and see what happens? He may bounce from the lows of last night and you don't want to shoot a larger dose into a bounce. If he just moves steadily up, then you could shoot the number you get for pmps.
 
Re: Mittens' 9-21-13 AMPS=48

Hasn't gone up much at all yet-3 hours later he's at 53.

When you refer to "shooting into the bounce" what does that mean exactly?
 
Re: Mittens' 9-21-13 AMPS=48

If you got a 50, say, and then the next preshot shot was 400, you could assume it was a bounce. The body senses a low number and releases extra sugar to bring the number up. So the bounce (400) isn't a "true" number - it is because he bounced. You don't want to shoot more into the 400 and cause another low. You want to be more cautious dosing into a bounce. Does that make sense?
 
Re: Mittens' 9-21-13 AMPS=48

Thanks Sue, I got it-that makes sense! So, assuming that I get a higher number tonight, should I shoot lower than 1u since he went so low last night on that dose? Or should I keep it the same?
 
Hard choice. It may be that his pancreas is working and he will stay down on his own. Or it might be good to give a tiny dose, if he was going to continue to rise. What do you feel comfortable with?
 
Think I'm going to skip...I really need to get some sleep tonight. If I was rested enough to monitor him periodically through the night-I'd shoot a small dose-but I'm exhausted.

Have a feeling that ill be regretting this choice in the AM...

Since he didn't go up really high at tonight's PMPS-is there still a chance of seeing a bounce?
 
Probably not, but 24 hours without insulin may mean a higher amps. Sometimes the bounce looks like a higher flatter cycle the next cycle. But regardless, I would reduce from your last dose. Get some sleep. It is just one cycle. He had a great one today; he'll have another good one.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top