Mittens 12-25-13 AMPS 194

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lyndsey & Mittens

Member Since 2013
AMPS=194, gave 1u (decreased dose) since I know that newbies are not advised to shoot under 200-but I didn't want to completely skip & mess up the depot & I knew for sure he was rising. Hope I did the right thing. The lowest he went (that I caught), was 120, which was at +9 hours after his shot. Late nadir or weird cycle?

My question is, since I just recently upped the dose to 1.5u (on Monday night), should I be concerned with continuing to give him 1.5u (since dose changes typically take 3-5 days to kick in)? According to that logic, the dose increase shouldnt be taking effect yet, correct?

Merry Christmas to all the fur kids & their beans!
 
Unfortunately the answer is ECID, some react right away and some take a few days to show any change. More than likely you would have been fine to shoot this a.m. since he was rising. But when in doubt erring on the side of caution by shooting a reduced dose is perfect.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Short version:
Better too high for a day, than too low for a moment!

As you get to know how your cat responds to dose changes (test and observational data, when and how you can), you'll know if he tends to show it sooner vs later.

And check my signature link Secondary Monitoring Tools for some of those assessments to help you decide how he is doing. Some are the things your vet will ask, such as eating, drinking, and elimination.
 
And, as suspected, he bounced. +4=416. Think I will resume the 1.5 tonight unless his numbers tell me otherwise. I was so elated to see blues!!
 
Um... how did you determine his starting dose?

Just checking for safety:
The formula is to take the lower of his current or ideal weight,
In kilos (pounds divided by 2.2)
Multiplied by 0.25
Then rounded down to the nearest quarter unit.

Which you may have done.
 
I just started out at 1u-held that for 8 cycles, in which his nadir was in the 300s-400s, so according to protocol I increased .5u to 1.5u since nadir was >300.

Right now, I'm torn between trying 1.25u or staying at the 1.5. Just afraid that when the 1.5u settles in it may be too much.

He's 16lbs, so according to the recommended starting dosage he should have started at 1.75u-but I didn't feel comfortable starting that high.
 
Given that a high a nadir plus the estimated starting dose, just stick with the 1.5 units for at least 6 shot cycles.
 
Wishing you a Merry Christmas!
910612-bigthumbnail.jpg
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top