Mittens 12-12-13 AMPS=415 and gloopy poops!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lyndsey & Mittens

Member Since 2013
AMPS=415, gave 1.25u...this bouncing is starting to drive me crazy!! He's been bouncing alot higher lately, not exactly sure why...

Also, Mittens has had smelly, gloopy poops over the past 2 days-makes for a huge mess in the litterbox ohmygod_smile
I haven't changed his diet, so not sure what the cause might be. Hoping it clears up soon.
 
When was his last vet visit? I continually wonder if something else is going on with him and his crazy numbers. The diarrhea might be a reason to go?

I also wonder about your switching to Lantus or levemir, Lindsey. He just seems so volative with ProZinc, bouncing from highs to lows. The theory is that the longer shed insulins flatten out the cyle and help with the bouncing.
 
You are right Sue, I've been thinking about wether or not Lantus/Levimir might work better for him...especially after this past weekend when I was getting numbers close to 600 @-)

He hasn't been back to the vet since he was diagnosed in August. I'll be giving them a call tomorrow morning to see about bringing him in & switching to one of the L insulins.
 
I know...I'm getting excited over yellows now too...lol @-)

His tummy is doing better, no soft poops since last week (thank goodness)!!

I have an appt for him at the vets office tomorrow at 930 to talk about switching to Levemir (Mel gave me some really good info) and to have them check for an infection that might be causing all of the high 400s/500s I've been seeing recently.

I will keep you posted-hoping the vet is receptive to switching...
 
Paws crossed. You could take along your spreadsheet and show him how Mittens bounces, regardless of the dose. And then maybe some info on Levemir that explains its flatter curves?
 
Yup-that was my plan :mrgreen:

I will let you all know how it goes tomorrow...I will be looking for a new vet if they aren't receptive to switching.
 
He should appreciate that you have really tried with ProZinc (lower dose, higher dose, holding the dose, sliding scale - you have done it all) and that he just bounces too much with it. It is really true that the best insulin is the one that works for your cat. You've given this one a good try. Hopefully he will let you try another. And yes, if he won't - I'd say a new vet is in your future.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top