Mittens 11-9-13 AMPS=338

Status
Not open for further replies.
So interesting how he responds well to the first cycle of an increase and then flattens out. I looked up insulin resistance and the articles generally suggest it is explored only after the cat is on larger doses of insulin. This article was pretty good:

http://www.veterinarypartner.com/Content.plx?A=1605

So if it isn't that, I guess it could be what that toxicity article suggests - that he has been in higher numbers quite a while and is going to need increases in dosage to get through that "wall".

Either that, or ProZinc is just not compatible with his body….

Darn.
 
Thanks Sue-that article was very informative (I bookmarked it to reference later with the vet, if needed).

Good news is that it seems like he's started to respond again today to the 1.75u, when I got home from work (+10) his BG was 223-so hopefully it's a sign of good things to come. :mrgreen:

My plan is to hold the dose & increase every 3-4 days if his numbers still aren't w/in the target zone. At this point I'm debating on switching to Lantus/Levimir just yet since it does seem like he's finally responding to the higher doses more frequently. Paws crossed that ill finally break through the wall-like you said, I've got a feeling that he's been diabetic for quite some time & it wasn't until his numbers got very high that I started seeing signs-as ive noticed he doesn't exhibit the classic symptoms of diabetes when he's been in the 300-400 range on the lower doses on insulin.
Poor guy.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top