Thanks Sue-that article was very informative (I bookmarked it to reference later with the vet, if needed).
Good news is that it seems like he's started to respond again today to the 1.75u, when I got home from work (+10) his BG was 223-so hopefully it's a sign of good things to come. :mrgreen:
My plan is to hold the dose & increase every 3-4 days if his numbers still aren't w/in the target zone. At this point I'm debating on switching to Lantus/Levimir just yet since it does seem like he's finally responding to the higher doses more frequently. Paws crossed that ill finally break through the wall-like you said, I've got a feeling that he's been diabetic for quite some time & it wasn't until his numbers got very high that I started seeing signs-as ive noticed he doesn't exhibit the classic symptoms of diabetes when he's been in the 300-400 range on the lower doses on insulin.
Poor guy.