Mittens 11-8-13 AMPS=378

Status
Not open for further replies.
confused_cat +3=368
+5=423
+7=387
Not sure if it's not enough insulin or a bounce that is taking a while to clear...although he did seem to be doing better overall on the lower doses (not as many readings into the 400s). He's acting fine though, eating/peeing/pooping is all normal. Kinda confused as to why numbers were better starting out on the 1.25u, then got worse...

Will continue to test every 2 hours although I don't think numbers will change much :roll:

Not sure where to go from here...
 
I am at a loss, Lyndsey. It is a little inverse as there is a higher number in the middle of the cycle. But we have tried lower doses and he is never been in good numbers overall, not since the first weeks. you could try a higher dose - he is at a comparatively low amount, but I am afraid it won't help.

If he were mine, I think I would change insulin and see if Levemir or Lantus works. You can follow the relaxed forum with either insulin, where they start low and go slow and make dose changes slowly, as the bean's schedule permits for testing data. It is a small forum but they will be patient and understanding with your schedule. You could go over to the Relaxed Lantus forum and check it out. And send a pm to MommaofMuse (Mel). She is the one who responds most often. She has used Levemir and Lantus but I think posts on both forums. She might have some advice about which might be best.

He might be insulin resistent or ProZinc may just not be his insulin. You might go with Levemir in case he does require larger doses; it is said to sting less than Lantus.

I am incredibly sorry. I wish I was a better help or had the right answer for you. If you want to continue with ProZinc, we will keep plugging away, but I just have little confidence that less or more will help........
 
Thanks for your help Sue. :smile: I guess I need to figure out what I'm going to do from here, I have a feeling that the vet will want me to stick w/the Prozinc a little longer w/an increased dosage since I'm nowhere near the dose that she initially prescribed for him (3u 2xs/day). Last time I spoke with her regarding his unresponsiveness to insulin (which was a few weeks ago) she wanted me to continue increasing the dose after a few days of holding, but I'm not 100% sure that that's the issue here...

I could try increasing, but I'm afraid it won't do any good and he will just end up hanging out in the higher numbers for a longer time.

In your opinion, do you think it would be ok to increase to 1.75u tomorrow-or is that too much at once?
Since it's the weekend anyway, I may as well keep tweaking the dose until I can get back to the vets to see what happens.

I just want him to start feeling better soon(although he's not acting like he feels bad at all!)...
 
No, I think that would be fine. The general "rule" is that you increase by .25 units when they are lower numbers and .5 when higher. I don't like that he seems to go higher with higher doses, but maybe it's a matter of "breaking through". There is an article on insulin toxicity on the site (it has been on page 1 of this forum but bet it's farther down the pages now.). It talks about cats who sit in higher numbers and get used to being there, and that increasing is the way to go.

Let me see if I can find it.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top