Mittens 10-29-13 AMPS=435

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lyndsey & Mittens

Active Member
AMPS=435, guess he bounced from dropping so quickly or isn't accustomed to the lower numbers?

Not sure if I should decrease dose or hold it? Thinking that the increase in blood sugar at +8 last night was the bounce starting to kick in-but not 100% sure. Thinking that he probably would've went low last night if "bounce" didn't kick in (if that was even a bounce-not sure).

Need to shoot now, guess ill go w/.75 this morning...

To me, it looks like his dose may have been too high this entire time-what are your thoughts?
 
If it's a bounce, he is bouncing from a pretty shallow curve - less apparent and more difficult to deal with. We have tried to manage this with food, right? Giving him a snack a couple hours after the shot in the pm and then midcycle overnight?

Check out Carly's post this am and Bemmer's ss. Your two kitties are similar. I suggested the 11/13 schedule to her. Wonder if we just should deal with the numbers we are getting and ignore the bounce - if that is what it is. If he is bouncing, he is bouncing from a nice blue, not a low dangerous green.

I am thinking the dose this am may not do much, but knowing Mittens, he will prove me wrong.

You could consider an L insulin which generally gives shallower curves. It is a definite ECID thing. Some cats bounce less on Lantus. Some continue to bounce. I think the record is 2 years, and that was a Lantus cat. Go to Sue and Samwise's spreadsheet. (find her under Members and then go to her profile and access her ss.). Sam recently died (not from diabetes). But she switched from PZI because he was a huge bouncer. He improved a little on Lantus but still was volatile.

Mittens just doesn't seem to be one of those predictable cats ( there do seem to be a few, but not many.... :mrgreen: ). I know this makes your life hard. Is he feeling pretty good overall - good appetite, playing, pooping and peeing okay?
 
Yes, he gets a nighttime snack around +3 and a middle of the night snack also.

I'm at a loss as to what to do from here, maybe I'll ask the vet about switching to Levimir or Lantus.

With the L insulins though-don't I have to test around nadir to determine the AM/PM dose? I'm at work all day, so I don't know if that'll be an option for me...

He's peeing/pooping/playing as he normally does, so nothing has changed there either...

How does the 11/13 schedule work?
 
Yes, that's the main reason The L insulins create problems for people. The protocol calls for the dose to be adjusted based on the nadir, not on preshots. You might pm Momma of Muse. Mel is the main voice on the Relaxed Lantus forum. It's about as small or smaller than PZI but the members there can't follow the regular protocol because of the testing requirements.

I'm glad he is doing well - means he is feeling okay even though we beans are struggling with his dose.

With the 11/13 schedule,you shoot an hour early on the preshot that is highest and then 13 hours later, shoot on the lower preshot number. Sometimes, with a cat whose preshots vary, it smooths out the cycle and the preshot numbers. Not always, of course, but sometimes. Bookworm (Lisa) has done it every so often when Cassie seemed to need it. You might see what she thinks. It doesn't have to be forever; Lisa used it for a while and then stopped when Cassie flattened out.
 
So I would only use the 11/13 schedule when he gets those big drops followed by a big jump-correct?

Just feeling so bad for him right now...wishing I could get his numbers under control instead of swinging from one extreme to the other. Not to mention the damage that it's probbably causing internally...
 
I'd say it depends on how the numbers look. If it seems to be improving, I would try it for awhile - maybe a week. I think Lisa had Cassie on 11/13 for a couple months. Then when things smoothed out, she went back to 12/12.

Don't forget - he doesn't know he is sick. He thinks he is getting lots of extra attention, nifty treats and great stuff to eat. Life for him is pretty good; it is you (and me :mrgreen: ) who are troubled. I know the above the renal threshold is a constant worry. You are doing the best you can do. He hasn't been diabetic for very long and you both are doing great.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top