Rardito
Member
Just a recap, Mitsy is my Cushing's cat who was diagnosed this summer.
Lately her numbers have been lower. She hasn't been in the 200s since 9/26. I've reduced her dose down so much she went from 5u twice daily to .25U only if she's over 120! Tonight at PMPS she was 92, without even having insulin this morning since she was 105 AMPS!
Her diet and insulin haven't changed... so I'm not sure why this is happening (especially since she has Cushing's). I'm not complaining of course, but I'm just confused. I need to do another curve on her the next day off that I have that she is given insulin. I just started holding off since she had .25u once when she was in the low 100s and dropped to 56 two and a half hours later (she peaks at +3 though).
Would you all still be giving insulin at these low (for a diabetic) numbers? I don't think it's possible for me to do less than .25u with the U40/Vetsulin syringes because it's already barely anything in there at .25u! But I definitely want to hear everyone's thoughts/suggestions.
Thanks everyone!
Lately her numbers have been lower. She hasn't been in the 200s since 9/26. I've reduced her dose down so much she went from 5u twice daily to .25U only if she's over 120! Tonight at PMPS she was 92, without even having insulin this morning since she was 105 AMPS!
Her diet and insulin haven't changed... so I'm not sure why this is happening (especially since she has Cushing's). I'm not complaining of course, but I'm just confused. I need to do another curve on her the next day off that I have that she is given insulin. I just started holding off since she had .25u once when she was in the low 100s and dropped to 56 two and a half hours later (she peaks at +3 though).
Would you all still be giving insulin at these low (for a diabetic) numbers? I don't think it's possible for me to do less than .25u with the U40/Vetsulin syringes because it's already barely anything in there at .25u! But I definitely want to hear everyone's thoughts/suggestions.
Thanks everyone!