Mister's dosing

Ok, couple of things to baseline again:
  • The only tests that need to be fasting are the preshots. When doing a curve, you let the cat eat however they normally would
  • Remission is a great goal, but is simply not possible for all cats. You may be setting yourself up for a lot of frustration. The cats that go into a quick remission most typically became diabetic due to steroids, infection/dental/other issues. Just being completely frank, I do not see a quick remission for Mister. Possible, yes. But with the dose and numbers he's at, his pancreas is helping zero right now, so it needs time (likely months or more) to heal.
Look for Panzer on the Main Forum, he is getting close. They just moved with a lot of stress so he had a minor setback. Marie and Red on the ProZinc forum are also very close, and there was Stephanie and Johnny not too long ago. I actually think both Panzer and Red are on a "modified SLGS" because the caregivers didn't like the reduction point of 50 for MPM. You can always choose to modify SLGS by changing reduction point, or saying I'm going to increase faster/larger (with the appropriate testing added in) but you need to define what that means and be consistent. We recommend putting "SLGS custom dosing" in signature, then defining your parameters at the top of your spreadsheet. But the more custom you get, the less we may be able to help.

As for the guidelines, I understand your feedback. I believe the moderators are currently reviewing all the guidelines, so I will send them your feedback. The challenge is it is difficult to make a one size fits all...cats that react strongly and/or bounce a lot are handled differently than cats that don't. Thankfully, Mister isn't one of those cats, which makes things easier.

For anyone lurking, guidance below is specific to Mister - a non bouncing cat with gentle ProZinc curves.

Tests : over the span of 3 days, test between +3 and +6 however makes sense for your schedule. Now that you have a decent amount of data, we know his nadir is somewhere in that range. So Day 1 AM might be +4, PM might be +3. Day 2 AM +5, PM +3 again because you want sleep. Day 3, +6 and whatever else. Based on that, was can reasonably infer what his nadir is. So you're looking at 4 total tests per day minimum. If you want to increase closer to the 2 day mark, then you need to get those tests in a 2 day span instead of 3. Caveat: if he bounces, you need to hold 3-5 days because bounces obscure the baseline numbers.

Dose changes, assuming MPM:
Nadirs above 200 - increase by 0.5U.
Nadirs 150-199 - increases are 0.25U by default. You can consider a 0.5U increase if not consistently seeing blue.
Nadirs 120 -149. 0.25U increase, never any larger.
Nadirs 90-120: you now need to hold the dose 4-5 days. 0.25U increases but you need to monitor carefully when you do increase. If that turns out to be too much, that's when you can try the smaller increments.

Reductions with MPM are 0.25U any time he goes below 50, or you can reasonably infer he went below 50.
 
Thanks, that's helpful. I will try to follow that strictly. And I guess I'm still not sure I know what a "bounce" means... or more importantly, how I know for a fact it's a bounce vs. something else like meter variance.

And in your example, if he's reading high numbers, then Day(s) 4 through 6 would need to be curve days where I do 12hr or even 24hr curves? Or just one curve on Day 4 is enough, then Day 5 I can increase by 0.5u?
 
Last edited:
Thanks, that's helpful. I will try to follow that strictly. And I guess I'm still not sure I know what a "bounce" means... or more importantly, how I know for a fact it's a bounce vs. something else like meter variance.
I will reply to this later - there are quite a few examples I just have to find links. For some reason recently we have an influx of cats not handling ProZinc well. Cris and Wolvi on the ProZinc forum, Kaia out on Main Forum.

It's usually characterized by a fast/big drop, followed by almost equally fast shot back up. More info than you want at this point, but when that happens nearly every cycle it's a duration problem not a bounce (which seems to be Kaia's issue).

Just peeked at some spreadsheets - CourtneeP on this forum, caught a low last night and up to black numbers this morning. Ace & Chelsea - greens yesterday, high numbers today
 
Okay, I will follow MPM then. But unlike SLGS, the MPM guide is incredibly poorly written.
Before I explain all of this for you so it makes it easy for you and other new members to understand, the MPM was written with input by several experienced members who also proofread it for accuracy, clarity, etc. Consider that because you are new to all this, you don’t quite understand it which is normal. There’s a huge learning curve and we use alot of vernacular not found in everyday life. We all have the same issue when first looking at a method of dosing. So let’s break it down so you do understand the intent and how to use it. :)

My answers to your questions are based on the Prozinc Dosing Methods Sticky just so we are on the same page and looking at the same document.

What exactly is the difference between it and SLGS.
SLGS is the initial method of dosing that was developed here long, long ago and all insulin users, regardless of the type of insulin they were using, used it. It’s all we had at first. It was formulated by the moderators and members back in the day based on anecdotal information and data that members were collecting data.

MPM is also anecdotal but is modeled after Tight Regulation (TR) used by Lantus/Levemir/Biosimilar insulins. The TR protocol was developed by Dr. Kirsten Roomp and Dr. Jackie Rand and published in veterinary journals. MPM, like TR, is more aggressive, allowing for more frequent dose changes in response to the BG. As an example, SLGS would have you hold a dose for a full week even if the BG was in the 300s or above where as the MPM allows for the dose to be changed when it’s evident it’s not working.

It says "if you started with SLGS and switch to the modified method, please skip to “Changing the Dose” below", does that mean everything that you skip is to be ignored and instead you follow everything in SLGS plus what is mentioned in "Changing the Dose" under MPM?
The reason it states this is the “starting dose” of insulin is only applicable under either method for the very first time you use the insulin in a newly diagnosed cat. If you started the initial insulin dose under SLGS at either 1u if the kitty is on dry food or 0.5u if on wet, you wouldn’t go back and start over again if you switch to MPM. As an example, let’s say you feed canned food and start with SLGS. The starting dose is 0.5u. Assume your cat is on insulin for a month and, under guidelines for SLGS increasing the dose, after a month, the kitty’s dose has had to be increased 0.25u every week. After four weeks, the kitty’s dose would be 1.25u (0.5 for week one, add 0.25 for week two, add another 0.25 for week three, add another 0.25u for week four).

The starting dose under MPM (that is if you went straight to MPM without doing SLGS) is 1u. So if you switched from SLGS and the kitty was on 1.25u, why would you drop the dose back to 1u if the kitty had not earned a reduction? You wouldn’t. So you don’t need to consider the information on “Starting Dose” under MPM; that would be the only information you would skip. You wouldn’t skip everything before that.

I was about to create a flowchart of MPM, but I just noticed MPM cannot actually be flowcharted because it contains logical inconsistencies. For example, observe these four bullet points
  • In general, dose changes are made in increments of 0.25u. In sensitive cats, it may be necessary to make even smaller changes.
  • If a cat is having nadirs above 200, then dose changes of 0.5u are recommended.
  • Occasionally we see cats who need the dose held longer than the recommended 3-6 cycles because they are very prone to diving BG numbers or bouncing. Collecting data and learning your cat’s patterns are essential to determining if your cat might be in this category.
  • Conversely, holding the dose for too long can lead to glucose toxicity - when the blood glucose gets “stuck” and even increasing seems to do nothing. If this happens, seek advice on next steps.
It is impossible to satisfy all of those. Bullet point #1 recommends considering 0.25 or even smaller changes. Then bullet point #2 says 0.5u changes are recommended for cats with nadirs above 200. Which is it? How do I know that the high nadirs aren't caused by 0.25u changes being too excessive? It's not clear if 0.15u or 0.5u is more appropriate for a cat with high nadirs. Likewise, the last two bullet points are completely contradictory as well. Regarding the third bullet point, how do I tell if my "cat might be in this category"? By opting for bullet point #3, it will likely cause bullet #4 to happen. And vice versa regarding bouncing.
I’m a scientist by education and experience and I disagree that MPM can’t be flowcharted but I also don’t believe it requires it. FD can be difficult enough as it is so keep it simple and don’t make it harder :blackeye:

First, note what it says at the beginning...”general guidelines”. That doesn’t mean every one of these will apply to every cat. So you don’t need to “satisfy” all of them. These list special circumstances you might see that need some flexibility to the standard way we do dose increases. It’s not a hard and fast rule. Every cat is different.

The first bullet opens with “In general, dose changes are made in increments of 0.25u”. That’s where you start. You don’t make changes in smaller amounts unless you have the data to tell you the kitty needs that particular approach which typically takes quite some time to gather the data. In 12 years, I’ve seen a few cats that needed smaller dose adjustments and my Gracie was one of them (on Levemir) but almost all of these cats are long-term diabetics (as Gracie was).

The second bullet allows one to make larger dose increases if the nadirs warrant it. This guideline is separate from the one above it. And note...it also says “are recommended”. Perhaps that much of an increase is too aggressive for your kitty. So don’t do it. But there are definitely cats here in the +300 BGs on 5u bid who need that kind of increase as well as cats on a lower dose than that.

The third bullet is also separate from the other two. It’s all about collecting data and knowing your cat. I learned with Gracie that if she responded well to a dose, I needed to hold it for at least 11 cycles to see if she would continue to do well on it.

And the fourth is a warning about what can happen if one holds the dose too long. Members, especially new ones, are often reticent to make changes in the dose especially if the vet is telling them that 300 is a good nadir to have. That builds glucose toxicity but many vets are overly cautious because they are not able to be there 24/7 to help a client with dropping BGs. But this doesn’t just apply to cats in higher BGs. If the nadirs are consistently 250-300, that’s too high and over renal threshold for many cats.

You asked “How do I know that the high nadirs aren’t caused by 0.25u changes being too excessive?” Well, you collect data but that is not what happens. If a 0.25u increase is too excessive, it’s going to cause the BG to drop, not rise. Again, as I said before, it’s unusual for newly diagnosed cats (i.e. cats diagnosed less than a year) to need really small adjustments in dose unless the kitty is just about to remission and we need to taper the last few doses down by drops. You will know if you get to that point because we know what it looks like and when it’s needed. Ask.

I’ve yet to see a high dose cat need a dose increase of 0.15u. But my bigger question is why are you worried about that now? A high dose cat is one that is on greater than 5u bid. If Mister’s dose continues to climb and you continue to post, members will help you decide how much to increase his dose. For cats that have acromegaly or IAA, once they get over 6-7u, we are increasing by 10% the dose so if a cat is on 8u bid, we’d round up and the dose increases would be by 1u bid.

But you are putting the cart before the horse. Take a deep breath and follow the MPM basics: 0.25u increases for nadirs under 200 and 0.5u increases for nadirs over 200. As you build data, you might determine that 0.5u increases are too much for him if his nadirs are 200-300. So do 0.25u. Keep.It.Simple.

The last two bullets are not contradictory. Read what bullet 3 states: “Collecting data and learning your cat’s patterns are essential to determining if your cat might be in this category”. We also have many experienced members to help you look at data and make that decision. Sometimes it’s very hard to see the forest for the trees and an unbiased eye can spot if the cat needs more time at a dose. For example, consider a situation where Mister is seeing nadirs in the 100-150 range, especially when he first starts seeing those numbers, but then he pops up into the 400s because he’s bouncing. The first thing to do is flatten the curve so he’s not experiencing such fluctuations. That would require holding the dose a little longer.

But again, MPM does not explicitly state how often and when to test. Terms like "at least one" and "ideally" doesn't compute for me.
Not every cat needs to be tested at the same time or with the same frequency. Insulin is not a medication; it’s a hormone. Don’t expect to get the same results from it every cycle and especially not in every cat. Insofar as testing....let your meter be your guide!!! Unless his BG is dropping quickly or into lower numbers, test at different parts of each cycle especially during the a.m. cycle. Figure out when his onset, nadir, and duration are. That will help you learn when you generally need to test. If he’s dropping by onset, you definitely need to test more. If he’s rising, you can test less.

"How low has the current dose taken kitty over the last 72 - 96 hours" (3-4 days), which is impossible unless your cat fasts the entire curve and you do a full 24hr curve the entire time for those 4 days. Does that mean I have to wait the 1.5-3 days and then do curve testing for an additional 3-4 days in a row, or can these windows overlap? [/QUOTE]
We don’t test 24/7 and you use the data you have. You also don’t need curves for MPM as you would for SLGS.

You should test enough early on to determine his onset, nadir, and duration. If you know “about” when he nadirs (and yes, this can change), then you know when to test and based on that, you’ll see how low the dose is taking him over several days. So it’s not impossible. Members do it here every single day. You are missing the point. If you hold the dose for 3-6 cycles and only test at PS, you are never going to know how low the dose is taking him. So you shouldn’t increase. Conversely, if you have gathered some spot checks at different times of the cycles and it’s clear he’s onsetting at +2, you can start testing at that point consistently to see how far he drops. If you’ve figured out his nadir is in the +4 to +6 range most cycles and after four days, you see his nadir is not dropping below 100 at any cycle, then increase the dose by 0.25u. No curve needed.

Lastly, to increase the dose by 0.5u or less, MPM says I need to do (5 tests in a curve)*(4 days)*(2 curves in a day) = 40 tests before each 0.5u increase?!
No...it doesn’t say that anywhere. It states when you first start out, you’ll want to check at least at PS, +3, +6, +9 for a few days. That’s building data. That’s keeping you from surprises since a new member will not know how the kitty will react to the initial dose of insulin.

MPM should be rewritten to be more explicit. An unordered list is an unacceptable format for something like this. For starters, during that non-curve window of 1.5-3 days, exactly when should I test him and how often? I can test him anytime and any frequency. If I test him at +2 and +4 and see high numbers, then anyone could argue that I missed a nadir at +3 or +5 or +6 or +7. If I test him at +6 and see high numbers, then how do I know the nadir didn't happen at +2, +3, +4, or +5? With these mid-cycle tests, the takeaway seems to be that I'm never picking the correct window. If I pick +4, then I shoulda picked +7 in hindsight. Now that I'm doing +5 and +7 tests, now I need to go back to something before +5?
One thing you will learn is that managing FD is as much an art as it is a science. No two cats are exactly the same just as no two caregivers are. That’s why dosing methods are not written to be so explicit. If they were, many members couldn’t follow them as written because of a variety of factors including their work schedule, other family members’ needs, a cat that doesn’t like to be tested, etc etc. I could go on and on. There has to be built-in flexibility.

The information is right there for you to read. There is a very detailed discussion under “Increasing the Dose”. Again...MPM does not require any curve. No one can tell you when you should test him exactly and how often. It depends on what his cycle is looking like. If you test him at +2 and +4 and you get high BGs, it’s unlikely he’s going to drop so you might want to test at +10. It’s very unlikely he nadired between +2 and +4 if both those BGs were high. I hate to repeat myself but don’t make this harder than it is. It’s never a bad idea to check at PS and +2. If numbers are headed down at +2, how fast? If they’ve come down fast from PS, test again at +3. If it’s slow, test at +4. If the +2 is really high compared with the PS, test at +5 or +6. We can help you decide when to test if you post but this is a learning curve for you; you will ultimately have to learn when you need to test based on his onset, nadir, duration that you see after you have data and based on what your meter says.

Please read all that, absorb it, and ask me questions. We are here to help and explain things but as you read everything over, keep in mind we have to have flexibility. We have to give general guidelines that members can use to apply to their cat. There is structure but there is also the ability to do what works for your cat. That’s the problem with the AAHA flow charts.....they assume every cat reacts in the same manner. They don’t. Your job is to learn your cat and we can help you learn how MPM works for your cat.
 
Last edited:
Hmm so theoretically I am on track to do a 0.5u increase as soon as tonight?
Looking at the data, it is reasonable to assume he has seen blue on two cycles, today looks like a bounce from blues last night. Per the dosing methods as written, I would do 0.25U increase. Should you choose to do 0.5U, I think that will lead to more bouncing.
 
Hmm so theoretically I am on track to do a 0.5u increase as soon as tonight?
I don’t like to disagree with other members that have been around a while and are experienced like Melissa. But…it is what this forum is about…getting different opinions and deciding what works best for you and your kitty.

You have several cycles where there are no mid cycle tests. Could he have come down to below 200? Sure. I’ve seen cats be higher at PSs and dip lower during the cycle and without a mid cycle test, we wouldn’t have known. If he did come below 200, I doubt it was much.

However, he actually looks pretty flat to me (every meter can have a 20% variance from test to test); I see no evidence of dive and bounce cycles.
Normally, I would suggest you raise the dose 0.5u but you are already shooting a skinny dose (which I would suggest you avoid shooting fat and skinny doses). If you raise by 0.5u, you will still be shooting a skinny dose. If you raise to 3.5u, it gets you on a good line to base future increases and decreases on. It’s easier to consistently draw those doses. And, the increase will be slightly more than 0.25u and slightly less than 0.5u depending on how much below 3.25u you have skinnied the dose.

This is one of those “flexibility” issues I was referencing before. :)

Does that make sense?
 
I would agree with that. What I am calling bouncing is by no means severe or even really that bad. Just those every few cycles you get where he stays higher than usual, so whatever you want to call that.

The trend I am seeing is preshots are not coming down, normally I like to see that before larger increases. So same preshot + larger dose = larger dive, which may mean bounce. At some point those preshots have to come down anyway!

But honestly, no harm either way. Larger increase would not be unsafe; if he does bounce, you just wait him out a bit.
 
3.5u it is. His PMPS just now was its highest ever. He's back to being a fussy eater again, he only eats like a 1/4 can or less at a time.

It was mentioned that "You also don’t need curves for MPM as you would for SLGS". So does that mean I never need to do it? If not, then how often should I do curve testing?
 
3.5u it is. His PMPS just now was its highest ever. He's back to being a fussy eater again, he only eats like a 1/4 can or less at a time.

It was mentioned that "You also don’t need curves for MPM as you would for SLGS". So does that mean I never need to do it? If not, then how often should I do curve testing?
As long as you are getting the varying tests over the course of the 6 cycle minimum, that will suffice. First and foremost, we need to be able to answer "how low is he going, both day and night". So as long as over the course of 6 cycles there are a few both AM/PM checks in the +4 to +6 range, that's top priority.

The other nice thing is spot checks around +1 to +3 here and there, just so we can see if his onset may be changing - BUT it can also give you a clue how the cycle may go - is he dropping harder/faster than usual?). I think the majority of CGs here do a +2 or so as a standard almost every cycle. We do recommend that +2/+3 "before bed" test as a standard every night, but understand schedules differ. If you're already planning a +4 that night, then no need.

Lastly, late cycle tests (+8/9 and later, same thing maybe twice a week AM and PM) help as well just to keep an eye on duration. That usually doesn't change on ProZinc, but spot checks are nice.

Summary: some advisers on the board like more/less data than others, but for now I would be comfortable with:
  • Two x AM late cycle (+8 and later) tests per week (no need to do PM, get your sleep)
  • Two x AM nadir-ish (+4 to +6) per dose (so at these numbers, 2 out of the 3 days should have AM tests targeting nadir)
  • One x PM nadir-ish (+4 to +6) per dose (so at these numbers, 1 out of the 3 nights should have PM test targeting nadir)
  • Two x early cycle test (+1 to +3), either AM or PM, per week. Again, this test is more a compass for you than anything. I am looking at it from a dosing/feeding strategy (i.e. are there dives we need to slow, change carbs, etc), so I only need a few spot checks. On the other hand, you are looking at it from "where's this cycle going? Do I need to test again soon?" so for you, it may become a standard test every day, both cycles.
If he starts going a little wonky, or as his numbers go down, those likely will change a bit, but I'd let you know of any gaps I see

Never need to do a curve if you can do that, though some people like to if they have a day off, or once a month or something. You'll find that the lower numbers (greens) end up being curves anyway practically :confused:
 
I would agree with that. What I am calling bouncing is by no means severe or even really that bad. Just those every few cycles you get where he stays higher than usual, so whatever you want to call that.

The trend I am seeing is preshots are not coming down, normally I like to see that before larger increases. So same preshot + larger dose = larger dive, which may mean bounce. At some point those preshots have to come down anyway!

But honestly, no harm either way. Larger increase would not be unsafe; if he does bounce, you just wait him out a bit.
I wouldn’t call it bouncing; it looks like a normal cycle pattern to me in most every cycle. He comes down, nadirs, goes back up.

Preshots are usually the last to come down but in the case where a cat might be bouncing, it depends on how low the bounce clearing is taking the kitty. One certainly doesn’t want to increase if the bounces clear and the BG is dropping lower (e.g. below 100). There is plenty of room here for the increase. :)
 
Oof, looks like it's on to 4u now. It's been over a month since his diagnosis and his numbers are getting higher. Extremely frustrating.
 
Last edited:
Hopefully just glucose toxicity, very frustrating, I've been there.

If it is hard for you to get vet visits scheduled, I'd put one on the schedule for some blood work at the end of March. Once they hit 6U we recommend testing for acromegaly and IAA (Cushing's too if he has any of those symptoms). Some vets don't like to test until they hit 2U/kg, but in my experience that's wasted time waiting, some cats don't get that high. There is a study out there by the Royal Veterinary Clinic that the acromegaly (IGF-1) test has a higher rate of false negatives if done before 73 days on insulin, so you would want to wait until after that 73 day mark (I think that puts you around March 27th). The IAA is only done at Michigan State University so they would have to send it out.

You can always cancel the appointment if he hits a breakthrough dose and starts to get reductions. It just takes time to get an appointment scheduled, then it can take up to 2 weeks for results, and then if acro is positive then you have to figure that out. I wouldn't go crazy over it now, just get something scheduled and cross whatever bridge when you get there
 
Last edited:
Hopefully just glucose toxicity, very frustrating, I've been there.

If it is hard for you to get vet visits scheduled, I'd put one on the schedule for some blood work at the end of March. Once they hit 6U we recommend testing for acromegaly and IAA (Cushing's too if he has any of those symptoms). Some vets don't like to test until they hit 2U/kg, but in my experience that's wasted time waiting, some cats don't get that high. There is a study out there by the Royal Veterinary Clinic that the acromegaly (IGF-1) test has a higher rate of false negatives if done before 73 days on insulin, so you would want to wait until after that 73 day mark (I think that puts you around March 27th). The IAA is only done at Michigan State University so they would have to send it out.

You can always cancel the appointment if he hits a breakthrough dose and starts to get reductions. It just takes time to get an appointment scheduled, then it can take up to 2 weeks for results, and then if acro is positive then you have to figure that out. I wouldn't go crazy over it now, just get something scheduled and cross whatever bridge when you get there
This is terrifying. March 27th is a ways away, what if I reach 6u before that?

I reached out to the University of Minnesota, which is near me, to see if they do IAA testing.

some cats don't get that high
What do you mean? They die before getting that high?
 
If you reach 6U before that you just keep on increasing. Both conditions are/cause a form of insulin resistance so the solution is to just keep increasing until you overwhelm the antibodies/extra hormones so the insulin can get to the cells.

As far as we know University of Michigan is the only one (worldwide) that does it but always good to check.

And goodness no, did not mean to scare you. Some cats with either condition simply don't reach those doses and are managed just fine at lower doses like 7-8U. Really depends. My cat has both IAA and acro, quite a few cats here do. He's doing just fine! From what I can tell, it's usually something else (kidneys, cancer, other old age stuff) that get them.

Again, did not mean to scare you. Just being proactive so you're not having to sit and wait if tests are needed...I know vets here are booking up to 2 months out, and that's the case a lot of places
 
And what are the logistics of doing these tests. The local vet does a blood draw and then ships it in a temperature controlled box to U of Michigan where they do the analysis on acro, IAA, Cushing's, etc?
 
And what are the logistics of doing these tests. The local vet does a blood draw and then ships it in a temperature controlled box to U of Michigan where they do the analysis on acro, IAA, Cushing's, etc?
Yes, the vet should look up U of M's instructions for the tests.

Your local labs should be able to do IGF-1 (acro), those don't have to be sent far usually. I elected to send both to U of M because...why not, already sending one, doesn't cost more in shipping to send two.

https://vdl.msu.edu/Bin/Catalog/Catalog.exe
Catalog # 20031 is the IAA
Catalog # 20005 is IGF-1 (acro)

You can click on each one to view cost, instructions, and turnaround time.

Again, don't go crazy with the what-ifs. He may hit a breakthrough dose soon.
 
Man this is unbelievable! I can't even get him in the 200s now. His numbers are actually getting HIGHER.

While sleeping through my alarm for the midcycle PM test last night, I had a dream that he has Acromegaly. Now every time I look at his face, I am questioning whether it's getting bigger. One thing about my cat is that he is kinda jacked/ripped/buff despite being lazy. He's thicc, solid, and tight. It's difficult to even pull up his skin to form a tent, there's very little slack in his skin. I am starting to second guess myself and thinking maybe it's possible that I am botching his injections. His fur is medium length, but super thick like the Minnesotan brush. I feel around the injection site for liquid, but haven't ever felt any which tells me I'm doing it correctly... but maybe, just maybe, in cases where the injection was a failed attempt it just gets absorbed/lost in the fur and I am not noticing it. Are there any videos that detail how to perform the other style of injection where you do not tent the skin, I forget what it's called.

Shall I up to 4.5u tonight for the PMPS? Or even 5u? Let me know at what point I can start doing 1u increases.
 
Last edited:
Slow and steady. You did miss a few nighttime tests, but I think you're good to go up to 4.5 tomorrow morning. You will still do 0.5U increments up to 10U, even if nadirs are above 200 (unless @Marje and Gracie or @Chris & China (GA) you think otherwise ?)

You would smell the insulin, it smells a bit like... fresh rubber? Brand new tires in the store? Lot of people shave the area to make it easier

I'm not sure what you mean by not tenting, you mean other areas like the flank?
 
Gah he just doesn't want to budge

I see urination issues notes - will you have a urinalysis/culture done? Perhaps it is constipation instead? Does he seem to be in pain?
 
Sorry to just reply….I am out of town on a family issue so haven’t had time to check in.

It’s very important you take him to the vet immediately in regard to the urination issue. While urinary tract infections (UTIs) are not common in most (nondiabetic) cats and the symptoms you describe can be from sterile interstitial cystitis which does not respond to antibiotics, diabetic cats are more prone to UTIs due to the glucose in the urine. An infection can cause the BG to be high.

With his BGs so high, if he gets an infection, it can make him prone to developing ketones. It’s really I portent you are testing him for urine ketones every single day and have a culture and sensitivity done through your vet to see if he has a UTI and get it treated. Also, male cats are prone to blockages depending on their diet so it’s vital to ensure he is not blocked. If he’s passing any urine at all, he’s not but if he is unable to pass urine, that’s a dangerous situation that needs immediate vet care….as in emergency.

I also just want to explain a tiny bit about IAA and acromegaly. But first, as Melissa said, don’t focus on this. I have seen cats just have glucose toxicity and they eventually reach a breakthrough dose. But….on the good side, it is possible if it’s a high dose condition, it’s just IAA. IAA is an immune reaction to the insulin and it is self limiting after a year which means the body adapts to the insulin, eventually, and the BG comes down. There is a method to deal with IAA so you don’t have to wait a year :) but just so you know, if you did nothing other than give his PZ, the IAA will go away.

Acromegaly actually involves a tumor on the pituitary and the tumor can wax and wane so there might be times of better BGs requiring less insulin but often we see the required dose continue to rise. There are some treatments….Melissa used cabergoline, as many do now. There is also a radiation therapy at a couple places in the US which can help to minimize symptoms and bring the BG down.

It was a good suggestion to raise the dose but please be sure you get a before bed test every night in addition to the PS. The one night where you just got a +1, I can guarantee his BG came down a bit but not likely below 200. The reason I can tell is his +1 was almost identical to his PS when it should be higher due to a food spike.

I hope that helps. I also hope you can get his urination issue diagnosed right away.
 
His litter box has a couple urine clumps in it from sometime in the night, so he's not completely blocked. My current vet was quick to rob me of $900 (blood test, urinalysis, x-ray), all I got was a prescription for ProZinc and zero answers. This was on 01/06/22. He is sitting on the towel used to do his BG tests preemptively and purring this morning.

Me bringing in the cat due to the irregular litter box activity is what started this all. The vet seemed very disinterested in figuring out that issue, and instead wanted to go with the diabetes angle. I challenged this many times and said "Okay he has diabetes, great. So can we solve the constipation and litter box issue now?", but they assured me the diabetes was causing those issues. Now it appears it is the other way around.

Are there any vets in the midwest that actually know how to care for a cat? I am sick of these vets that treat dogs, most of the vets probably know nothing about cats. If a vet treats dogs, I am not going to it anymore. And most of the cat clinics in this area are not accepting new patients. I will relocate to anywhere in the country if anyone knows of a domain expert of feline diabetes.

Should I bring him to the University of Minnesota vet. Are University vets typically better than like a VCA vet? It's too early to send off the tests for acro and IAA though, so should I wait?

I bought Ketones strips last night. What techniques can be used to use these? My cat tends to pee in the same exact spot. Yesterday, I tried hovering it over the area he was peeing, but couldn't tell if it made contact. I then pushed it into the freshly soiled clump and the strip came out the same color it when it was unused.
 
Last edited:
In the vets defense, PU/PD and litterbox issues basically go hand in hand with diabetes. It can also be behavioral - for example, Mr Kitty misses the litterbox and doesn't cover his poop when he doesn't feel good (even if BG is fine). Assuming they did urinalyses, cultures, etc to rule out other problems.

It does seem you are thoroughly dissatisfied with your vet. I wouldn't be so quick to dismiss general practice vets, I hear your frustration. You could always post in the Main Forum asking for vet recommendations in your area, if you're comfortable sharing location. Theres also a Facebook group associated with this forum, lot of people on there that don't always pop over here. Can ask them for recommendations too. I actually found my vet (a wonderful general practice vet) by asking my local Facebook mom's group page for recommendations.

I can't really speak to vet schools, but I will say from what I understand they do tend to be more up to date on latest research, treatments, ideas, etc. Perhaps they'll do a virtual visit with you?

Housekeeping notes when you get a chance please start a new thread, this one getting rather long. Just put a link to this post in your new one so we can go back and look at history
 
Thanks for the tips and ongoing help!

Housekeeping notes when you get a chance please start a new thread, this one getting rather long. Just put a link to this post in your new one so we can go back and look at history
Sure, I can create a new thread... By "long", you mean vertically long? Why are these forums not using pagination? Who is the admin of these forums? Xenforo for sure supports pagination, why is it turned off?

edit: Part 3 thread here: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/misters-dosing-pt-3.259606/
 
Last edited:
Back
Top