Missing Diabetic cat finally home.

Status
Not open for further replies.

MarkWB

Member Since 2014
About seven months ago my diabetic cat went missing. I was not very well versed in treating diabetic felines and I simply followed my vets instructions of administrating insulin twice a day after his diagnosis. His lost weight came back gradually (to a max of 19 lbs, he wasn't obese just a big cat) and life for him was back to normal. He was sitting out on the sunny porch as he always did since I moved off the nearby military base and into the town next door about 10 years ago. My cat never wandered off the porch and much to my horror an elderly neighbor informed me she saw a little girl carrying a big white cat towards the nearby apartment complex. After weeks of knocking on doors and putting up fliers all around my block, town, and craigslist I could only hope my sick cat would be returned to me. It had a collar, and had a microchip to identify him as my cat. Unfortunately months went by and I was resigned to the idea that my cat was lost to me forever.

Then, about three weeks ago, I receive an email from the vet clinic on the military base I used to live on a decade ago informing me that they have my cat and I have until that upcoming friday to retrieve him or he'll be put down. He was dropped off by someone who said they saw him wandering around their neighborhood. Needless to say I fetched him that same evening and went straight to my local vet. My gorgeous cat I adopted as a young boy when the next door neighbors kicked him out because the father was allergic was now 6 pounds, delirious, and looked more skeletal than any cat I have ever laid eyes on. The vet was astonished he was still alive. I have been fortunate enough not to have had many reasons to weep in my life but weep I did when I carried him back to my home.

I have educated myself as diligently as possible so far on the topics but I am still a novice with many things to learn if I want to make my cat comfortable for his final years. He was always on a diet of canned food but now I supplement his meals with chicken liver which he enjoys. I learned the hard way that vets, while professionals, are not always well versed in little nuances that make enormous differences in sick animals. My cat reacted very negatively to a increase of the insulin Novalin N of 1 unit to 2 units. Luckily I saw these strange symptoms (very wobbly legs, muscle twitching) and discovered his hypoglycemia attack before it degraded. I purchased a home testing kit and we have both been getting much better at checking his BG levels.

As of late his appetite has become almost non-existent for most of the day. I made the mistake of assuming he ate the food left for him this morning but his extremely low BG levels (31 on a lunch time check) leads me to believe he skipped it and let my other cat pig out. I have been monitoring him all day and have rubbed his gums with honey on three separate occasions. His levels increased to 59 and then in the evening he was at 135. He ate only a little today and continues to walk with that troubling gait with the occasional howl as he moves to drink water and relieve himself in his cat box.

I'm fairly poor as a college student and while I can make the purchases of testing supplies and food stuffs, I am unable to afford the finer tuned feline insulins.

I am here mostly to read and re-read posts by other users with similar situations to my own but I do have a few questions of my own and I would readily accept the support of this community.

I skipped his evening insulin dosage as I was uncomfortable providing one with him having eaten so little today. As of now I checked his blood glucose with the meter and it came out with an error message that indicates either the strip is faulty or his levels are beyond 600. I did the test again while the spot was still providing a fresh sample and again I got an error message that indicates a faulty strip or levels beyond 600. Is this possible?

I am considering following the instructions of a user who created a shake of liver and eggs (with a few other ingredients) while adding a b12 supplement (Methylcolomin I believe? I'm unsure how its spelled) for the damaged nerves in his legs. Has anyone else tried this or a similar meal combination? Does anyone have any experience force feeding a cat? Please share your advice because I believe that to be my next course of action if he still refuses to eat properly tomorrow.
 
I'm glad you found your cat. :YMHUG: It sounds like an angel helped to bring him back home to you.
I'm glad you are testing his blood glucose. When a cat gets into the really low numbers like that 31, they will often bounce really high afterwards.
That 31 reading you got, was scary low. I'm glad you caught it and gave him some honey right away. You did the right thing in continuing to test him, as the rise in BGs from the honey can wear off faster than you think and he could go back to really low again. If my cat had a 31 reading, I would test every 15 to 20 minutes until he was steadily up into the 50s without food (or honey) for at least an hour.

I would suggest strongly that you go get some ketone test strips first thing in the morning to make sure he does not have ketones. Write the date on the outside of the box as they are good for 6 months from the date you open them.

Cats can not go for very long without eating. There is a Yahoo Group called Feline Assisted Feeding.
Here is a link to The Liver Shake For Sick Cats and to a good video on How To Assist Feed.

Humulin N is a very strong Insulin meaning it can bring his numbers down very fast, and it does not have a long duration in cats meaning it's affects on BGs only lasts about 8 hours or so. I would look into getting one of the more gentle longer duration insulins that will hopefully produce a much flatter curve (how the BGs lay out for the cycle). Those insulin are PZI, Levemir, and Lantus. Here is a link to a Lantus coupon that you can use to buy one pen at a time for $25.00. The pen can last you a couple months. You have to shop around to find a pharmacy that will take the coupon. I have heard that some Walmarts, some Walgreens, some Targets do.

Keep asking questions, and I wish you the Best Of Luck with your kitty.
 
Thank you for the reply! I've been monitoring him all night, he's still having a lot of trouble walking and can only take a few steps before laying down. I've had to administer more honey and he ate a few bits of chicken on his own before losing interest. I assist fed a few more bits and waited about ten minutes before testing him. I got a BG reading of 212 which is very comforting. Its been 22 hours since his last insulin shot. I am very grateful for the coupon and I will see which store around here will take it.

I'm going to blend his chicken livers up see how that will turn out.
 
Have not administered any more honey thus far. Checked and rechecked his BG levels just now. Got a reading of 208 and 202. Its been about an hour since the last check. I believe I have weathered this storm but I'm still very cautious. I'll be leaving for class soon and while I doubt he'll eat the canned food I've left for him I wont be gone terribly long before I can come home for a bit to check on him.
 
Your vet will need to provide a prescription for the Lantus Solostar pen for you to be able to use that Lantus coupon. The pen is in essence a miniature vial, 3mL unlike the normal 10mL vial.

Some of the most inexpensive test strips available are for the Relion Prime meter, available at Wal-Mart. It does need a slightly larger blood drop (5 microliters) than the Relion Confirm or Micro meters (3 microliters).

What meter are you using for testing?

What food are you feeding?

The "troubling gait" you mention could be diabetic neuropathy.
 
You may need to dose every 8 hours if you continue with the Humulin N insulin.

PZI might be a cost-effective improvement over the N, as it lasts about 12 hours.

p.s. We use the candle icons to represent the passing of our cats. You may want to go to your first post on this thread, hit edit, and change the selected icon to something else.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top