Ruthe and Smokey (GA)
Member Since 2010
Ok...different cat absolutely means different dosing! WAY different. Whereas Smokey was a very high dose cat, Miss Rugs is different.
Friday
AM preshot was 336 ( but didn't pick up insulin till pm so no shot)
PM preshot - 405 I unit
+4 76
+6 38 - non symphomatic - feed small amount of "crunchies"
+8 211
Saturday
AM preshot 228 - no shot
Met with vet and he suggested giving her the day to "reset" and reduce to 1/2 unit
10 PM 415 1/2 unit
+5 235
Sunday
9:15 AM (+11) 98 - no shot
1:10 PM (+15) 147 - no shot - was going to be out for 6 hours
7:30 PM (+21.5) 411 - 1/2 unit
Going to stay up to get a +4 shot before I turn in. I know that with Smokey, I would think nothing of giving a full dose at that 98, but this is a different cat with way different reactions. I don't want her to be going up into the 400s, but I am out of the house for 10 hours and am at least 45 minutes away so can't do the spot checks like I used to at lunchtime. I need to feel that she will be safe while i am gone. Am going to get some 1/2 unit marked syringes so I can give her smaller doses. Never dreamed I would be saying those words!
She isn't liking testing so I got some Liv a Littles that she gets only when I test her. She and the rest of the crew REALLY like them!
My cats all free feed canned food and I am not going to change that. They eat a little bit of everything from 9 Lives & Friskies to Fancy Feast to Wellness and Merrick and Tiki Cat. They are all 14 & 15 and do best when they can graze freely. Change is very stressful and after moving in August, the last thing I want is to stress them out with another change. It will take a little tweaking but I know we can get it to work.
Will keep y'all updated when I can.
xoxo
Ruthe and Miss Rugs
Friday
AM preshot was 336 ( but didn't pick up insulin till pm so no shot)
PM preshot - 405 I unit
+4 76
+6 38 - non symphomatic - feed small amount of "crunchies"
+8 211
Saturday
AM preshot 228 - no shot
Met with vet and he suggested giving her the day to "reset" and reduce to 1/2 unit
10 PM 415 1/2 unit
+5 235
Sunday
9:15 AM (+11) 98 - no shot
1:10 PM (+15) 147 - no shot - was going to be out for 6 hours
7:30 PM (+21.5) 411 - 1/2 unit
Going to stay up to get a +4 shot before I turn in. I know that with Smokey, I would think nothing of giving a full dose at that 98, but this is a different cat with way different reactions. I don't want her to be going up into the 400s, but I am out of the house for 10 hours and am at least 45 minutes away so can't do the spot checks like I used to at lunchtime. I need to feel that she will be safe while i am gone. Am going to get some 1/2 unit marked syringes so I can give her smaller doses. Never dreamed I would be saying those words!
She isn't liking testing so I got some Liv a Littles that she gets only when I test her. She and the rest of the crew REALLY like them!
My cats all free feed canned food and I am not going to change that. They eat a little bit of everything from 9 Lives & Friskies to Fancy Feast to Wellness and Merrick and Tiki Cat. They are all 14 & 15 and do best when they can graze freely. Change is very stressful and after moving in August, the last thing I want is to stress them out with another change. It will take a little tweaking but I know we can get it to work.
Will keep y'all updated when I can.
xoxo
Ruthe and Miss Rugs