Miss Kitty's Foster Mom-New to board (Mom to Buddy)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi! I am new to the board and am fostering a Diabetic Cat named Miss Kitty. (Maybe we can come up with a different name.) I am Barbara's daughter (Thumper's mom), and I also just adopted Buddy, the Siamese, who is OTJ (he was already OTJ when I got him, thanks to his foster mom, Marty!). :mrgreen:
I am using Lantus for Miss Kitty. Miss Kitty's numbers were 327 at 8:26pm and 233 at 10:02pm. We gave her .5 of Lantus at 8:52pm. She was very scared when she first came home. Of course, I was upset because I've never had a cat coming from her situation. Since then, she has calmed down nicely-she is rubbing on us, exploring, and is no longer "crouching" instead of walking! She even started to purr while my husband was sitting with her. She is a beautiful cat, and reminds me of my Josie, who is still at my mom's house because she is attached to Petey (another of mom's cats), and my dad! cat_pet_icon I'm sure some of you have heard of them! :-D
Buddy is quite the jealous type! He does not like it when I go into the bathroom where Kitty is and shut the door. He sits in the hallway and meows and waits for me to come back out. He's very spoiled, and he's only been here about a week! :-D
Anyways, I just wanted to introduce myself. Hopefully I can figure everything out! :?
 
Welcome! We love your Mom and Thumper. How great to have two FD parents in the family.

It sounds like your new kitties are settling in nicely. I don't use your insulin so can't help with that.
 
Hi Jennifer!!! So glad to hear Buddy is doing well!!! How quickly they get attached to the one that helps them! :-D

And kudos to you for taking in Miss Kitty! You may want to post on the Lantus board to get more advice on the insulin, but feel free to pop in over at PZI or post here if you want to give the rest of us an update! So many here are familiar with Buddy!

Congrats on your new additions!!!

Lu-Ann
 
Hi and welcome to FDMB! Like Sue said, we love your Mom and Thumper, and especially Petunia! Are you the daughter who got married last September? We heard some great stories from your Mom around that time! :-D

You're awesome to take two FD kitties into your home, even if one was "broken" when he got to you and didn't need insulin anymore. You will pick this stuff up quick, and you'll find everyone here likes to do anything and everything possible to help you out.

Carl
 
Hi!
Yes, I'm the one who got married in September....don't believe everything she tells you if those stories were bad! :-D I couldn't resist Miss Kitty when I saw her...she looks so much like Josie, and I hate how people just throw their animals out because they get sick. cat(2)_steam

Lu-Ann,
I posted on the "relaxed" Lantus site. My mom is helping me out a lot also. Buddy knows something is different-he's a mess! dancing_cat Thanks again for helping to get him here!
 
No, they were all good stories! A lot of stuff was going on at that time.... a hurricane, your wedding, the appearance of Petunia and Thumper driving your Mom crazy with weird BG numbers. Lots of laughs last September in PZI land! Your Mom was just a little bit stressed. :lol:

Carl
 
jhaslip said:
Hi!
Yes, I'm the one who got married in September....don't believe everything she tells you if those stories were bad! :-D
They know the story about the Fancy Feast commercial & me considering taking Thumper to the church, in a crate of course! :lol:

Sue might have to help get a SS going, we need to work on that today. When you post her #'s it would be like this, until you get her SS going:

AMPS (for morning pre shot BG #)
+1 -
+2 - & so on - you won't have to get a reading every hour so the + will be how ever many hours after her shot.
The first test we got was I think 298? She was not eating well so we waited a couple of hours after she finally ate a little before testing again.
PMPS - 327 (this is the evening pre shot #)
shot .5 Lantus
+1 - 233
+2 - 213
AMPS - 103
no shot for now!

I just filled in some #'s for you so you could see how to post them. I like that AMPS - hoping we have another broken diabetic!

I don't have any real experience with rescues but this kitty was terrified, I actually thought she was sick when I first saw her. Some of you may have read about her on DCIN's FB page but she was just saved from being PTS this past week & has been at someone's house that works for the rescue. She was turned in the the shelter by her owners. :sad:

Buddy is not happy when Jennifer goes in to take care of Miss Kitty, he sat outside the bedroom door & cried. Miss Kitty is in the bathroom with the door shut & the bedroom door is shut also so they have no contact for now.

Barbara
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top