Miss Kitty

Status
Not open for further replies.
Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
Try going over to the right hand side of your original and make sure Share to Anyone with the Link is chosen. Then go to the left hand side, choose Publish,start publishing and copy the url that comes up in that box. Paste it in your signaure, highlight it and choose the URL button at the top of the box. Then choose submit. M

See if that works.

Did you try to publish (share) Miss Kitty's spreadsheet yet? It sure would be helpful to see all of her test numbers/doses/etc. at a glance. If you need more help....please post your question. :smile:
 
Please keep an eye on Miss Kitty and test/post her numbers as soon as you get this post. Feeling that 2 units in the 200 range at only 9 hours after AM shot might be a little much.

Any luck on getting her spreadsheet to "share"? We need to see her numbers on it to help you keep Miss Kitty safe with good doses.
 
im having trouble with the spreadsheet......cant get it to publish to web.......miss kitties sugar this morning was 219-- 3.0 units given. will check again approximately at 1pm.
 
Please see your private message at the top of the page. I can help with the spreadsheet. We could also talk on the phone about how the site works.


3 units could be too much insulin for a 219 preshot. We suggest you don't dose when the number is 200 or lower and 219 is very close to that. Please get a number in 2 hours and post. It is possible she will be dropping low today and you will need to interevene with food.

I understand you have trouble negotiating the site and reading your posts, but we have been warning you that you are giving her too much insulin. You need to reduce the amount, not increase,
 
While you're working on the spreadsheet, please list daily glucose tests like this:

AMPS test value - morning (AM) pre-shot test; units of insulin given

+2 test value - any test taken 2 hours after the shot, if done

+5 test value - any test taken 5 hours after the shot, if done

+7 test value - any test taken 7 hours after the shot, if done

PMPS test value - evening (PM) pre-shot test ; units of insulin given
 
Using the format I explained above:
AMPS ~ 218; 3 units
+8 ~ 101

Its too soon for another shot.
Insulin is usually given every 12 hours, or as close to it as possible, unless you are shooting a special schedule.
 
There it is! The spreadsheet is up. Now you need to get it into your signature so it comes up automatically updated, each time you post.

Go over to the Left hand side of your spreadsheet. Choose File, then Publish to the Web. In the next box, choose Start Publishing and check Automatic Republish. The url that comes up in the box below is the one you put in your signature. So highlight it and copy it. Then go back to the message board and go to User Control Panel and Profile. Choose Edit Signature. Add the url you have copied to the box and choose Submit. Now it will show up each time you post.

Re your numbers. You want to dose twice daily, 12 hours apart. So the first necessary part is to test every morning before the shot and every evening before the shot. Here is the protocol for ProZinc. It explains how to deal with the numbers.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=109077

Miss Kitty is getting good numbers especially as you have only been shooting once daily, but it looks like the dose is way too high as it is lasting close to 24 hours. How about doing a restart? Test every am and pm and if she is over 200, shoot one unit. Get some midcycle numbers. See if you get a shootable number in the evening and if her numbers stabilize a little.
 
Just observing. It appears that Miss Kitty may be getting shots twice/day, but because of multiple line entries, it appears to us that it is shots once/day.

Miss Kitty's Mom, all the entries for one day stay on the same line. The numbers on the left side of the page are for the morning cycle and the numbers on the right are for the evening cycle.

Please ask the questions you have. Please respond to people's advice, especially if you have questions about it.
 
Thanks, Venita. I did miss that, but my suggestion is still the same. I would do a restart at one unit, test before each shot and midcycle and increase by .25 IF you get higher numbers.
 
So was she at 215 this am and you gave two units? If so, put the 215 under the amps cell on the left hand side. Then any numbers you get go in the +3, +6 cells along that same line (+3 is the number 3 hours after the shot.) Tonight your number goes under the pmps on the right hand side with the units given under the U box.

Two units is a pretty high dose for 215, which is very close to our 200 threshold for new diabetes not to shoot. I am very worried that she is going down low during the day with that much insulin. Can you get a number 5-7 hours after the shot to see?

What did you think about doing a restart at one unit?

Your first url worked. The second one doesn't. Get rid of the s.
 
will do another reading about three pm, and hopefully i will get this spreadsheet right for miss kitty!..lol
 
I took some time and (RE)created Miss Kitty's spreadsheet the way it should be done. Here is the link so you can see how to enter the data. You can't edit the one in this link...it is just for you to view and learn. Also, your set-up was confusing to those of us here when we were trying to help you.

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc?key=0Ak6sDnbZca-jdFBxellxZDg0NDloRDFjT2pmcEJOTkE#gid=0

I hope seeing your data in this format will help you understand why we are all concerned about the high doses at low numbers you are shooting. Please set your own copy to be like the one here and post any questions you may have. :smile:

Hope this helps. :smile:

VERY IMPORTANT>>>>Please try to get some mid-cycle tests over the next few days and post them so we can see how the insulin is really working.
 
8hrs after first reading this morning........3pm- 69...........this morning it was 268 and gave 3.0 units..........will retest in about four hours
 
PLEASE consider lowering the dose. If she was 69 8 hours after the shot, she could have been in hypo territory earlier than that. I am worried your kitty will have a hypo at these high doses.
 
Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
PLEASE consider lowering the dose. If she was 69 8 hours after the shot, she could have been in hypo territory earlier than that. I am worried your kitty will have a hypo at these high doses.


I agree a zillion percent!! Are you able to read our posts .... are they not showing up or something?
 
We aren't saying to give no insulin. We are suggesting that if he is over 200 -250 that you give one unit. Keep that dose a few cycles and see what his midcycle numbers look like. If he is higher than you want, then increase by .25 units and watch for a few more cycles.
 
Too much insulin can kill your cat. No 'ifs', no 'ands', no 'buts'. Treat it cautiously and with respect.

With ProZinc, the nadir may be in the +5 to +6 time frame. That is when you're likely to see how low she goes. You want it no lower than 50 mg/dL at the nadir.

Any lower than that, and you should intervene using 1-2 teaspoons of high carb food, wait 30 minutes, retest and if still low, repeat every 30 minutes until rising and closer to 100 mg/dL.
 
thank you soo much! since im new at this, i only want whats best for my pretty girls...will proceed with one unit of prozinc
 
Since your are lowering the dose, PLEASE update your spreadsheet so we can see how it is working. :smile:
 
sorry ive been unable to get online. my modem went out. just now got a new modem. will post spreadsheet update for miss kitty
 
How is Miss Kitty doing today?

Hope your computer is working now so you can update her spreadsheet. :smile:
 
my computer has been acting up, i do have all the readings, that im having trouble attaching for some reason. will keep trying.....last night miss kittys sugar was 276 at 9:44pm, gave 2 units.
 
Hi Denise,

I sent you a copy of the spreadsheet with the numbers all in one line for each day, the way we generally do it. It makes it so much easier to read. Also sent you a private message about it. See "1 new message" above.
 
lets see if the spreadsheet posts....miss kitties sugar this morning was 119...2.0 units of prozinc given and will test in two hours
 
Wow. The doses you are giving are really scary. We urge new diabetics not to shoot under 200. She is half that and you shot two units. Please get a number in 2 hours and see where she is.

Your spreadsheet is only through the first week of January. Did you get the spreadsheet I sent to your email?
 
W H O A ! ! !

I hope your cat is OK.

If you see signs of disorientation, pacing, yowling, etc, immediately feed 1-2 teaspoons of HIGH carb gravy or a few drops of Karo or other syrup and then test the glucose.
If your cat is unconscious, rub the Karo on the gums and have someone drive you to the veterinary ER. Hypoglycemia can kill.

We suggest new insulin users be cautious with shooting low numbers due to the risk of hypoglycemia.
Another thing that can happen is the unaccustomed low from the insulin may cause a bounce - a release of compensatory hormones which elevate glucose.
 
Wow...I'm with BJ and Sue. 2 units at that number can be really dangerous. Please please watch your kitty and test in 2 hours . If you aren't sure what doses to give, we'd be happy to help if you post numbers. A lot of us post daily on the PZI board and help each other with dosing suggestions.
 
How is Miss Kitty??????? nailbite_smile

Please update your spreadsheet and post Miss Kitty's daily info every day. We are here to help.

Are you posting on the FD Facebook page???? Please post here in FDMB.

WE ARE VERY WORRIED ABOUT HER. nailbite_smile
 
miss kitty is doing well. i havent posted her spreadsheet lately however im still keeping track of her glucose readings. ive had some pc problems, and a lot going on. here are her readings to date....
 
Your ss still only shows data until 1-4-14. Is there another one that is not linked to your signature?
 
I have one all ready to goand can put it in your spreadsheet. Just send me a privates message with your password to the forum. I will sign in as you and attach it.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top