Miss Kitty

Status
Not open for further replies.

dedodude

Member Since 2013
Im so excited to finally find a site that is dedicated to helping felines with diabetes. My cats name is Miss Kitty. She is around 9 yrs old. She is a long haired, black, domestic feline. She weighs 17 pounds. She has been on insulin for approximately the past two years. She takes 6 units twice a day. She also suffers from neuropathy. Thank you for accepting me:) Denise Kress, Massillon, Ohio
 
Welcome Denise and Miss Kitty!

Can you tell us a bit more? What kind of insulin? What kind of food does she eat? Do you hometest? We have a very successful protocol that incorporates a mild, long lasting insulin, wet low carb food and testing blood sugars at home. We'll be glad to tell you more.
 
Neuropathy may be relieved with good glucose control and methylcobalamin, a specific form of Vitamin B12. VitaCost has one which is reasonably priced.
 
Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
Welcome Denise and Miss Kitty!

Can you tell us a bit more? What kind of insulin? What kind of food does she eat? Do you hometest? We have a very successful protocol that incorporates a mild, long lasting insulin, wet low carb food and testing blood sugars at home. We'll be glad to tell you more.

i do not home test. soon to be doing it though. she takes prozinc. eats royal caan high fiber, gastrointestinal food... 1/3 of a cup twice a day. id be interested in learning all youre willing to provide
 
We have a very successful protocol for feline diabetes, Denise and would love to help you and Miss Kitty. Six years is a long time to be on insulin, but we might be able to get her in better numbers and on a lower dose of insulin.

1. We suggest a slow, long lasting insulin. ProZinc is mild and long lasting, so you have that covered.
2. Next we advocate a low carb, wet diet. We like to feed under 8-10% carbs. There are several food charts you can use: Dr. Lisa’s food chart
Hobo’s Food Chart Rhiannon’s 8% and under list Royal Canin is higher carb than we would recommend. Does she have issues that require high fiber? You might read this website by a vet. She explains why wet low carb is best: www.catinfo.org

BUT if you change foods, do not change until you are hometesting. With our Oliver, the switch meant an overnight change of 100 points downward. If we hadn’t been testing and had given our usual amount., he could have hypoed.

2. So last but most importantly, hometesting. We think cats tend to be stressed at the vet and we know stress raises blood glucose levels. So we test our cats at home. You want to know what the number is before you give the shot to be sure the amount you are planning to give is safe. And testing midcycle will show you how the insulin is working. We use human glucometers and test on their ears or paws. Here is a video that shows you how it is done: Video for hometesting

I hope you do some more reading and research and ask lots of questions. If you would like, we have taught hundreds of people how to test and would be glad to teach you.
 
Once you are home testing, you will want to know what the numbers mean, so here you go!

Here are some glucose reference ranges used for decision making using glucometers. Human glucometer numbers are given first. Numbers in parentheses are for non-US meters. Numbers in curly braces are estimates for an AlphaTrak.

< 40 mg/dL (2.2 mmol/L) {< 70 mg/dL for an AlphaTrak}
- Treat as if HYPO if on insulin
- At nadir (lowest point between shots) in a long term diabetic (more than a year), may earn a reduction.

< 50 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L) {< 80 mg/dL for an AlphaTrak}
- If before nadir, steer with food, ie, give modest amounts of medium carb food to keep from going below 50 (2.8).
- At nadir, often indicates dose reduction is earned.

50 - 130 mg/dL (2.8 - 7.2 mmol/L) {80 - 160 mg/dL for an AlphaTrak}
- On insulin - great control when following a tight regulation protocol.
- Off insulin - normal numbers.
(May even go as low as the upper 30s (1.7 mmol/L){60s for an AlphaTrak}; if not on insulin, this can be safe.

= 150 mg/dL (8.3 mmol/L) {> 180 mg/dL for an AlphaTrak}
- no shot limit for ProZinc, PZI, or other non-depot insulins

> 150 mg/dL (8.3 mmol/L) {> 180 mg/dL for an AlphaTrak}
- At nadir, indicates a dose increase may be needed when following a tight regulation protocol.

200 mg/dL (11.1 mmol/L) {230 mg/dL for an AlphaTrak}
- no shot level for beginners; may slowly reduce to 150 mg/dL (8.3 mmol/L) {180 mg/dL} for long-acting insulins (Lantus, Levemir, and ProZinc) as data collection shows it is safe

180 - 280 mg/dL (10 - 15.6 mmol/L) {may be 210 - 310 mg/dL for an AlphaTrak}- Any time - The renal threshold (depending on data source and cat's renal function) where glucose spills into the urine.
- Test for ketones, glucose is too high.

>= 280 mg/dL (15.6 mmol/L) {may be >=310 mg/dL for an AlphaTrak}, if for most of the cycle between shots
- Uncontrolled diabetes and thus at risk for diabetic ketoacidosis and hepatic lipidosis
- Follow your insulin protocol for dose adjustments
- Test for ketones; if more than a trace level of ketones, go to vet ASAP.
 
Gosh Im so thrilled of all the helpful informaton youve provided! Now my pretty girl will be on the right track! confused_cat ...doctor just switched miss kitties food due to constipation. she is currently taking stool softeners as well. Cant wait to start home testing!
 
Glad you seem to now know what you need to do.
Could you please edit the above post to remove the candle. A candle means that a cat has has passed.
 
gonna try the paw to test blood sugar tonight. will let ya know how that goes. in the meantime im gonna try and get a photo of miss kitty on here for you guys to see. and again i cant stress enough how much i appreciate your advice, info, and kind words regarding miss kitty. she is my pride and joy since ive lost my mom. denise, massillon ohio
 
food she is now is the hard royal canan, gastrointestinal, with high fiber. she has had some constipation, so dr changed her food. should i also be feeding her perhaps the md wet food as well? even since we are trying to get her weight down a little too?
 
Have you checked out this website? The author is a vet who has thoroughly studied nutrition in diabetic cats and catsnwith urinary issues. She has great suggestions for food.

Www.catinfo.org

How did the testing go? Can we help?
 
ugh.....still havin some trouble testing miss kitties sugar. tried the ear and paw pad. so far i havent been able to to get any blood to come out. i havent been on lately due to being sick. bronchitis, sinus infection. im gonna keep trying to test. soon as i get a reading i will post.
 
Is it that you are not getting a good drop? Are you warming the ear for a minute or so? It needs to be very warm at first. What size lancet? 25-27 gauge work best in the beginning. Do you have something to poke against? Lots of people use a folded kleenix; I liked a small makeup sponge. If you are getting a good poke but not enough blood, sometimes a quick second poke in the same spot works.

Often it is also that you are afraid of hurting her and are too tentative. A quick, fast firm poke gets it done and finished fast. If she ever moves away, get the drop on your fingernail and test from there.

Keep trying, with a treat for cat and bean, regardless of how it goes. It takes awhile to get the routine and method that will work for the two of you, but you'll get it. :-D
 
Denise, would you be OK if DCIN could find someone to come over and give a hand's on demonstration of hometesting?
 
heck yeah! id love it if someone would come over for the testing. i was actually thinkin of takin her to the vet and see if he knows of a good way. miss kitty has been having some diarrhea the last two days. not sure if its this food the dr. switched her too or if shes actually got a cold or type of flu. shes not eatin too good today. she threw up white spit, and again this morning has loose stool.
 
I put a call out on our Facebook page. I will let you know if I find someone.

You might want to create a new post here on the Health forum to see whether there is someone near you who might come give a demonstration.
 
I'm in Columbus, OH and would be available to come up to Massilon on Sunday, mid-day, if that would work for you.
 
Its about 2 1/2 hours one way. I do that driving rescue transports.

Weekend after Christmas ?

Also, see my signature link Secondary Monitoring Tools. Many of those are helpful in monitoring status, although not as precise as blood glucose testing. Focus on urine ketone testing (ketones = not enough insulin, plus often an infection and not eating), thirst and urination, and appetite. The last 3 monitor cardinal signs of diabetes.
 
weekend after xmas would be fine and dandy:) i will use the urine strips in the meantime. right now i think her readings should be good, since weve just been to the vet and got her glucose tested... gosh i do appreciate your help!..so does Miss Kitty!
 
Click on the person icon under my name to send me a private message with your address and phone number. Lets aim for Sunday, as most of my rescue transports happen on Saturday.
 
BJ, I believe that DCIN's transport manager Claudia is in touch with Denise and has volunteered to give a home testing demo on Christmas Eve morning. Claudia is less than an hour away. Hopefully we can avoid you having an extra-long trip for something that already will have been done.
 
Thanks to Claudia, I can now test my babies glucose! Gave Miss Kitty some Friskies Pate tonight for her Xmas Eve dinner! She gobbled it up! She is now on mommies bed sleeping with a full belly. Her bg was 116 this morning. Getting ready to test again in about an hour or so. Denise
 
Welcome to the Vampire Club!

(Er ... I have a friend who lives up near there and was going to visit, too.)
 
Just did bg test. miss kitties sugar is 156....should i proceed with the 3.5 units of prozinc insulin?.........denise
 
Whoa!

I would be concerned with that dose given the food change and that you fed her within the last 2 hours.

How about half of that? And check glucose again in about 2-3 hours.

I'm concerned about hypoglycemia. Here are instructions on managing it. low glucose levels.

On the timing of some things:
We like to test, feed, and shoot within about 15 minutes worth of time.
When possible, we like to pick up the food 2 hours before test time.
 
Welcome to the vampire club!!

I agree with BJ that 3.5U ProZinc on a preshot of 156 isn't appropriate. I would likely have been more conservative than BJ and recommended no shot until Miss Kitty was over 180 or 200, because that is the "shoot/no shoot" line we give those who are new to the sugar dance.

Now it's time for you to get a spreadsheet started, Denise, and linked into your signature.

I believe these are the current directions. http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=18207 Someone will correct me if I am wrong.
 
You are giving a lot of insulin at low numbers. We generally tell new diabetics not to shoot at all under 200. If she were mine, I'd keep a close watch on her tonight.
 
Please check her about 5 hours after you gave the shot. That is when the numbers are likely to be heading the lowest.

Have you printed out the link I gave previously on low numbers and made sure you have the necessary supplies? If Miss Kitty's glucose goes too low, ie she has a hypoglycemic episode, she could die
 
yes and i do have all the necessary supplies, just having trouble with the spreadsheet publishing it to web
 
Try going over to the right hand side of your original and make sure Share to Anyone with the Link is chosen. Then go to the left hand side, choose Publish,start publishing and copy the url that comes up in that box. Paste it in your signaure, highlight it and choose the URL button at the top of the box. Then choose submit. M

See if that works.

So glad you didn't give insulin this am. I definitely would not shoot under 200.
 
dedodude said:
tested miss kitties sugar this morning at 6am- 112- no insulin given

That's likely because the preceeding dose was too high! Please drop the dose back down so you get a shootable number both morning and night. While you can adjust the dose using pre-shot numbers, you do not have much data collected on how it is affecting you cat. You want her to be safe and too much insulin can kill her. You are changing the diet and that alone may drop the glucose levels 100 mg/dL within 1-2 days or less.

The objective is to get no lower than 50 mg/dL at nadir. Nadir is usually about 5 1/2 hours after the shot, give or take a half hour.

Note: skipping a shot will result in an elevated glucose at next shot time. This is normal. Better too high for a day than too low for a moment. Grit your teeth, be patient, and do not increase.
 
I am a little concerned with your dosing. You need to get some midcycle numbers to see what is happening. If She is at 300 at preshot and she stays flat through the cycle, you might increase, but by .25 or .5. Not by a whole unit at a time. If she is at 300 at preshot and dips low at midcycle, then she may be bouncing and you might hold the dose a few cycles. If she is under 50 at midcycle, you definitely want to reduce the dose.

I hope you can get some tests in during the middle of the cycle.

We increase slowly so we don't go over a good dose and instead set up a cycle of bouncing.
 
Unfortunately we are just guessing since we have no midcycle numbers yet and have no idea where the insulin really took her. I would assume it took her lower than 200 as she is in that range at Pmps.

Is she still eating dry? Any wet at all? I am thinking the dry is keeping her safe (high) even though 3 units is normally too much for a 200 range preshot. For instance, when we switched Oliver from dry to wet, his numbers plunged overnight 100 points. Switching would make a nice change downward in her numbers and require less insulin. (it's like a human diabetic taking higher doses of insulin to compensate for eating donuts at every meal......)

I am trying to be conservative in my advice as I don't really know what the insulin is doing. If you are still feeding only dry, I guess 2 units.

Please work on getting some numbers midcycle so we can give you better advice.
 
she is eating 1/3 cup of high fiber/gastrointestinal royal cannin (hard food), and two tablespoons of canned friskies (wet food).........how many times a day should i be testing? denise/ miss kitty
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top