Amanda Weaver
Member Since 2017
So I wake up this morning and Mishu is no where to be seen. This is not normal because "normal" is her being right beside me or waking me up before the alarm for food. It took me 15 minutes to find her, she was sitting in the cat carrier by herself with the door almost closed. Of course I am panicking and she doesnt want food so I check her bg - 165. Pretty normal number for her. She leaves and goes right back into the carrier. I called the vet, but they couldn't see her immediately, so I had to go to work and husband took her over there.
After bloodwork, they're pleased with how her bg is stabilizing. On their scales she was 302 and that was Prozinc free for 14 hours. I skipped her dose this morning since she would not eat. The diet is helping a lot though.
TP and Glob are elevated enough that they say something else is going on and they are going to do x-rays. They tell me with older cats, cancer is always something to look for and the x rays will see if there are tumors they didn't know about. We're doing all this by phone calls now because husband has left to go home while she stays there for the day.
When the x rays come back it shows no masses, but instead she is super constipated with what looks like bone fragments in her intestines! Has anyone dealt with this?????????? Mishu's getting fluids and an enema to try to break down things and get it moving so they can see exactly what is inside her, but their guess is bones. This was very strange to me since I have no idea how she could have eaten bones. My vet said with the wet food they grind up meat and bones all together and it could have just been not ground well enough and blocked her up. She is on Friskies pate fyi. Soon enough I will know what is actually in there. Do you guys have problems with bones in wet food? I've never felt so new to so many things related to this cat.
After bloodwork, they're pleased with how her bg is stabilizing. On their scales she was 302 and that was Prozinc free for 14 hours. I skipped her dose this morning since she would not eat. The diet is helping a lot though.
TP and Glob are elevated enough that they say something else is going on and they are going to do x-rays. They tell me with older cats, cancer is always something to look for and the x rays will see if there are tumors they didn't know about. We're doing all this by phone calls now because husband has left to go home while she stays there for the day.
When the x rays come back it shows no masses, but instead she is super constipated with what looks like bone fragments in her intestines! Has anyone dealt with this?????????? Mishu's getting fluids and an enema to try to break down things and get it moving so they can see exactly what is inside her, but their guess is bones. This was very strange to me since I have no idea how she could have eaten bones. My vet said with the wet food they grind up meat and bones all together and it could have just been not ground well enough and blocked her up. She is on Friskies pate fyi. Soon enough I will know what is actually in there. Do you guys have problems with bones in wet food? I've never felt so new to so many things related to this cat.
