Mishu- AMPS 154 - help on dose

Status
Not open for further replies.

Amanda Weaver

Member Since 2017
I shot her at 120 last night and she dropped as low as 60 before eating gravy food. This morning she was 154. Debating on half shot or no shot. We just began testing last night. Should I shoot or skip?

She's on 1u prozinc 2x day. I'm wondering if she didn't just need a low carb diet change and not insulin... she has been dx'd as of one week today.
 
Hi Amanda, There are a couple of options.

You could stall if you haven't fed her and your schedule allows. Don't feed her and retest in 20 minutes to see if her BG is rising or not and then if it is rising and closer to 200 you could shoot. It's early in the game for you and we usually recommend not shooting under 200 until you have a good bit of data however that advice could change if Mishu has any history of ketones/DKA.
 
Did you just change meters today? Your S/S says Relion as of today. If you were using a petmeter before you will find that the numbers on a human meter are lower than those on a pet meter.
 
No sorry - I need to change that wording I guess. We just got the meter. Today is first full day but last night was first cycle.


I decided to skip am dose because I ran out of time to wait.
 
No sorry - I need to change that wording I guess. We just got the meter. Today is first full day but last night was first cycle.


I decided to skip am dose because I ran out of time to wait.


OK thanks..wan't sure so I thought I would ask. As Linda said above it was a good choice to skip until you have more data as long as there was no history of DKA.
 
Hi Amanda, There are a couple of options.

You could stall if you haven't fed her and your schedule allows. Don't feed her and retest in 20 minutes to see if her BG is rising or not and then if it is rising and closer to 200 you could shoot. It's early in the game for you and we usually recommend not shooting under 200 until you have a good bit of data however that advice could change if Mishu has any history of ketones/DKA.

We have no history of anything at this point. I don't think there's been ketones but we are very new. Taking it one day at a time
 
I promise - it will calm down and you'll understand her responses better. It's very stressful at the beginning when there's so much to learn. You're in the right place to get support and advice and kudos to you for testing at home! :):)
 
Update for those following - 23 hours since the 1u dose and she's coming in at 205. I'm going to try lowering the dose to .5u instead of 1 (prozinc) tonight and will test again at +3 before bed.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top