Miou has a very low PMPS of 32 - Please advise

Status
Not open for further replies.

Elsa

Member Since 2013
She is at 32!!! Thats her PMPS
I have fed her
I am holding the insulin for the moment and would appreciate your advise

I have to add that she has been purring and following me and my mom around in the house.
She seemed only a bit more hungry than usually.
Should I give her some honey too?

I have been posting on the thread viewtopic.php?f=28&t=102537&p=1095911#p1095911

Sorry for double posting
 
Gosh - I don't know where everybody is... I am not one of the experienced members but when that happened to me, I was told to wait a half hour and test again. Do you have some high carb wet food ready? They may ask you to give a teaspoon full with a little honey in it. Again, I am not in the position to advise but I will go across the boards to find somebody. Hang tight.
 
Bad thing is I have only one spare test strip.... Murphy's law :(
I have high carb dry food and honey
 
She could be just fine - enjoying a nice low number. If it were me, I also would not give insulin. I posted on the TR since a lot of people check condos there. Hopefully someone will come by and give you better info.
 
Hi Elsa! I don't think I've stopped by your condo before so WELCOME!

Now, you need more strips - BIG TIME! Is there someone that can go get some for you? Definitely no shot right now and let's get her up some. Give spoonful of an HC food (not dry) and yes, test in 30 minutes. Do you HAVE any HC wet? With that low, you'll need to test several times over the next few hours so one strip isn't going to go far to make sure she's back in safe territory. I don't normally give advice as MY cats aren't regulated...

HUGS!!!!
 
Hi there. I would plan on skipping tonight to let the depot drain a bit as that is a very low number. I would also give a reduction after a number that low for tomorrow's shot, but I'm not sure what you should reduce to because your doses have been inconsistent. Going forward, if you can pick a dose that allows you to shoot twice a day that would be best as Lantus works best when given in consistent doses.

Also, you may want to determine a PS number that you won't shoot below. Usually for new members that number is 200. When you have a PS below 200 you can stall the shot, don't feed, and post here and someone will help you. Usually only experienced members would shoot as low as you did this morning.

For now, I'd continue offering a teaspoon or two of medium to high carb food every 30 minutes. Is there anyone someone can go out and get strips for you?
 
If you don't have any HC wet food, you can mix in a little bit of karo syrup or honey with some regular low carb food and water and even a bit of flour. Just give a tiny bit since you don't want her eating too much if you need to continue feeding her over the next hour or so.

Is there anyone else around? How long would it take for you to run out and get strips?
 
I am really sorry its 22:15 here in Greece and the shops are closed. I can't get any extra strips or HC wet food. I thought any HC food was ok...
I am obviously doing everything wrong
I will give her some honey mixed with her wet food and test in half an hour
 
The reason dry isn't recommended is because it takes too long to hit the system. We need to get her numbers up a bit and keep her from dropping lower, which you can't do very well with dry.

You're not "doing everything wrong." You're learning still and there's bound to be a few mistakes. Your cat is alive and you're on top of things. You can do this! We're here to help.
 
How many strips do you have left? Just the one? I would hold off on testing her in a half hour and simply feed her a little more honey/food mixture every half hour for the next hour or so and then use the last test strip then. She should be higher by that point and, depending on the number, you might be able to leave her be for the rest of the night.
 
You are not doing everything wrong at all. You came here and posted a 911 so people could come in and help. That's the most right thing you could do.

Putting honey in a small amount of food is good. I know you only have one test strip left so it's a little nerve-wracking but you'll be in gear soon enough. It takes time for all the info to sink in - you're doing just fine.
 
Ok so Miou just ate (with huge appetite I must say) half a teaspoon of honey, and wet food sprinkled with some flour!!!
I will try and keep calm
I am monitoring her closely (actually she is, as she is constantly following me in the house)
I have to say she seems fine
I will do as KPassa suggested and feed her in the next half hour again with honey and wetfood with flour, and then test her on the hour
 
See my comment here about reducing the dose across the board to 2u going forward. If at any time Miou drops below 50, that's an automatic dose reduction. Since you shot 2u on a 68 this morning, we're going to discount today's low for the time being and not do a decrease. You also want to reduce the dose any time you miss two or more shots because of too low a pre-shot number. Our general "no shoot" rule for new members is 200, but since you've already been shooting fairly low numbers, I'd probably say you're safe to shoot as long as the pre-shot is over 150.

For tomorrow's shot time, will you be able to get more test strips by then? I'm hesitant to say whether or not to give a shot tomorrow if you can't test the pre-shot because she might still be running low from the residual Lantus depot. Then again, she might be running high from either a bounce from today's low numbers and/or the honey.

I might even suggest starting over on the dosing scale with 1u for a few days and see how she does.
 
KPassa said:
See my comment here about reducing the dose across the board to 2u going forward. If at any time Miou drops below 50, that's an automatic dose reduction. Since you shot 2u on a 68 this morning, we're going to discount today's low for the time being and not do a decrease. You also want to reduce the dose any time you miss two or more shots because of too low a pre-shot number. Our general "no shoot" rule for new members is 200, but since you've already been shooting fairly low numbers, I'd probably say you're safe to shoot as long as the pre-shot is over 150.
Ok I understand that.
KPassa said:
For tomorrow's shot time, will you be able to get more test strips by then?
Yes I will have some strips by that time from a diabetic friend (just I can't buy - pharmacies are closed on weekends)
How do I go on from there... I mean you mentioned either being too low from the Lantus depot, or too high from the honey or a bounce

KPassa said:
I might even suggest starting over on the dosing scale with 1u for a few days and see how she does.
Should I go on with a 2u as you said further up or 1u

Sorry for asking so many questions, but I want to be sure I have not understood wrong


*** btw Miou is having her second round of honey and wetfood w/flour
 
Its feed, wait 30, test (if possible) and repeat as needed..
Since it is pmps, in a couple hours, the insulin should be wearing off.
Keep an eagle eye on her for symptoms, otherwise and know where an emergency vet is.

When do shops re-open?

I think I'd go with 1 actually.
 
BJM said:
When do shops re-open?
Its Friday night now and they reopen on Monday morning. I will have strips to test her AMPS and PMPS for the weekend first thing in the morning, but I can't ask for more than that from that diabetic friend.
 
OK.

Check my secondary monitoring tools for some more subtle indicators, such as water drunk, that you can do without going to a shop.

And better too high for a day, than too low for a moment.
 
KPassa has already given me the link for your Secondary monitoring tools and I have them in mind too

I will test her in about 10 minutes
 
Ok she climbed to 76, I think we are in a bit more safe territory. From what I have read here she might drop again, but I wont know how much.
I am keeping an eye on her

Thank you all guys so much for being next to us. It really feels good :)

I suppose I will have to go on with a 1u tomorrow morning if she is in a range that allows shooting
 
Sounds like a fun day! You are out of strips now yes? When are you planning to go to bed?

I agree with BJ, I would start back at 1unit and go with that for 3-5 days unless she drops under 50 again in which case you drop again to 0.75. Also I would try and get more mid cycle tests to ensure she isn't dropping too low on this new dose too

I think given past numbers you can shoot as low as 150.. Lower if you can be around to test during the day.

Wendy
 
Elsa said:
...I just want to confirm the dosage for tomorrow morning, as most of you guys won't be around at that time
If I understand right I will shoot only if her AMPS is >=150 with 1u right?

Absolutely. Until you get an ample supply of test strips, we don't want her to go low without you being able to monitor her for safety. Always have a spare box on hand and when you open it, order 1 or 2 more so you won't run out in an emergency.

If all you can get locally are urine testing strips that is better than nothing at all.
 
Ok that's a plan.
I shout a 1u if she is >=150 for the weekend.
After I get new storage of strips on Monday, I go on with the 1u for the day and try to get more in-between spot tests so we can re-evaluate and see if a further reduction is ok.

I have made some coffee and plan to work on a translation I am doing till I feel Miou is safe without me checking... Miou is already worried about my sanity cause I wake her every couple of minutes to be sure she is ok lol
Thank you all guys I will update if something changes. (hopefully I won't have to)

-----edit@00:41
As I am calming down and looking over Miou's numbers, I think that the food change must have been a factor in this decrease in BG
If you see her SS she started with wet food (Purina DM) on the 21st, the next day had the usual Purina DM DRY, and from the PM and on till now she is on Kippy wet food which is LC
 
Elsa said:
Ok that's a plan.
I shout a 1u if she is >=150 for the weekend.
After I get new storage of strips on Monday, I go on with the 1u for the day and try to get more in-between spot tests so we can re-evaluate and see if a further reduction is ok.

I have made some coffee and plan to work on a translation I am doing till I feel Miou is safe without me checking... Miou is already worried about my sanity cause I wake her every couple of minutes to be sure she is ok lol
Thank you all guys I will update if something changes. (hopefully I won't have to)

-----edit@00:41
As I am calming down and looking over Miou's numbers, I think that the food change must have been a factor in this decrease in BG
If you see her SS she started with wet food (Purina DM) on the 21st, the next day had the usual Purina DM DRY, and from the PM and on till now she is on Kippy wet food which is LC

That's a perfect plan. Sounds like you're catching on already! :thumbup And food changes will definitely drop those numbers. The 1u is a "safe" dose to restart with, especially because of the food change...that is if she even needs insulin. If she's still under 150 tomorrow, there's a very high chance she might be heading toward remission (paws and fingers crossed for you guys! :-D )
 
Just throwing in my 2 cents. :-D

Honey, please, please don't ever allow yourself to get that low on strips, again. It can literally mean the difference between life and death. You must know how kitty is doing.

As soon as you possibly can, get a few cans of high carb food and make a HYPO KIT for your baby. You should have a few cans of HC food, some honey or clear corn syrup and preferably an extra stash of strips for emergencies.

As you have seen, this can happen at any time and you have to be prepared for it, to keep your baby safe.

Hope all goes well for you. :YMHUG:
 
KPassa said:
If she's still under 150 tomorrow, there's a very high chance she might be heading toward remission (paws and fingers crossed for you guys! )
I hope this comes true too :)

nckitties3 said:
As you have seen, this can happen at any time and you have to be prepared for it, to keep your baby safe.
Well I learned this lesson the hard way. On Monday I am getting the kit ready, just in case.
 
Ok just to share the good news, Miou must be feeling good.
She is playing with the cicada her sister Alitra brought in from the balcony
dancing_cat
 
Elsa, where in Greece are you? This is a total shot in the dark, but I have a very close friend who's parents are both doctors in Greece. If anyone can get test strips on the weekend, it'd be them but I know Greece is a big country, so that figures into it.

I'd be happy to contact my friend for you if it would be possible to help you.
 
You have cicada's there too? I love their noise in the summer time :)

See if you can get your friend to give you enough for 4 strips a day? That would be enough to test before each shot and once at about 6 hours after each shot. Tell her that you'll pay her back when you get some strips. At least that's what I would do. Actually, I'd ask for a handful of strips myself :cool: See what you can do. I always get anxious when I am down to my last 100 test strips.
 
Chris & China said:
Elsa, where in Greece are you? This is a total shot in the dark, but I have a very close friend who's parents are both doctors in Greece. If anyone can get test strips on the weekend, it'd be them but I know Greece is a big country, so that figures into it.

I'd be happy to contact my friend for you if it would be possible to help you.
Chris, I leave in Athens, in a suburb called Palio Faliro. My bff's mother, father and husband are doctors, but still, they don't have any, so not sure if being a doctor means that they have strips for a glucometer.
I have already arranged with this diabetic friend who uses the same brand glucometer with me, so I don't think there is a reason to bother your friend in Greece. Also it seems a long shot to me that if they have strips they would be the ones used for my glucometer.
Thanks for trying to help though its much appreciated .

Dyana said:
You have cicada's there too? I love their noise in the summer time :)
Yes we do I love their noise too, but sometimes it can get too loud. Alitra (one of my other cats) likes to hold them between her lips while they are still alive, and carry them around. Imagine a cat that sounds like a cicada.
Dyana said:
See if you can get your friend to give you enough for 4 strips a day? That would be enough to test before each shot and once at about 6 hours after each shot. Tell her that you'll pay her back when you get some strips.
I would try that, but I know she won't take back the strips. But its a good idea, thanks
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top