Minnie’s Hospital Adventure & Recovery

Status
Not open for further replies.
Thank you all so much :bighug:

Good news. I spoke with the internal medicine vet who did the ultra sound and is doing the endoscopy. She seems very knowledgeable and I really liked her a lot. She said Minnie is in good spirits and she greeted her with head butts, lots of chatter and is putting smiles on everyone at the hospital :) She’s a asymptomatic for the pneumonia so that’s under control and no more diarrhea. They switched her to a fast acting insulin because she needs to fast to go under for the endoscopy. Last reading was 202. They’re checking every 4 hours. She’s concerned about a diabetic cat not eating so the feeding tube sounds like a great option for food and meds and it can actually stay long term if needed. Hoping to have more answers after the procedure today. She’ll likely have to stay overnight because they want to monitor the tube for the first 24 hours.

:cat:
Awe sweet Minnie, giving head butts, she is the perfect patient. I'm happy that you like the vet. Things seem to be looking up, please keep us updated, prayers for that sweet girl:bighug::bighug:
 
Ultrasound showed even more thickening of the intestines so they want to do an endoscopy and biopsy tomorrow to get to the bottom of it. They’ll also send her home with a feeding tube I can use to feed her if needed for the next 2 weeks. She’ll likely have to stay until Tuesday but I was assured she’s resting comfortably, hasn’t had any more diarrhea and on schedule to get her 2.5 units shortly at 7:30pm. BG is 352 which is not horrible with stress and missed dose last night.
Ale
Thank you all so much :bighug:

Good news. I spoke with the internal medicine vet who did the ultra sound and is doing the endoscopy. She seems very knowledgeable and I really liked her a lot. She said Minnie is in good spirits and she greeted her with head butts, lots of chatter and is putting smiles on everyone’s faces at the hospital :) She’s a asymptomatic for the pneumonia so that’s under control and no more diarrhea. They switched her to a fast acting insulin because she needs to fast to go under for the endoscopy. Last reading was 202. They’re checking every 4 hours. She’s concerned about a diabetic cat not eating so the feeding tube sounds like a great option for food and meds and it can actually stay long term if needed. Hoping to have more answers after the procedure today. She’ll likely have to stay overnight because they want to monitor the tube for the first 24 hours.

:cat:
more prayers for Ale and Minnie feel better Minnie sending a kitty kiss right on the nose
 
I changed the thread title so it doesn’t say help still not eating o_O

Vet called just now and endoscopy went well. There was an issue placing the feeding tube in her stomach so she opted for the throat instead because she felt it’d be safer and she said that’s what she’d have done for her cat at that moment. I’m fine either way as long as I can still feed her. She’s starting to wake up and they’re going to monitor overnight, she if she’ll eat on her own, switch her back to Lantus (they had her on a specialty fast acting insulin i never heard of that lasts 4 hours only) and I’ll have another update in the morning. The plan is that I’ll pick her up in the afternoon and they’ll show me how to use the tube. My mom had them towards the end so I’m confident I can figure it out. The good news is she didn’t see anything abnormal and I just have to wait for the biopsy results to come back this week.

I think we’re in the final stretch now and I had to break it to Bobo that he only has another 12 hours or so to continue being spoiled as the only child. He’s certainly milking it ;)

Also, I have to keep saying thank you because you ladies helped me make the right decisions and kept me sane through all of this. Even being able to read and comment on other posts while I was sitting in my car waiting news and helplessly freaking out was what kept me from a complete nervous breakdown :bighug:
 
You guys are too funny. Bobo is a mama’s boy and he always makes sure to get his one on one time and TLC, but he’s been great at waiting till I’m done with Minnie’s routine. I can’t say he missed his sister at all. He didn’t even look around the house for her so he’d probably be happy being the only child lol

She’ll have the esophagus tube on so I can administer all the gazillion meds she’s on now. It sounds like it takes about a week for the biopsy results and also waiting for the fecal and cobalamin folate blood tests.

more updates to come :cat:
 
C7B45620-B2C7-406D-BEF6-2AE51C1B8B39.jpeg
Not 100% and this tube is certainly uncomfortable but she did eat a few treats and I think just happy to be home :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 

Attachments

  • C7B45620-B2C7-406D-BEF6-2AE51C1B8B39.jpeg
    C7B45620-B2C7-406D-BEF6-2AE51C1B8B39.jpeg
    134.9 KB · Views: 301
I'm uploading Minnie's instructions for meds and feeding. I'd love to get some of you to review it. She's going to be eating 4 times a day only via the tube and it's quite a process because I have to flush her with water before and after first even if all I'm giving is meds. I'm blending her regular food with water and adding meds as needed. I'm concerned about the pain med because she's so lethargic and out of it right now that is hard to tell if she's in pain or drugged up and whether she needs it or not. Also, I feel this is the same pain med I tried a few years ago and she stayed wide awake pretty much all night so I'm afraid of that type of reaction again especially now that she needs to rest. I'm also going to have to rely on testing because again she's so out of it that it's going to be really hard for me to tell if she's going into hypo. The vet suggested I only give her 2U of lantus tonight. Do you guys agree? It might make sense if she's eating less. Of course, I still have to see if she won't vomit after I tube feed her :nailbiting::nailbiting::nailbiting:

Thanks!
 

Attachments

No worries on thinking that Minnie's BG was too low and giving her some honey to bring her back up. 232 is nice and safe. She'll undoubtedly bounce, but the honey wears off in a few hours.

I think we’re in the final stretch now and I had to break it to Bobo that he only has another 12 hours or so to continue being spoiled as the only child. He’s certainly milking it
Awwwww, poor Bobo.
Minnie looks really zonked out there, in post #68. At least she got some outside time.

I know you're happy to have Minnie home. Even if it is going to be some extra work feeding her through the feeding tube and all the extra testing. But, you've gotten much better at testing, so this should be easy peasy. We're happy to have her back home too. That shaved fur will grow right back, but I'm sure that Bobo will tease her endlessly about it. 'Cause that is what big brothers do.

My only questions are, did they suggest anything to help restore the gut bacteria killed off by the antibiotic (Clavamox)?
Are you going to continue some of the other supplements you currently give Minnie? Or did the vet's say to stop those for now?

Took a quick look at the discharge instructions. Looks like they covering everything. Never heard of the endosorb suspension, but it makes sense to "absorb gut toxins and reduce irritation and discomfort of diarrhea."

The buprenorphine is an opoid, which can cause constipation. See about backing off on the dose, if you can see if Minnie's pain is less. You don't want to stop the bupe completely or give too little, since pain management in cats is as important as it is in humans. It's a balancing act.

Giving a slightly reduced 2U dose, from Minnie's normal 2.5U dose is fine. You can always increase or decrease the dose as needed, and you will know that by testing.

p.s. One of my favorite things? The vet hospital really is called MASH!!! Someone had a sense of humor, when they named the place.
 
I do love MASH I’ve taken her there a few times they’re always incredibly busy but it’s first class care so I understand why. I wish it wasn’t just specialty. Wish they had a few regular vets I could take her to see there. I love the name too haha!

They didn’t talk about replenishing the gut bacteria and I didn’t ask because I’ve got her on probiotics at home anyway. So with her next and last meal of the day I’m adding the visbiome and s Boulardii probiotics spaced out from the antibiotics I gave earlier.

bobo is completely ignoring her. He’s really pissed and thinking dude, I thought you finally realized we don’t need a third wheel lol

okay, thank you for reviewing the discharge papers. She seems pretty out of it today so whatever they gave her there is pretty strong. I’ll see if she looks like she needs it tomorrow. Just hope it won’t have bad side effects. The vet talked about steroid of course as a treatment option but we’re not starting anything until the biopsy results. The tube testing at least today was super easy she slept through it. Hope it will be like this everyday. I know the fur will grow back my poor baby is all shaved up :(

quarantine is certainly the perfect time to play nurse and she’s a really great patient as long as I’m tiny trying to wipe her butt :eek: You’re right I’m getting better at testing and the ReliOn doesn’t scare me anymore. I’m a pro and thanks to you my friend! :smuggrin:

She’s getting the same amount of food and same type of food just blended with water which is actually good for her too so hoping her numbers will stay pretty consistent :cat:
 
Thank you ladies. She’s very lethargic. She finds a spot and stays there for hours. She can jump on things but she’s staying away from the stairs. I think it’s part the pain med she’s on or any of the other dozen meds she’s on now, the discomfort and having the tube and that thick colar around her neck. Tube feeding is going smoothly. She sleeps through it. I get more of a reaction when I test her. I just had to play with the thickness and amount of water, etc. I have to say it’s so easy to give meds this way. No fighting to pill her, but I know it’s uncomfortable so can’t wait for it to come off of her. I’m suppose to remove the collar and check her neck once a day so I’ll be doing that after the second tube feeding. I should have the biopsy and the other test results by Sunday the latest they said. Looking forward to having a recovery plan in place for her :cat:
 
Two kinds of nausea medications?
Oh well :D
The metoclopramide also helps the bowel movements to counteract constipation. In rabbits we use it every time they won't poop. Metoclopramide gives a poopparty!!!:D:p

All paws and fingers crossed for dear Minnie. Hope she recovers soon :bighug:
 
276 amps today and she ate about 1/2 can of FF on her own :bighug:

So happy for you and Minnie...i've been following the "adventure" and i am glad she is back home <3 If Minnie usually like cardboard boxes and paper bags...deconstruct one and put a small blanket on it. Worked for me 3 years ago when i wanted Bee to stay in the same place for the night so i could watch her from my bed.
 
So happy for you and Minnie...i've been following the "adventure" and i am glad she is back home <3 If Minnie usually like cardboard boxes and paper bags...deconstruct one and put a small blanket on it. Worked for me 3 years ago when i wanted Bee to stay in the same place for the night so i could watch her from my bed.
I have some dog beds she uses inside but that’s a great idea of the deck where she’s spending the entire day just moving from one spot to the other every few hours. Thank you!
 
If you're back to using Lantus, yes. It will take time to re-build the depot. Hopefully you will get a least a little action out of the shot and not see something too horrifying at PMPS, but don't worry if you do, it's expected...
Should I up her dose for a few days to compensate? She hasn’t peed much and I was wondering if that makes any difference in getting rid of the glucose and lowering the level. She’s getting 10ml of water with each feeding and about 1/8 mixed in with the food but she hasn’t peed since last night :nailbiting:
 
No, don't up the dose, but do test for ketones regularly.

That's a little disturbing that she's not peeing, but give her a little more time. I don't think it makes much difference in the BG, but it's a general health sign to watch.
To clarify, she peed a big puddle last night but hasn’t peed today. She might be holding it in because of discomfort but usually she pees once in the am and once in the pm.
 
On today’s episode of Minnie’s Hospital Adventure & Recovery brought to you by the amazing folks at MASH :D

She peed again right before bedtime so I guess she was really holding it in for some reason

I just have to say the apetite stimulant they have her on works like dynamite. About an hour after she took it she went in the kitchen and started meowing like crazy. It took me a minute to go is she hungry? So I gave her 1/2 a can of FF and she scarfed it down and continued meowing so I gave her another 1/2 and ate it all up too! I tube fed her after because I figured her stomach would get full and then she finally came down. I have a feeling she did eat overnight for the first time in months because when I woke up she was in the kitchen. Her BG test this am may be higher because I didn’t think to remove the food since she never does that but it’s high still anyway so I’m not too worried about it. Hope those numbers come down soon.

Anyway, if anyone has trouble with their cats not eating I highly recommend asking your vet for Mirtazapine. She’s getting 1/4 pill every other day
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top