Min. Bg level for injection?

Status
Not open for further replies.

taylor_hubbard

Member Since 2014
Hey friends. What is the minimum bg on a relion meter to shoot 1u of prozinc? I will update my kitties spreadsheet but he's at 177 right now and due for a shoot soon. Thanks!
 
First get another test in 20 minutes without feeding You want to make sure the number is rising not falling. We usually tell new diabetics not to shoot under 200 unless they have some data to support what the dose might do and can monitor. In any case, I'd plan to lower the dose a smidge
 
You should not shoot at under 200. If he hasn't risen to that by shot-time, stall - withholding food - and check the BG again in 15 minutes. Sometimes it takes 2 or more rounds of stalling to get the BG to rise on its own (not unusual). How far off (how many minutes) from now is shot-time?
 
First get another test in 20 minutes without feeding You want to make sure the number is rising not falling. We usually tell new diabetics not to shoot under 200 unless they have some data to support what the dose might do and can monitor. In any case, I'd plan to lower the dose a smidge
@Sue and Oliver (GA) - Ha! We crossed! (Did you get an alert re: my post to you about Sharon & Colin?)
 
My poor kitty is just bouncing since he's out of remission. I just updated his ss. I will test again and determine since its shoot time now.
 
That's a handsome boy you have there!
Have been looking @ his SS ... what has he been eating; how much & what's his feeding schedule these days?
What's his current weight - is he @ his at optimum weight now? Or underweight/ overweight?
Any symptoms (excessive peeing/ water-drinking) that could explain any of those high#s after he lost remission? (Did he have a UTI at some point, for example?)
 
Great questions and I know I need to update my signature bottom. He weighs 12lbs currently and eats 3-4 3oz cans if ff classics. Mostly beef or chicken. Yes still drinking more water and pee is hard to judge since he has heart disease and is on furosemide (lasiks). He did recently have a uti discovered in late July when he had teeth extracted. Pulled him out of remission. Now he's all over the place and is on prozinc (was on lantus in first go around). He is also peeing outside of litter box which is another issue. Oyi!
 
Great questions and I know I need to update my signature bottom. He weighs 12lbs currently and eats 3-4 3oz cans if ff classics. Mostly beef or chicken. Yes still drinking more water and pee is hard to judge since he has heart disease and is on furosemide (lasiks). He did recently have a uti discovered in late July when he had teeth extracted. Pulled him out of remission. Now he's all over the place and is on prozinc (was on lantus in first go around). He is also peeing outside of litter box which is another issue. Oyi!
So no other cats in your home?
How many times a day do you feed him currently? Do you just leave the food out for him during the day while you're at work?
 
Also, please change that preshot # to 212 on the SS; you can note that the 177 was your first PMPS test (& how many minutes between the 2 tests) in the comments section of the chart. The more detail we have to go by, the better guidance we can provide...;)
 
So no other cats in your home?
How many times a day do you feed him currently? Do you just leave the food out for him during the day while you're at work?
Sorry! I realize - from your signature - that you do have one other kitty - that's Zoey, the 1-yr-old, right?

The reason I'm asking all these feeding questions is that it will help me figure out what may be going on with him lately. So the ?s, plus 1:
- How many times a day do you feed him currently?
- Do you leave any food out during the day?
- Any chance he gets into your other cat's food?
 
Sorry! I realize - from your signature - that you do have one other kitty - that's Zoey, the 1-yr-old, right?

The reason I'm asking all these feeding questions is that it will help me figure out what may be going on with him lately. So the ?s, plus 1:
- How many times a day do you feed him currently?
- Do you leave any food out during the day?
- Any chance he gets into your other cat's food?

He eats at 7am/7pm with 1 can fancy feast per cat (she only eats wet as well). He may get a 1/2 at 5 or 5:30 cause his old meal time was then and is usually mad and whining and it's hard to wait till 7. I think he peed one time on my carpet out if retaliation for not being fed when hungry.

A separate issue is that we added another member to our family who is non fur! I have a 6mo old baby who is very active but not fussy. Tyrone didn't care at first but I also think the shift of attention is getting to him but we do play and pour our love onto him still as well. So I don't know....
 
He eats at 7am/7pm with 1 can fancy feast per cat (she only eats wet as well). He may get a 1/2 at 5 or 5:30 cause his old meal time was then and is usually mad and whining and it's hard to wait till 7. I think he peed one time on my carpet out if retaliation for not being fed when hungry.

A separate issue is that we added another member to our family who is non fur! I have a 6mo old baby who is very active but not fussy. Tyrone didn't care at first but I also think the shift of attention is getting to him but we do play and pour our love onto him still as well. So I don't know....
He eats at 7am/7pm with 1 can fancy feast per cat (she only eats wet as well). He may get a 1/2 at 5 or 5:30 cause his old meal time was then and is usually mad and whining and it's hard to wait till 7.
[Boldface in quote mine] Just a quick FYI: Since he's on insulin currently, you really should not feed him anything in that 2-hour window before an AMPS/PMPS - as this will raise his BG, resulting in an "artificially" increased pre-shot #.
 
Has Tyrone been back to the vet for another urinalysis for confirmation that his UTI has completely resolved? (Sometimes vets don't even do a recheck after treating a UTI; they may simply assume the antibiotic did the trick.)

The reason I ask this: When my cat had her very first UTI back in 2009, it actually took 3 rounds of antibiotics before it finally cleared. (The first 2 customary antibiotic choices for treating UTI didn't work on whatever "bug" caused hers!) Even though Tyrone may be a little jealous of the baby, he is on insulin now --- and with the exception of that single 177 PMPS you got last night, I'm not seeing all that much of a significant, overall drop in his AMPS/PMPS #s since the time (on 7/21) that his UTI had been identified. So could it be possible that the UTI is not entirely cleared up? (Or that there might still be some inflammation going on since those 3 teeth were extracted on 7/21?)
 
He went in once afterwards since being back on insulin. I know I need to being him in again. Just trying to juggle my time to do it (I own my own business). I doing a bg test at 5 before any food but not afterwards since I know his #s have been high anyhow. Just hard cause I was really focused the first round and it only took about 2-3 weeks to get remission and now so many more obstacles and his #s stink. I do love him so much so I'm gonna keep at it.
 
He went in once afterwards since being back on insulin. I know I need to being him in again. Just trying to juggle my time to do it (I own my own business). I doing a bg test at 5 before any food but not afterwards since I know his #s have been high anyhow. Just hard cause I was really focused the first round and it only took about 2-3 weeks to get remission and now so many more obstacles and his #s stink. I do love him so much so I'm gonna keep at it.
That's the spirit, Taylor!:)
I know how it is, being self-employed - that alone is so many balls to juggle at once. Add one diabetic kitty and ... OY!:rolleyes:
 
And yes, get him back to the vet as soon as you can to have his mouth checked & a urinalysis recheck, as any remaining inflammation or infection will greatly hinder your best efforts to get his #s back down. Keep us posted on that, ok?
 
One thing I notice is that the pmps tests are in good yellow territory while the amps are higher. There might be a couple explanations. I wonder if he drops low at night and bounces back up? Could you get a quick test mid cycle overnight (I know you are not getting much rest with the baby, but maybe a time when you are up anyway?). If he is dropping low, some food overnight around nadir might flatten things out. Sometimes if their activity/ food level is much less at night than during the day, they might drop lower. A overnight snack might help that also.

I am hesitant to suggest a dose until you see the Nadirs day and night. If he is bouncing, more insulin could drop him too low.
 
Ok. I can do that. I attempted a curve a while back but it was crazy because I had my mom inject previous night and I believe she fur shotted out of newbie fear. I want to again to do a whole pic but my Sundays are crazy till Sept. I will do a nadir tonight and chart. I'm actually up more from catching up on work than the baby!
 
So...Tyrone tested at 121 at 5:30 and then 20 minutes later at 125. Will test again before 7pm (shot time) but if below 200, should I shoot?
 
If he's in the 180s, I'd stall 20 minutes without feeding and retest. If 200+, then shoot but less than the previous dot, as his nadir might have been lower. Let's see what pmps looks like
 
Hmm ... is looking as though Tyrone's likely to be in the no-shot zone tonight.
(P.S. Taylor, my Bat-Bat thinks that your Tyrone is a real hottie!:cat: )
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top