? Mimi 8/29 AMPS 272- 5th cycle at higher dose- +6 239. Why is she so “flat”

Hi Rosa,

Please add the date to today's thread title. It should read like this: "8/29 Mimi AMPS 272, +6 239"

Mimi is still flat because you haven't found the right dose yet. Keep increasing when you can and you will find it. You've never been above 2.25 units and she looks like she needs more insulin but you can only increase after 6 cycles.

The Feline Diabetes Support Group on Facebook is NOT the one affiliated with this message board and they give very bad advice there. The only one that is affiliated is called "Feline Diabetes" plain and simple. https://www.facebook.com/groups/felinediabetes

Lots of kitties have experienced extended periods of hyperglycemia when following advice from that Facebook group and then they come here to get better. Glad you found us (ETA: found us again!). :bighug:
 
Last edited:
She seems to be in the 200s at lower doses too.

Try not to look back on what happened before - lower numbers on lower doses - may have been because her pancreas was working a bit and now isn't...but I agree with Katherine above - please keep increasing and testing until you star to see better numbers.

I was looking back on your SS and I saw several decreases although there was no number there (below 50 on TR) that would have caused you to take that step. Typically we decrease if kitty goes below 50 on TR - and until that happens you'll want to increase per your dosing method until you start to see those lower numbers appear on that SS.

Good luck!!
 
Try not to look back on what happened before - lower numbers on lower doses - may have been because her pancreas was working a bit and now isn't...but I agree with Katherine above - please keep increasing and testing until you star to see better numbers.

I was looking back on your SS and I saw several decreases although there was no number there (below 50 on TR) that would have caused you to take that step. Typically we decrease if kitty goes below 50 on TR - and until that happens you'll want to increase per your dosing method until you start to see those lower numbers appear on that SS.

Good luck!!
I know and it was because my vet seemed weary about that rule- I directed her to this site. But I also know they don’t know the most about the disease although she knows more than I’ve ever seen before!
 
Nice to see you, Rosa :). I agree with Katherine and Sue. Taking those reductions from 2.25u to 1.5u didn't really help. Stick with us here, and we can help you get Mimi back on track.
Ok! I know I got lazy and a little depressed about her recovery and haven’t been posting or following TR because I was starting to just believe she won’t ever grt better at least she can be in some sort of safe numbers. I know the 200s aren’t great but they were at least easing me on her going hypo while I was gone. I still haven’t left her in almost 2 years. (Well except one time for 33 hours a year ago in which she decided not to eat and her numbers ketones were 1.1 on the meter. Brought her to vet 500$ and got her on fluids which now that I found a better vet who I’m sure will just give me the fluids to administer at home.. I don’t know why it was so expensive- maybe I left her there for some hours? I also was advised here to get her on a vacation dose before my night away in which I decreased her from like 1.5 down to .75 2-3 days before I left and I think that also messed her up a lot and since then actually I haven’t had her earn below 1.5 units. It you look she’s been closer to 2 units ever since august 2020. Should I have decreased her dose that much for only one day away? I was gone a night and a day.
@PerfumedCatMom
@Christie & Maverick
@Sue and Luci
 
hould I have decreased her dose that much for only one day away? I was gone a night and a day.

Yes, decreasing for 'vacation dosage' is a common practice, and I would agree with that.

However, once you're back, based on the nadirs you will want to increase according to your dosing method until you start to see some of those lovely greens pop up on that SS - most likely it'll happen in the middle of the cycle - and a lot of cats love to do their best work at night.

So just keep testing and increasing carefully until you start to see better numbers.
 
Back
Top