? Mimi 8/22 AMPS 116 +3 74 +5 67 +7 72 +9 66

Mimis mom

Member Since 2019
Her +11 is 50…
Shes already meowing at me and it’s breaking my heart when I hear her hunger cries
 
The vet I went to said she’s seen some cats on once a day insulin- she thinks maybe it’s staying in her system longer


I don’t understand how a low point would be when the insulin wears off?
 
Read this.
I had a pharmacist friend explain the article to me just to make sure I understand it correctly.
He knows human diabetes really well and he said he would never skip a dose- just give her a lower dose because her body already has enough of it from previous doses- is this what the depot is!!??
 
Her BG right now is 54. Can I do half the dose so she doesn’t lose the insulin?

If you have plenty of supplies and can test as long as may be necessary, it would be OK for you to go ahead and shoot. If shooting half a dose is more comfortable for you, that's fine too. It's better than skipping completely and will add data so you'll know what might happen the next time she has a low PS

Whatever you do, plan on getting a +1 and +2

(also, the number you actually shoot is the PMPS so if she's at 54 now and you're going to feed/shoot, 54 is the PMPS but if you test again and let's say she's 60, that would be the PMPS)
 
If you have plenty of supplies and can test as long as may be necessary, it would be OK for you to go ahead and shoot. If shooting half a dose is more comfortable for you, that's fine too. It's better than skipping completely and will add data so you'll know what might happen the next time she has a low PS

Whatever you do, plan on getting a +1 and +2

(also, the number you actually shoot is the PMPS so if she's at 54 now and you're going to feed/shoot, 54 is the PMPS but if you test again and let's say she's 60, that would be the PMPS)
She is 60 - but- I did give her a half tsp of 0% carb 30 mins ago because her crying was making me want to cry. She has the sweetest meow and she doesn’t meow unless she needs something (vs my civvie cat who talks all the time for no reason but to be heard)
 
I shot her 1/2 dose

OK....get a +1 and let us know where she's at and then plan on getting a +2 too. She may bounce from today's numbers but we want to make sure she's going to be safe overnight before you go to bed.

How far off your normal time did you end up shooting? An hour? If so, you'd put 50 @ +12, 54 @ +12.5, 60 @+13 all in the PMPS cell (it will expand to fit). You'll have to color code it yourself but all those numbers are green so that's not hard!
 
OK....get a +1 and let us know where she's at and then plan on getting a +2 too. She may bounce from today's numbers but we want to make sure she's going to be safe overnight before you go to bed.

How far off your normal time did you end up shooting? An hour? If so, you'd put 50 @ +12, 54 @ +12.5, 60 @+13 all in the PMPS cell (it will expand to fit). You'll have to color code it yourself but all those numbers are green so that's not hard!
No I’m pretty much on schedule
 
Back
Top