? MIMI 6/6 AMPS 194, +2 161, +3 159 +10.5 52, +11 42 -- feed, stall? what to do ??

It's hard to work full time and take care of a diabetic cat. I hope you can work out a schedule that works for you and Mimi. I get more tests in on the weekend to see what Furball is really doing on a dose. If I think she may dip down while I'm at work, I leave extra food out for her.
 
It's hard to work full time and take care of a diabetic cat. I hope you can work out a schedule that works for you and Mimi. I get more tests in on the weekend to see what Furball is really doing on a dose. If I think she may dip down while I'm at work, I leave extra food out for her.
so just now, I tested Mimi at a +10.5. Last I fed her was +4 (I was going to get home by +6 to give a snack but that didnt happen that way)
When I got home around +9 I noticed she was sprawled out on her little bed- looking extra comfy and then got up and started following me around the kitchen meowing, and even acting kitten like- I gave her a few pieces of freeze dried raw because I didnt want her tummy to hurt too much and also because she hadnt eaten since +4. She then climbed up some stuff and was acting full of energy but like, I think just hungry? I just tested her and I got 52... (she got the FD snack at like +9.5) when things like this happen in the cycle it worries me greatly because Im thinking the nadir seems fine, and then all of a sudden she decides to dip right before her next shot- so was that the nadir??
 
she seems SUPER hungry, I just threw her a couple of pieces of freeze dried because I don't want her to feel that hungry. I don't know if that was the right thing to do but I still have a whole 30 minutes before her shot and will I even give her her regular dose of 1.75 or should I lower it?
Is there a general rule of thumb when the PS number is shark territory not the nadir? does that question make sense? I know I should stall to see if it increases? but is that so I could possibly skip a dose or give a reduced dose? got 30 minutes to know the answer ;) no pressure!
Thanks anyone who is free to respond!

@Marje and Gracie
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
@Wendy&Neko
@Chris & China (GA)
@carfurby
@tiffmaxee
 
The lowest point in the cycle is the nadir, regardless of when it happens. Neko often nadired around PS time.

Check out the Sticky Note on Handling Low Preshots. There is a section on what to do if they are in the 40's. It's too late now, but I would have fed at +10.5 to bring her up so she'd be safe to shoot, then delayed PMPS by 1/2 hour. For now, test again in 20 and see what's she's doing.
 
The lowest point in the cycle is the nadir, regardless of when it happens. Neko often nadired around PS time.

Check out the Sticky Note on Handling Low Preshots. There is a section on what to do if they are in the 40's. It's too late now, but I would have fed at +10.5 to bring her up so she'd be safe to shoot, then delayed PMPS by 1/2 hour. For now, test again in 20 and see what's she's doing.
ohhh ok I think I thought not to feed her to see if she goes up on her own.
Thanks Wendy. So feed now or no? Its shot time right now, and its when I would test her.

Would you say her +2 +3 were indicators she was on her way to dropping during the cycle?
 
Try a tsp or two of LC. How late can you shoot tonight and still be OK for shot time tomorrow morning?
 
I can shoot later- I don't start work again until monday. I was reading the sticky and I wanted to ask- would you say mimi is someone that typically doesn't rise as the insulin starts to wear off at +2+3? I see shell have a higher pre shot number and then start to dip a little at +1 +2, but then again thats not always the case.. SO CONFUSING! :nailbiting:
 
Also, would you say she earned a reduction or not yet? I was trying her on the "diabetic cat over a year" protocol where they can shoot under 50 3 times before decreasing.

Also how can you explain the depot to me? I know it drains at the end of the cycle but how does it have answers to how the cycle went or why it went the way it did? Its like I am not getting something and need it to be explained to me like i am a 5 year old with cartoons.

Why is her number so low PS? what could have happened? does it mean the insulin is too much for her?
 
What is the Insulin Depot
The depot does not drain at the end of the cycle. The depot builds as you give shots of a certain dose. Once you have around six cycles at a dose, the depot is stable, unless you do something to change it. It drains when you reduce or skip the dose, or shoot very late.
 
What is the Insulin Depot
The depot does not drain at the end of the cycle. The depot builds as you give shots of a certain dose. Once you have around six cycles at a dose, the depot is stable, unless you do something to change it. It drains when you reduce or skip the dose, or shoot very late.
oohhhh kkk.. I think I get it a little more- I did not ever hear it explained that way! so thats why you change things at 6 cycles. Would you say because shes not been on 1.75 6 cycles yet the depot hasn't drained or - wait does that make sense?
 
Today is her sixth cycle (shot) at 1.75 units. The depot is probably close to built. It is not drained at all.
 
Do not shoot if under 50. You wait until she starts climbing up, as long as that still works with your schedule and you can shoot AMPS 12 hours later. Have you tested again?
 
shes at 59

shes on 1.75- should I shoot that or 1.5? I'm at about an hour after he +12 maybe I should skip tonights shot? is she not rising steadily enough- seems very slow.
 
I think Im going to skip and see how she does- she hasnt missed a dose since she got out of the hospital in october 2019. I never do fur shots because shes a really good patient and allows me to give her the shot.

Or will she jump a ton?

What caused her number to be so low?
 
I think Im going to call tonight a "fur shot" Its just getting too late, and its only because I have to go back to work monday.
 
Back
Top