? Mimi 5/24 PMPS195 , question about TR

gave her shot almost 30 minutes early today to try and get her more on her old schedule but its possible its acting as an increase?
 
gave her some LC 5 minutes after last post- will test in 5. (hopefully someones out there to jump on with me!)
:nailbiting:
 
+2.5 38, fed HC 20% (FF turkey primavera) fed more than TSP- she was
acting ravished.. She rarely loses her appetite so in 20 mins Ill go to a tsp. Just nervous with it being only +2- looks like a PJ party tonight :coffee:
 
Sorry no one was online last night. I'm glad you got Mimi's numbers to come back up. Any time Furball is in the 50's I feed her some HC to slow the drop and get her to come back up. Don't forget to reduce the dose since she was in the 30's.
 
Sorry no one was online last night. I'm glad you got Mimi's numbers to come back up. Any time Furball is in the 50's I feed her some HC to slow the drop and get her to come back up. Don't forget to reduce the dose since she was in the 30's.
What’s the one rule where if they fall below 50 for more than 3 cycles? Could her drop have been from me giving her her dose earlier at AM?
I’ve been reducing and increasing slowly with her because she bounces so badly after a drop. Should I do 1.75 and not 1.75+? (On the calipers it’s lets a difference of like 2.64 is 2u and 2.31 is 1.75 so the plus was 2.45. I think Mimi is more sensitive so tiny changes make that difference?
 
Would you say Mimi is a cat that doesn’t hold reductions well after looking at her SS? Should I just shave the dose or do a full .25?
 
Man, I’m looking at her chart and sometimes she seems to hold the reduction well and other times not. How do I know for sure if she is one of those cats that “holds a reduction well?”
 
First and foremost, any drop below 40 requires a 0.25u dose reduction.

Three drops into the 40 - 50 range requires a dose reduction of 0.25u.
Question- say I didn’t reduce by a full .25, what could happen? Could she just give me another night of drops? Do you think me changing her times earlier had anything to do with the drops? (Went from 10:30, to 10:15 for 2 cycles then yesterday AM I went to 9:45- I’m trying to get her earlier to prepare for when I go back to work)
 
Changing the time is such small increments shouldn't have an effect on Mimi's numbers. However, ECID.

I would strongly discourage not taking a full reduction given the 38 last night. The protocol from the German Lantus group that originated the 3 drops into the 40 - 50 range is very clear -- drops below 40 require an immediate dose reduction of 0.25u. That 38 sent you a clear message.
 
Last edited:
Sorry I wasn’t around last night. Max did not hold reductions well so I followed the three times under 50 rule but took smaller increases and decreases at times. I couldn’t have done that without digital calipers. I never stopped testing until I was sure he was safe and ALWAYS took a full reduction if he was under 40. That was a hard rule.

I am NOT recommending that you try this. Max bounced for a whole year. I started 3 under 50 first and only after knowing he was a long term diabetic and with lots of help did I do this. Any lurkers should not copy what I did. Max never went into remission and was a senior. I wanted to protect his kidneys and he was very sensitive to carbs. It was easy to bring him up when needed.
,
 
Last edited:
gave her shot almost 30 minutes early today to try and get her more on her old schedule but its possible its acting as an increase?
Wow.....I did not get your tag until this morning. Sometimes that tagging doesn’t work perfectly but you did a good job dealing with the numbers.

Shooting 30 minutes early would not make any difference as long as you don’t do it every cycle but especially because the SS shows you’ve been doing it 15 mins a cycle.

There’s no harm in using three drops between 40 and 50 on three separate days (not cycles) with a full dose decrease as a reduction strategy for Mimi. She does show failed reductions although she’s not as bad as some cats I’ve seen who go back and forth around a dose. And as Sienne said, if she drops once below 40, you also have to take the full reduction.

Love her avatar...she’s so adorable.
 
Sorry I wasn’t around last night. Max did not hold reductions well so I followed the three times under 50 rule but took smaller increases and decreases at times. I couldn’t have done that without digital calipers. I never stopped testing until I was sure he was safe and ALWAYS took a full reduction if he was under 40. That was a hard rule.

I am NOT recommending that you try this. Max bounced for a whole year. I started 3 under 50 first and only after knowing he was a long term diabetic and with lots of help did I do this. Any lurkers should not copy what I did. Max never went into remission and was a senior. I wanted to protect his kidneys and he was very sensitive to carbs. It was easy to bring him up when needed.
,
that's the same with Mimi, I am seeing shes very sensitive to carbs and increases, or decreases also, so far, has been easy to bring her up because she is ALWAYS hungry. Man can that girl eat- might be why she got the betes in the first place.. :(. I brought her down to 1.75, but realized that's not a full reduction. was out of it this morning- Ill bring her down to a full .25 later.
 
Wow.....I did not get your tag until this morning. Sometimes that tagging doesn’t work perfectly but you did a good job dealing with the numbers.

Shooting 30 minutes early would not make any difference as long as you don’t do it every cycle but especially because the SS shows you’ve been doing it 15 mins a cycle.

There’s no harm in using three drops between 40 and 50 on three separate days (not cycles) with a full dose decrease as a reduction strategy for Mimi. She does show failed reductions although she’s not as bad as some cats I’ve seen who go back and forth around a dose. And as Sienne said, if she drops once below 40, you also have to take the full reduction.

Love her avatar...she’s so adorable.


Thanks Marje! I read Siennes post wrong- I didnt do a full reduction I just brought her down to 1.75... I was out of it this morning. Ill get her down next cycle.
 
What meter was TR done on? It was the Freestyle right? The freestyle always reads lower than the Relion- like 10 points at times- but its always lower. Its getting increasingly harder to get Freestyle test strips from Ebay, and since I am better at getting blood than I used to be I might be able to go back to the Relion and also save LOTS of money doing it. But lets say in this situation last night the Relion read 43 because it reads higher, then she wouldn't take any reduction right? Or did I save her by feeding her at the beginning of the drop and chances are she would have dropped even lower than 38 if I didnt take early intervention. Just like the Alphatrak reading higher- the Relion for sure reads higher than the Freestyle so shouldn't we take that into consideration a little? (Im more awake now that I was earlier and this got me thinking)
her +3.5 is 166
 
One thing I did learn early on is you can’t compare meters. There’s a 20% that all meters are allowed so one could be 20% high while the other 20% low every time you test. So I used my micro all the time and used my backup just to recheck if I got a really low or high test. With lower and higher readings they are closer always I found.
 
What meter was TR done on?
It doesn’t matter what meter they used.

Just like the Alphatrak reading higher- the Relion for sure reads higher than the Freestyle so shouldn't we take that into consideration a little?
No....and don’t overthink this. Whatever reading you get on whatever meter you are using, you apply the guidelines to as written. The only exception is the reduction point for the AT is 68 and for human meters....of any type....it’s 50 for a newly diagnosed cat (diabetic less than one year).
 
One thing I did learn early on is you can’t compare meters. There’s a 20% that all meters are allowed so one could be 20% high while the other 20% low every time you test. So I used my micro all the time and used my backup just to recheck if I got a really low or high test. With lower and higher readings they are closer always I found.
right but what if it was just at "40" it was 2 points off.. I know I am overthinking this but maybe that's how I can tailor something specific to Mimi you know? This is how she responds.

anyway, were almost at nadir and she didnt bounce today- shes 137.. Is that because I used intervention early on or is it because I didnt give her a full reduction? Some things I think can be looked into a little more deeply because ECID. So perhaps, if I can monitor it, small experiments could work? Just thoughts, I know you guys have way more experience than me of course but I keep having that ECID in my mind and Im trying to test her at all circumstances to learn her very unique system.
 
Intervention early can keep her from dropping low and then a bounce. With Max I fed the curve. But again ECID.
 
Intervention early can keep her from dropping low and then a bounce. With Max I fed the curve. But again ECID.

Mimi didn’t bounce today or at least she had a more steady curve then I’ve ever seen after her deciding to swim with the sharks the night before.
I didn’t reduce her to a full .25 because I really think it dropped because I gave her the dose 30 minutes earlier. I know this is unlikely but I just wanted to try and see how she did. Might she dip to the sharks tonight again? We will see if my little experiment of shaving the dose works over a full .25
I just know that if she was being tested on a Relion she would have read forty something and then I could try her on the long term diabetic dosing of keeping her at the dose longer. But I met halfway between with a half of .25 reduction. I just keep remembering them saying at the hospital when she was DKA “her BGs read differently than other cats do while DKA.” That she seemed more “unique”.
I got this if she drops it will be 100 percent my negligence but I just want to see. Her recovery is so important to me and I want to go with my instincts.
 
Back
Top