I’m glad you got more insulin. I saw this post:Just filled Lantus prescription at CVS for the 10 ml bottle for 99$! I went to Lantus website and filled out their info to get help with your prescription if you don’t have insurance and they gave me a prescription card. Anyway, the coupon worked! So stoked!! She’s got like 15 units left on the pen and it’s been looking “questionable” so I think I’m going to just start using the vial. Retail price of a 10 ml vial is like 300$ which makes me angry as hell at the vet for charging me 300$ for the solostar pen when that’s about 100$ on average retail at the pharmacy...
Like WTF...
8000$ is the bill...
So... I am a complete moron and placed my order to Marks Marine Pharmacy later than I should have.
Her Lantus is scheduled to come by Thursday December 12 and I think- it’s hard to tell but the bottle that I might just run out by then... I don’t know why I thought I would have more than enough and I’m also (even though other said they have) nervous about using it to the very “last drop”
I’m just hoping she’ll be stable on 1.5 til then but I am foolish for thinking that.. I really messed this one up.
Yea it is starting to look a little cloudy.I’m glad you got more insulin. I saw this post:
What do you mean her pen was looking “questionable”? Is it cloudy or have floaties in it? The pens are more cost advantageous than vials. How do you know you have 15u left in the pen? They are usually done in mls. you usually get 5-3ml pens in a pack. I got to where I used every drop in my pens; unless they’ve never been in the frig and are older than 30 days or they’ve froze, they should be fine. I’ve yet to see but one or two cases where there was actually an issue with the insulin.
Also...why did you get your pens from the vet? Did he/she charge you $300 for ONE pen? I haven’t bought insulin in four years but that was about the price for five pens when I last bought Levemir (which is a tiny bit cheaper than lantus).
I have never see pen a vet selling insulin pens and selling them with pen needles is scary.Yea it is starting to look a little cloudy.
It says the units on the pen- and it looks like there’s 15 left.
yes they charged me 300$ for one pen- oh wait- it was a “starter kit” so it came with pen needles... which what those are like 20$.
Why do vets jack everything up- aren’t they in it for the love of the animal?
What do you think and why?You think she’s ready for an increase or should I hold it a bit more?
Yea and the tech instructed me to “roll” the pen before each use... AND the pen needle was HUGE- it broke a capillary (it started pooling blood under the skin) when I injected it to the side of her tummy. When she had a nadir of 34 they told me to drop her from 2 to 1 units because that’s all the pen measured. So many things wrong I wish they would get better educated.. still feel sick at the thought that she might have recovered quicker if they knew more what they were doing..I have never see pen a vet selling insulin pens and selling them with pen needles is scary.
It might. Usually only brand new members buy vials because their vets don’t know pens exist or CGs of high dose cats buy them as it is more cost efficient for them.Yea and the tech instructed me to “roll” the pen before each use... AND the pen needle was HUGE- it broke a capillary (it started pooling blood under the skin) when I injected it to the side of her tummy. When she had a nadir of 34 they told me to drop her from 2 to 1 units because that’s all the pen measured. So many things wrong I wish they would get better educated..
How long does the vial last? Doesn’t it last longer than the pen?
Well according to TR her nadirs have been under 200- but how do I know when her nadir actually is (was) is it the same every cycle or does it change every cycle? They aren’t always at the +6 mark right? For instance last night I didn’t get numbers after her +1 (not until +11) because I was in a coma and didn’t wake up (sometimes I do and then I’ll check her)What do you think and why?
I think she is ready for one but I get nervous because as long as she’s yellow I don’t panic if I’m away.. stupid reason but when I see some kitties with SS of dark greens I would be afraid it would get to lime green while I was away.What do you think and why?
Correct, the nadir is not always at +6. It’s certainly possible she dropped to green yesterday but, based on her patterns, I doubt she dropped very much.Well according to TR her nadirs have been under 200- but how do I know when her nadir actually is (was) is it the same every cycle or does it change every cycle? They aren’t always at the +6 mark right? For instance last night I didn’t get numbers after her +1 (not until +11) because I was in a coma and didn’t wake up (sometimes I do and then I’ll check her)
Based on her numbers is it unlikely she dipped below 100 at all during those times?
I have to work today from 10-5 pm. So it will be hard to monitor. Should I wait until tonight then or is that pushing it considering she’s susceptible to ketones?It looks like she could use some more juice. She saw some greens with this dose on 12/2 and hadn’t hit a green since and it’s been 5 days.
If you can monitor today and she hasn’t gotten back into the greens again, I would increase.