QUOTE="Gill & George, post: 2486759, member: 13728"]I'm not sure why you didn't hold for a full 8 cycles, which is what both Marje and I recommended.
This morning as you shot the increased dose, it looks like she was starting to clear a bounce, see how she dropped from pink in the pm cycle to yellow.
Given that lantus is a depot insulin, and we often don't see the full effect of the dose for a few cycles, I would suspect that today's numbers are more to do with the 1.25 and her clearing a bounce, than the 1.5u you shot.
I think you are going to need to be on your toes and extra watchful over the next few cycles with this new dose increase that you decided to take.
She will probably bounce of the greens, resulting in you seeing high numbers for a while, you will need to wait till she clears the bounce before you take the dose up again. Please be patient, for both your sakes, trying to rush her up the dosing ladder can land you both in very hot water.[/QUOTE]
Hi- I didn’t because of the responses on this thread.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...ps-269-2-289-3-265-4-295.222256/#post-2486096I wanted to know why she needed to wait 8 cycles instead of 6. The only reason it would be 8 is if she’s new to nadirs under 200 but she wasn’t, right?
Read what Sienne and Marje wrote in this condo. Sienne was very clear about stating “if I’m following TR I would have increased by the 6th cycle”. How else do I interpret that you know? Also another member stating the 6 cycle rule as well..ahhh why am I so confused.
I don’t want to increase her too soon but it was also stated .75 could have been a failed reduction (made me nervous to hear) so I am only worried about her not getting enough insulin and possibly going DKA again. (That is my ultimate fear) What do I do if I get two different pieces of advice from moderators or experienced members? I’m trying my best but I also have to use my own discretion if I don’t understand why either. I do trust you guys but then Marje said go ahead if she doesn’t see any blue by the morning increase to by 7.
I’m trying my best to make the right decisions!!! Waiting till 8 cycles didn’t make sense to me- but if you can show me what I’m not understanding I would really appreciate it!

When you said clearing a bounce - how can I see that better? Her number was 250 then AMPS it was 222 - but what if I checked both again like I tested in the previous ones and saw the 222 went up to 270 within seconds and the 250 went down to 200 (this has happened when I have spot tested consecutively and saw when the numbers were over 200 how large that margin of error is) I hope that made sense- it’s starting to show me that there’s not a huge difference in 250 to 280 - because testing again could change those numbers up to 50 points. I know I shouldn’t get hung up on the margin of error but 50 point jumps in either direction have me questioning every thing!