? Mimi 12/2 AMPS 233 +11 96 PMPS 97 +1 170 +2 150 shoot low to stay low?

I know I need to limit one condo a day but I wanted this to have separate attention-
Just wondering. I’m nearing the end of my pen- and it’s been refrigerated- it expires next year but- her numbers have remained high with the increases. Now I know I need to give this new one a chance but I’m just being proactive and wondering if there’s any way to “test” it..
If it was bad, her numbers would probably be in the 400 and 500s right?
 
Since she went blue today, then definitely the insulin is working. Her numbers are high but there’s progress and she’s most likely bouncing.

Your insulin is fine :)

I had to skip insulin one time and Ming is usually in yellows. And he went all the way to BLACK.
 
Since she went blue today, then definitely the insulin is working. Her numbers are high but there’s progress and she’s most likely bouncing.

Your insulin is fine :)

I had to skip insulin one time and Ming is usually in yellows. And he went all the way to BLACK.
Oh good to know!!!! Silly sugar babies
 
Yes since I posted this she’s been in blue!!! She’s acting a little more alert and playful too- she’s probably feeling better... Awww they are so cute-
When she feels good I feel good. She’s my sweetheart
 
You can keep a pen or vial opened in the refrigerator for up to 6 months. I used mine, every last drop to 6 months. If it’s gone bad, it will get cloudy and have floaters in in.

Whenever you have question, you can just post it in your daily condo and change the title prefix to a question mark like you did for this one. The question mark will get eyes on it.
 
Last edited:
You can keep a pen or vial opened in the refrigerator for up to 6 months. I used mint , every last drop to 6 months. If it’s gone bad, it will get cloudy and have floaters in in.

Whenever you have question, you can just post it in your daily condo and change the title prefix to a question mark like you did for this one. The question mark will get eyes on it.
Oh awesome thanks! Well she proved to me today it wasn’t bad by her numbers! Do you think with such a drop to wear she got today as opposed to wear she was 12 hours ago that could cause her to bounce next cycle?
 
Looks like your insulin is just fine! I see she hit the lagoon today - yeah!!

She may bounce because her body isn't used to the low number she saw today - and her liver is going to dump a load of glycogen (sugar) into her bloodstream - you'll see it when you test as a higher reading. Eventually though, she'll get used to those lower numbers and that bouncing will slow down. Look at Luci's SS - she was a big time bouncer...bounciest kitty some folks had ever seen.

Rest easy, just keep doing what you're doing; feed, test, administer insulin based on your protocol. Keep asking questions.
 
Looks like your insulin is just fine! I see she hit the lagoon today - yeah!!

She may bounce because her body isn't used to the low number she saw today - and her liver is going to dump a load of glycogen (sugar) into her bloodstream - you'll see it when you test as a higher reading. Eventually though, she'll get used to those lower numbers and that bouncing will slow down. Look at Luci's SS - she was a big time bouncer...bounciest kitty some folks had ever seen.

Rest easy, just keep doing what you're doing; feed, test, administer insulin based on your protocol. Keep asking questions.
Awesome thank you! I have to go out of town tomorrow so I won’t be able to get anything past a +2- maybe a +2.5. And won’t be back until PMPS.
Should I see how her numbers go tonight and plan to leave higher carb food out?
 
Awesome thank you! I have to go out of town tomorrow so I won’t be able to get anything past a +2- maybe a +2.5. And won’t be back until PMPS.
Should I see how her numbers go tonight and plan to leave higher carb food out?

You should try to get an earlier test tomorrow morning to see where she's at an hour before her usual AMPS - then if she's lower and coming down, you may want to leave out the medium or high carb foods based on those numbers.

It's so hard to predict or plan this far in advance - except for the shopping part and making sure you have all those kinds of foods in the house :)
 
You should try to get an earlier test tomorrow morning to see where she's at an hour before her usual AMPS - then if she's lower and coming down, you may want to leave out the medium or high carb foods based on those numbers.

It's so hard to predict or plan this far in advance - except for the shopping part and making sure you have all those kinds of foods in the house :)

I agree with Sue. If you can get Pm + 11 to see if the AMPS is rising or falling , that will help you tomorrow to know what % carb food to give.
 
I agree with Sue. If you can get Pm + 11 to see if the AMPS is rising or falling , that will help you tomorrow to know what % carb food to give.
Ok! Ill get PM +10 and +9 if I can too! I will wake up during the night sometimes and I've been testing her then too. I want her to find stability :)

so now that she's in the greens- what would happen if she was to eat a medium carb food- it could cause her to spike- its good for her to be in green right so her body knows thats a good thing to be in? oh you also mentioned it could dump a bunch of glucagon because it thinks it needs it
 
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1cMIt5dW70TCoAU_EGHBCQj2bdNlegs2Lort-Fo4vIVI/edit#gid=0

came across this from a member and what a beautiful journey this kitty took- Im like "ok this motivates me!!!" he slowly leveled himself off well. Is that common to see days of pink and yellow down to days of blue, then days of green not having any bounces or any greens and yellows in one day! pretty predictable kitty!

(Im sorry I just noticed there were some ups and downs but it looked like for a while there was just yellow and pink- then I saw some blues, yellows and pinks all in a couple cycles of each other)
 
@Mimis mom

I am putting on my Moderators hat. One condo per cat per day. I was semi-OK with your opening a second thread. You got your question about the integrity of Lantus answered. You then preceded to ask about Mimi's numbers starting in post #6.

Please respect that this is a huge forum. Every time you post a new thread, it pushes everyone's thread down. Also, since you knew to keep it to one thread and you asked to keep this separate, I was going to let it slide until you went off track and asked questions that belong in you previous condo.

I'm merging the condos.
 
Looks like your insulin is just fine! I see she hit the lagoon today - yeah!!

She may bounce because her body isn't used to the low number she saw today - and her liver is going to dump a load of glycogen (sugar) into her bloodstream - you'll see it when you test as a higher reading. Eventually though, she'll get used to those lower numbers and that bouncing will slow down. Look at Luci's SS - she was a big time bouncer...bounciest kitty some folks had ever seen.

Rest easy, just keep doing what you're doing; feed, test, administer insulin based on your protocol. Keep asking questions.
how were you able to find my other condo- do you have to search for it or is there a way by clicking my info to see I posted more than one for the day.
 
@Mimis mom

I am putting on my Moderators hat. One condo per cat per day. I was semi-OK with your opening a second thread. You got your question about the integrity of Lantus answered. You then preceded to ask about Mimi's numbers starting in post #6.

Please respect that this is a huge forum. Every time you post a new thread, it pushes everyone's thread down. Also, since you knew to keep it to one thread and you asked to keep this separate, I was going to let it slide until you went off track and asked questions that belong in you previous condo.

I'm merging the condos.
Forgive me, I am on my phone and sometimes get confused where the questions are going- its obviously clear but sometimes I lose track where the response is and just follow the answer. I will try and pay attention more in the future. I realize now how important it also is for me to keep one thread per day so I can link it with the previous, again I get over excited at responses and replying or asking questions I lose track of the rules.
 
how were you able to find my other condo- do you have to search for it or is there a way by clicking my info to see I posted more than one for the day.
Accidentally...I just happened to see it...glad to see Sienne will merge - it will cause less confusion to have them merged :)
 
Accidentally...I just happened to see it...glad to see Sienne will merge - it will cause less confusion to have them merged :)
ya totally I was just going to delete it once I saw it wasn't valid to me anymore but wondered if that wasn't the best thing to do. I need to read the fine print more (meaning the rules of the group)- but who always does that- lazy culture we've become. I also have to remember that every post i do bumps it up which I thought it just had to say "bump" so Ill try and forget this isn't a text conversation and try and think about my responses better so I don't have to post more than once. (well theres also the edit option but I worry someone might not notice I edited the line so I just make a new response) Im that person in texting that will give few word answers over and over again, hit send so you have 8 new texts to read- as my ADD/anxiety brain thinks of them.
 
I'm not sure why you didn't hold for a full 8 cycles, which is what both Marje and I recommended.

This morning as you shot the increased dose, it looks like she was starting to clear a bounce, see how she dropped from pink in the pm cycle to yellow.

Given that lantus is a depot insulin, and we often don't see the full effect of the dose for a few cycles, I would suspect that today's numbers are more to do with the 1.25 and her clearing a bounce, than the 1.5u you shot.

I think you are going to need to be on your toes and extra watchful over the next few cycles with this new dose increase that you decided to take.

She will probably bounce of the greens, resulting in you seeing high numbers for a while, you will need to wait till she clears the bounce before you take the dose up again. Please be patient, for both your sakes, trying to rush her up the dosing ladder can land you both in very hot water.
 
QUOTE="Gill & George, post: 2486759, member: 13728"]I'm not sure why you didn't hold for a full 8 cycles, which is what both Marje and I recommended.

This morning as you shot the increased dose, it looks like she was starting to clear a bounce, see how she dropped from pink in the pm cycle to yellow.

Given that lantus is a depot insulin, and we often don't see the full effect of the dose for a few cycles, I would suspect that today's numbers are more to do with the 1.25 and her clearing a bounce, than the 1.5u you shot.

I think you are going to need to be on your toes and extra watchful over the next few cycles with this new dose increase that you decided to take.

She will probably bounce of the greens, resulting in you seeing high numbers for a while, you will need to wait till she clears the bounce before you take the dose up again. Please be patient, for both your sakes, trying to rush her up the dosing ladder can land you both in very hot water.[/QUOTE]


Hi- I didn’t because of the responses on this thread. http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...ps-269-2-289-3-265-4-295.222256/#post-2486096I wanted to know why she needed to wait 8 cycles instead of 6. The only reason it would be 8 is if she’s new to nadirs under 200 but she wasn’t, right?
Read what Sienne and Marje wrote in this condo. Sienne was very clear about stating “if I’m following TR I would have increased by the 6th cycle”. How else do I interpret that you know? Also another member stating the 6 cycle rule as well..ahhh why am I so confused.
I don’t want to increase her too soon but it was also stated .75 could have been a failed reduction (made me nervous to hear) so I am only worried about her not getting enough insulin and possibly going DKA again. (That is my ultimate fear) What do I do if I get two different pieces of advice from moderators or experienced members? I’m trying my best but I also have to use my own discretion if I don’t understand why either. I do trust you guys but then Marje said go ahead if she doesn’t see any blue by the morning increase to by 7.

I’m trying my best to make the right decisions!!! Waiting till 8 cycles didn’t make sense to me- but if you can show me what I’m not understanding I would really appreciate it!:nailbiting::confused:


When you said clearing a bounce - how can I see that better? Her number was 250 then AMPS it was 222 - but what if I checked both again like I tested in the previous ones and saw the 222 went up to 270 within seconds and the 250 went down to 200 (this has happened when I have spot tested consecutively and saw when the numbers were over 200 how large that margin of error is) I hope that made sense- it’s starting to show me that there’s not a huge difference in 250 to 280 - because testing again could change those numbers up to 50 points. I know I shouldn’t get hung up on the margin of error but 50 point jumps in either direction have me questioning every thing!
 
Last edited:
I also know you guys probably have hundred of other kitties you’re tending to and maybe you overlooked something (the 8 cycles not making sense)

I’m really sorry- It’s absolutely nothing personal..
 
Back
Top