Mimi 12/12 PMPS 55...

+10 76, 62, 78... go with an average of 70? See when the numbers are below 100 I get nervous with the margin of error and possibly taking a “failed reduction”
What about if I got a reading that was 47, but then subsequent to that 54 and then maybe a 49- do I go ahead with a reduce when that kind of thing can happen because of the nature of the meter?
(Would like to be prepared if that did happen) :bighug::)

@Marje and Gracie
@Wendy&Neko
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
@Gill & George
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
Can anyone weigh in? thanks!​
 
Oh!! Also she last ate at +8 and now her +10 is low(ish) should I give her something now or wait until her meal time which is in an hour and a half
 
+10 76, 62, 78... go with an average of 70? See when the numbers are below 100 I get nervous with the margin of error and possibly taking a “failed reduction”
What about if I got a reading that was 47, but then subsequent to that 54 and then maybe a 49- do I go ahead with a reduce when that kind of thing can happen because of the nature of the meter?
(Would like to be prepared if that did happen) :bighug::)

@Marje and Gracie
@Wendy&Neko
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
@Gill & George
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
Can anyone weigh in? thanks!​
My first question is why did you do all those retests? (BTW, the SS says 70 and you said 76. Could you please be sure they agree?)

I suggested before that you don’t get wrapped around “margin of error”. The 70 or 76...whichever the first test was, was a reasonable number in consideration of her other numbers today and did not need to be retested.

Insofar as your question, if you didn’t do all that retesting, what would you say the answer would be? There’s no reason to worry about failed reductions. If they fail, they do. Then you just go back up.

I mean this sincerely and not in a critical way at all but you are making this harder than it needs to be with the retesting. It would be reasonable to have retested immediately if she’d gone from 300 to 70 in an hour. One of those numbers would be off. But she didn’t.

If you had gotten a 47 at +10, you would have retested in 20 mins to see if she was coming up, and if not, fed a small LC snack and retested in 30 minutes after eating.

Oh!! Also she last ate at +8 and now her +10 is low(ish) should I give her something now or wait until her meal time which is in an hour and a half

I wouldn’t feed at +10 when she’s in the 70s and has been fairly flat the last half of the cycle.
 
My first question is why did you do all those retests? (BTW, the SS says 70 and you said 76. Could you please be sure they agree?)

I suggested before that you don’t get wrapped around “margin of error”. The 70 or 76...whichever the first test was, was a reasonable number in consideration of her other numbers today and did not need to be retested.

Insofar as your question, if you didn’t do all that retesting, what would you say the answer would be? There’s no reason to worry about failed reductions. If they fail, they do. Then you just go back up.

I mean this sincerely and not in a critical way at all but you are making this harder than it needs to be with the retesting. It would be reasonable to have retested immediately if she’d gone from 300 to 70 in an hour. One of those numbers would be off. But she didn’t.

If you had gotten a 47 at +10, you would have retested in 20 mins to see if she was coming up, and if not, fed a small LC snack and retested in 30 minutes after eating.



I wouldn’t feed at +10 when she’s in the 70s and has been fairly flat the last half of the cycle.
Ok thank you..
 
Rosa, you are doing a very good job. Gosh you have only been on this forum LET'S THAN two months.
For whatever it's worth, I had very similar anxiety as you when Nelli and I first joined- I would retest often, get "wrapped around margin of error", thought more than once, "I think my insulin it's bad"...
Keep posting questions and concerns- they are valid. This is all a life changing event when we find out our little buddies are diabetic!!! :woot: :nailbiting: an event that 'just happens one day'-
Most of us are unprepared, confused yet know we need to do the best for our little buddies...
We join this forum :joyful:... dang everything NOW is moving SO fast...:woot:
Overwhelmed and confused, we've ALL been there.
Hang tough, hang tight... Keep asking questions and posting confusions! There are SO MANY caring and skilled at FD peeps, so much valuable knowledge shared here... Mimi is lucky to have you as her mom :cat:
Hang tough, hang tight... Keep asking questions and posting confusions!
:bighug:
 
My first question is why did you do all those retests? (BTW, the SS says 70 and you said 76. Could you please be sure they agree?)

I suggested before that you don’t get wrapped around “margin of error”. The 70 or 76...whichever the first test was, was a reasonable number in consideration of her other numbers today and did not need to be retested.

Insofar as your question, if you didn’t do all that retesting, what would you say the answer would be? There’s no reason to worry about failed reductions. If they fail, they do. Then you just go back up.

I mean this sincerely and not in a critical way at all but you are making this harder than it needs to be with the retesting. It would be reasonable to have retested immediately if she’d gone from 300 to 70 in an hour. One of those numbers would be off. But she didn’t.

If you had gotten a 47 at +10, you would have retested in 20 mins to see if she was coming up, and if not, fed a small LC snack and retested in 30 minutes after eating.



I wouldn’t feed at +10 when she’s in the 70s and has been fairly flat the last half of the cycle.
I just retested out of curiosity. I don’t know why it was just a feeling
 
Well, see this is why I get caught up with testing.. if her number tested right after 55 was 65 - is that still a low to shoot number? If specific numbers weren’t so important then why do we have them to earn reductions at? For example below 50 earns a reduction-
but what about saying “below 50-60”. Does that make sense? I don’t know, I’m still learning! I’m sure my excessive questions and knowledge will help others in the future! Better know more than know less?
 
Also, still no shot... times a tickin.. do I shoot? I just tested and she got 67... but what if I tested again and she got say “59” is she going down or was the 67 just a round about number. How quickly do they actually increase when it’s supposed to matter? (Well not “quickly” per say- more like what kind of increase is a notable one) What kind of increase increments should I see and can say “ok she’s going up- it’s not just - that number would have come up if it was subsequent to the lower scarier PMPS number”
Does this make sense?
 
Rosa, sorry I don’t have the mental capacity to answer your questions above right now (tired and overworked) but when was the 55? Can you stall for 20 mins and see where Mimi is?

And do you have plenty of strips, HC and time to test tonight?
 
Rosa, sorry I don’t have the mental capacity to answer your questions above right now (tired and overworked) but when was the 55? Can you stall for 20 mins and see where Mimi is?

And do you have plenty of strips, HC and time to test tonight?
Yes I do.
It’s ok. My brain is hurting too..I’ve just been looking at all of these SS from other members and I see people continuing to dose even when they’ve showed green for days and days. I’m like-
The first couple of days I see green consistently I’m thinking she’s heading towards bring OTJ!! I’m paranoid- I can’t have her be in ICU again- this is where my anxiety stems from
And I’m also a highly anxious person to begin with
 
Also, still no shot... times a tickin.. do I shoot? I just tested and she got 67... but what if I tested again and she got say “59” is she going down or was the 67 just a round about number. How quickly do they actually increase when it’s supposed to matter? (Well not “quickly” per say- more like what kind of increase is a notable one) What kind of increase increments should I see and can say “ok she’s going up- it’s not just - that number would have come up if it was subsequent to the lower scarier PMPS number”
Does this make sense?

Just for reference....I reread too

Some general rules when stalling (ECID):
  • 50s or higher – don’t feed. The number will bump up on its own soon due to the insulin wearing off.
  • 40s or lower – you have a couple of choices.
    • When 40s occur at the end of the cycle, it can be beneficial to withhold food and test in 15-20 minutes to determine if kitty is on the rise or hasn’t reached nadir yet.
    • If they are hanging in the 40s for a while, or if they are still dropping, it is ok to feed a tsp or two of LC and retest. This is very tricky. You want to avoid feeding too much while you’re waiting for them to go over 50, because you don’t want to artificially inflate the number with food.

You look okay- seeing how the lowest was (55) about 25 minutes ago...?
I know the insulin dose is different now but on 12/2 it looks like you shot greens - in the 90s- and the next test was in the blues +2 I think ( maybe +1).

How are you doing?
 
I was in the same crisis this very morning. I shot 1/2 dose to play it safe but could have shot the full dose. He is bouncing to the sky tonight. I don’t know if you should shoot or not because Mimi is even lower though, but I feel you.
 
I see people continuing to dose even when they’ve showed green for days and days.

The people you see doing that have lots of experience and data on their cats and understand how Lantus works.

If you're this worked up over it, I'd suggest giving a reduced dose to see what happens. Get a +1 and +2 in tonight …..it's all good data for the "next time" she gives you a green pre-shot.

It's best not to skip with a recent DKA in the picture....How do you feel about giving 1U? Do you have plenty of HC food if you need it? Plenty of test strips and the ability to test as long as necessary tonight?
 
I was in the same crisis this very morning. I shot 1/2 dose to play it safe but could have shot the full dose. He is bouncing to the sky tonight. I don’t know if you should shoot or not because Mimi is even lower though, but I feel you.
My fear without shooting is risking her being exposed to ketones because she was DKA before and almost died
 
My fear without shooting is risking her being exposed to ketones because she was DKA before and almost died

I think Chris suggested you shoot a reduced dose- closer to one you have given before -so you have more of an idea of what to expect....
How does that sound? If you are shooting late , doing that can sometimes act like a reduction also so
 
I think Chris suggested you shoot a reduced dose- closer to one you have given before -so you have more of an idea of what to expect....
How does that sound? If you are shooting late , doing that can sometimes count as a reduction also so
Dannnnnggggit. I shot her usual dose. Shttttt... did I mess her up?
 
The people you see doing that have lots of experience and data on their cats and understand how Lantus works.

If you're this worked up over it, I'd suggest giving a reduced dose to see what happens. Get a +1 and +2 in tonight …..it's all good data for the "next time" she gives you a green pre-shot.

It's best not to skip with a recent DKA in the picture....How do you feel about giving 1U? Do you have plenty of HC food if you need it? Plenty of test strips and the ability to test as long as necessary tonight?
I’m not really worked up-
I kind of think her number was low because she was hungry.. I’ll be neurotically testing her after this.. I think my girl will give me good signs. Also the free style machine always reads lower than other machines...
 
Did you feed her meanwhile? :p
She always has such a good appetite (a little too good at times which is why I think she was a little chubster for some years. (I also wasn’t aware that my seemingly good food which was no byproduct and “grain free”, came up with 30% carbs on Dr Lisa’s chart!!!! It was drenched in broth. Soulistic was the name
 
I also wasn’t aware that my seemingly good food which was no byproduct and “grain free”, came up with 30% carbs on Dr Lisa’s chart!!!! It was drenched in broth. Soulistic was the name

"Grain Free" doesn't mean "low carb"....the manufacturers just took out the grains and added potato, sweet potato, peas and chickpeas.

Soulistic has quite a few canned foods that are low carb. There are a couple that are 20-24% but there are lots of choices that are fine for diabetics. Where are you seeing 30%?
 
"Grain Free" doesn't mean "low carb"....the manufacturers just took out the grains and added potato, sweet potato, peas and chickpeas.

Soulistic has quite a few canned foods that are low carb. There are a couple that are 20-24% but there are lots of choices that are fine for diabetics. Where are you seeing 30%?
It was some chicken one. I haven’t fed them that in years. At least 5. I did see some weren’t super high but at the time I only knew “byproducts bad. Grain free good”. Which is still true but not the whole picture. I always thought her weight gain was just her breed because I didn’t feed them garbage. Now they’re on raw and their coats are beautiful- their teeth look great and their poop is consistently the same- It doesn’t smell and it looks almost like a peanut (the shell)haha
 
Isn't it amazing?? I didn't used to believe all the claims I heard from people who fed raw until I tried it myself!!
I first tried them on it when they were 3 and 2 years old (Mimi is 10, Batman 9) after staying up half the night reading catinfo.org. So I’ve known about Dr Pierson for years!! Then when we lived in NYC it was too difficult to keep the raw cold with train rides, etc. so I switched to their canned... (oh it was natures variety)
Now I’m on Vital Essentials and it’s incredible! Also really great company- their customer service is amazing- I called with a question and got a good 20 minute conversation! Personal and caring.
 
Looks like a nice blue night.

When your question has been answered and you have decided what to do, could you change the subject line and remove the “?” prefix. That way we know by a glance at the board that you have been helped.
 
Back
Top