? Mimi 11/22 AMPS 262 +6 60 +9 53 Question

Mimi +9 is 53
Should I feed her something again? She’s making tiny hunger/confused meows

Is she hungry or does she just need a little sugar of some kind to bring her up?
 
Sorry no one got back to you. I save syrup/sugar for below 50 and when MC/HC isn't doing the trick. It wears off faster than food so you need to test more often to make sure kitty stays up when using it
.

It is a tricky time of the cycle to deal with a drop. +9 is toward the end of the cycle, so you hopefully have the benefit of the insulin wearing off a little. But you need to know thy cat. Some cats, mine included, will often dip lower right at the end of a cycle.

If my cat pulled a 53 at +9, I'd have given her a tsp of LC and checked her BG again in 20 minutes. If there was no change or she went lower, then I'd give a tsp of MC. If she went up, I'd withhold food, check again at +10 and possibly feed her another tsp of LC or MC depending on her BG number. I'd be thinking about keeping the cat at or above 50 for preshot time so I don't have to skip the shot. You can technically feed up to +10 without worrying about the "withhold food two hours prior to insulin" guideline.

On your spreadsheet it shows 53 @+7, and the +9 cell is blank. So I'm not totally sure what happened. I hope Mimi surfed safely yesterday and overnight. :)
 
Last edited:
Sh
Sorry no one got back to you. I save syrup/sugar for below 50 and when MC/HC isn't doing the trick. It wears off faster than food so you need to test more often to make sure kitty stays up when using it
.

It is a tricky time of the cycle to deal with a drop. +9 is toward the end of the cycle, so you hopefully have the benefit of the insulin wearing off a little. But you need to know thy cat. Some cats, mine included, will often dip lower right at the end of a cycle.

If my cat pulled a 53 at +9, I'd have given her a tsp of LC and checked her BG again in 20 minutes. If there was no change or she went lower, then I'd give a tsp of MC. If she went up, I'd withhold food, check again at +10 and possibly feed her another tsp of LC or MC depending on her BG number. I'd be thinking about keeping the cat at or above 50 for preshot time so I don't have to skip the shot. You can technically feed up to +10 without worrying about the "withhold food two hours prior to insulin" guideline.

On your spreadsheet it shows 53 @+7, and the +9 cell is blank. So I'm not totally sure what happened. I hope Mimi surfed safely yesterday and overnight. :)
She did- thank you!!! Sorry for the late response.
I’ve been lazy posting on here. I’m just starting to believe she’s a forever sugar kitty so while I do keep up on everything I’ve been unmotivated posting about it because it’s been the same.
 
Back
Top