I tested it at +8.25 (I need that sheet again listing the correct way to list the times)@Mimis mom
Rosa have you tested the BG again?
Rosa, Would you mind also putting the BG in the thread here and in the SS, ThanksI tested it at +8.25 (I need that sheet again listing the correct way to list the times)
She just ate again (the auto feeder went off in the bedroom- I fed her earlier when she was low) so she just ate again LC. Should I still test again?@Mimis mom
Rosa have you tested the BG again?
Yes she just ate her regular LC. Was that ok to do- give her a tsp of HC to her LC- or should it have just been HC.. also, HC with LC- can make MC right?Rosa, Would you mind also putting the BG in the thread here and in the SS, Thanks
I see it was 63.
Did you give Mimi a bit more to eat?
She just ate again (the auto feeder went off in the bedroom- I fed her earlier when she was low) so she just ate again LC. Should I still test again?
Since I don’t test in the night close to the nadir do you think she’s been hitting low numbers at night for a while and that’s maybe why she’s been bouncing a lot the last several days? Does hanging around in low numbers cause internal damage for the time you’re in those numbers? Like effects you would see with hypo. Wondering how long she’s been hitting low at night.. could just be recent?
Yes she just ate her regular LC. Was that ok to do- give her a tsp of HC to her LC- or should it have just been HC.. also, HC with LC- can make MC right?
Yes I did see that - I “liked” itRosa, it is always a good idea to test around the nadir if you can.
If you can't test, and you think she is dropping low, leave some food out for her around the nadir, which has some carbs in it....around 8 or 10% carbs....you may need to buy some cans.
If Mimi is in low green numbers which are safe green numbers (above 50) she should be fine. But is it always best to test and find out where she is.
Yes you should test again in 1 hour to see that Mimi is not dropping again .
Did you see that I said Mimi had earned a reduction in dose down to 1.25 units?
Yes I did see that - I “liked” it
“If I think she’s dropping low”. How would I know if she was if I didn’t test her?
How can I make my raw higher carb without adding canned cooked food
Yes I did see that - I “liked” it
“If I think she’s dropping low”. How would I know if she was if I didn’t test her?
How can I make my raw higher carb without adding canned..
Thank you!!! She’s resting in my arms right now.If Mimi was 63, it is fine to give her some Low Carb food. You just need to test again to see she is not dropping again.
If the BG drops under 50 you would give some HC food if it was around the nadir time to bring it up higher over 50 and you would retest again in 30 mins.
If you mix HC with LC I would imagine you would get MC, depending on the carb content of the HC and the LC.
But you are better off just getting some HC cans and some MC cans and having them for when you need them.
You are doing a really good job looking after your girl and I can see you have learned a lot.
I actually didn’t suspect it was dropping that low because her numbers have been mostly blue and yellow. Do you suspect she’s been dropping for a while or can it just happen overnight (literally) like this? Do you think that’s why she’s been bouncing because her numbers at night have been too low? ( I think I just asked that but I can’t remember if it was answered)
Mimi right now
The only way you can know she is dropping low is to test her.
The only other way is if she is very low and starts showing signs of a hypo such as extreme hunger, shivering, weak and lethargic, unsteady...these are the early signs only and you certainly would not want that.
I used to feed Sheba a home made diet. But I always had some MCand HC food and honey incase I needed it.
I agree that a raw diet is the best for a cat, especially a diabetic cat, but you do need to have some of the HC and MC food available unless there is a good reason why she can't eat it.
Ok thank you for all of your help! I forget the time differences in Australia!Rosa, it is possible she could have dropped lower in couple of the cycles, but without testing, I can only guess.
You are testing a reasonable amount at night, so don't be hard on yourself.
Mimi has possibly just had enough of this dose and wants a reduction.
That is a beautiful photo!
I'm heading to bed now so I'll see you tomorrow
You can answer this tomorrowWhat was your homemade diet?
Also, should I be proactive and leave a little carb mixed in with her regular at her nadirs?